wazua Mon, Jun 29, 2026

Diabetes and pressure is more than HIV and TB
lietmach
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:35:11 PM

I am privy to current research showing that one in every 6 Kenyans above 35 yrs living in urban slums (eg Korogocho) has diabetes or hypertension as compared to one for every 13 with HIV/TB. And that's just the slums. When was the last time YOU were 'measured'? Ama unangoja stroke na heart attack Shame on you - considering that most of us are becoming economically affluent with the high sugar/fat nutrition, sedentary lifestyle and higher stress?
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:43:55 PM

Link??
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:45:43 PM

lietmach wrote:
I am privy to current research showing that one in every 6 Kenyans above 35 yrs living in urban slums (eg Korogocho) has diabetes or hypertension as compared to one for every 13 with HIV/TB. And that's just the slums. When was the last time YOU were 'measured'? Ama unangoja stroke na heart attack Shame on you - considering that most of us are becoming economically affluent with the high sugar/fat nutrition, sedentary lifestyle and higher stress?

crazy...btw HIV/AIDs has taken a back seat this dayz...mi hukula managu na kunde fresh sana sana i believe niko poa
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:53:37 PM

lietmach wrote:

Litmus please put a link.

#5 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:09:01 PM

lietmach wrote:

Times have changed. Diabetes/Hypertension are no longer diseases of the rich anymore. The poorer a society the higher the risk of disease.
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:30:23 PM

jguru wrote:
lietmach wrote:

Times have changed. Diabetes/Hypertension are no longer diseases of the rich anymore. The poorer a society the higher the risk of disease.

Actually if you saw the news clip of the lady who has been petitioning doctors about her young husbands "mysterious death at the hand of doctors", that seemed like a case of what is known as hypertensive emergency, some erstwhile "healthy young plumpish" fellow takes himself to hospital with BP out of control, then he dies, pima BP then start taking the right measures, like basking in the sun, exercise, sleeping enough, eating right and drinking hibiscus tea if you want, WHO says its like 50% of Kenyan adults( had posted on the same earlier), it must be worse in Nairobi than ocha, i guess over 30years in Nairobi is like 60%, greasy chicken, Nyama Choma na chips
matata
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:18:07 PM

I think the world is coming to an end. Frm HIV to Cancer, Diabetes and HBP Sad
God pliz heal ur people.
BGL
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:00:59 PM

This issue of High Blood Pressure has to be taken seriously.
Most sudden death are caused by it and for this reason i have ordered for a Blood Pressure Monitor for home use.... for about 5k shipping included.

History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:07:44 PM

Just curious...how is this political? I opened wondering what political message would be hidden in there. You know with Wazuans u can expect anything? Eg Impunity ignored a certain thread all through because it was headline "Head-on collision" kumbe ndani ilikuwa ni maneno muoto muoto!
Prime
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 6:09:29 PM

lietmach wrote:

crazy...btw HIV/AIDs has taken a back seat this dayz...mi hukula managu na kunde fresh sana sana i believe niko poa

@Maka...
Thats not the situation on the ground. unfortunately that is now the perception created and guys actually tend to take more risks based on that simple assumption. Let me explain why. HIV is still there. very much so. Only that guys take better care of themselves and are serious on medication. During the earlier days HIV when combined with TB used to kill guys fast. Now that there is free medication and better management, guys tend to look much healthier but they still have the virus. I remember when i started working in a lab some years ago, seeing a gonnorrhea case was so rare. So rare that we would go months without seeing another case. It was the fear of the "slimmers disease" that instilled some fear in guys. However, nowadays it is the norm. 2 days cannot pass before we treat gonnorrhea. This should tell you something. Guys are using less and less protection and no longer fear HIV. Guys out there are seriously skin diving. The younger generation is soo carefree. Guys ask so openly and girls give kama loans za equity. Nowadays guys die of complications from the AIDS and most dont waste as it was before. Either Cancers resulting from lowered immunity, Kidney failure, Liver failure, meningitis etc. Laini jua tu. Iko and it is worse than it was before.