wazua Tue, Jun 30, 2026

25 Pages«<1011121314>»
Governor Machakos County
kiriita
#111 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 12:03:16 PM

The F1 thing is a stretch IMO. The price of the cheapest F1 race day only ticket in 2012 was the equivalent of circa KES 1,650.00 at the Malaysian GP. And that's the cheapest - meaning for stands with the least desirable views. Would it pull in the required crowd numbers in Kenya? Case in point, there's no Turkish GP this year and it's future is in doubt - on account of dismal attendance.

Having said that, am impressed by Alfie's blitz start and if he can deliver on most of the rest, MKS will do veeery well.
#112 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 12:49:35 PM

mkeiyd wrote:

@masukuma,,,,, What you are saying is, F1 is waste, Moto Gp another waste, hell building stadia is a waste too. Instead of having Kasarani, a residential complex would be serving us better. Nairobi national park is not needed either and the habitat in Malili is the same as Nairobi's.

I'm just hoping your parents took you to a special school for gifted kids,you are a genius.

we are hard coded in a specific (mzungu) way that even contemplating doing things differently sends our systems in blue screen mode and disables the power button

@Nakujua, Of what purpose is the Eiffel tower in Paris? Or the pyramids in Egypt?
Is money the only measure of worth or value?

tourism.... the Eiffel tower recieves about 6-7 million tourists per year! the pyramids attract 12 million tourists per year! the least of which is 2 times the targeted number of tourists Kenya wants to attract.
Listen - use numbers in everything.... NUMBERS DON'T LIE! there is a certain word called in kyuk called Mwegerekanio and the persons that engaged in it were said to have eaten the behinds of frogs...
CHART YOUR OWN PATH![/quote]

@masukuma, When the Eiffel tower was built,were there tourists going to Paris? How many?
When the pyramids were built, how many tourists were visiting Egypt? Use NUMBERS as you say.

All i know, as a people we ought to start "seeing" far and not just the immediate 10 years or so. Nktest!
[/quote]
kuna ugali ya leo na ugali ya kesho... the problem is that you need to kula ugali ya leo before u kula for tomorrow. look at the opportunity cost
#113 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 1:15:45 PM

@mkeiyd, tell us where F1 makes money and give the figures.....more than 50% are on losses but keep doing it just for pride.....hata tukiangalia the next 50 yrs, hiyo nayo ni stretch!!!!!
#114 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 1:40:05 PM

kiriita wrote:
The F1 thing is a stretch IMO. The price of the cheapest F1 race day only ticket in 2012 was the equivalent of circa KES 1,650.00 at the Malaysian GP. And that's the cheapest - meaning for stands with the least desirable views. Would it pull in the required crowd numbers in Kenya? Case in point, there's no Turkish GP this year and it's future is in doubt - on account of dismal attendance.

Having said that, am impressed by Alfie's blitz start and if he can deliver on most of the rest, MKS will do veeery well.

maybe the governor is not thinking of an f1 track for f1 races in kenya (there is a lot of money and politics involved to even be considered as a potential circuit such that there is next to no hope of kenya getting any f1 races) but one for use by any of the various teams for practice and testing. built a good one. market it well and get one of the teams to be doing their off season practice and testing here and that's where you would not only make just about enough to sustain the race track but get invaluable brand exposure for your county. given the proximity of machakos to jkia and the kenyan wildlife he might be on to something.
#115 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 2:22:23 PM

I think Mutua should just forget about mambo ya F1, apart from building your own circuit you also have to come up with a hosting fee payable to Bernie Ecclestone and Co. which in 2011 was about sh. 2b each year. Perhaps he should think of state of the art sports facility in Machakos to host events such us Soccer, Swimming, athletics, Rugby (sevens series) etc
#116 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 2:51:32 PM

sometimes we are blown away by fancy things that others do - thinking those things are the source of their wealth. kumbe ni hobbies za ma-big boys.
mkeiyd
#117 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 3:39:43 PM

@mkeiyd, tell us where F1 makes money and give the figures.....more than 50% are on losses but keep doing it just for pride.....hata tukiangalia the next 50 yrs, hiyo nayo ni stretch!!!!!

@Jahman, Without fooling anyone, the F1 thing in Machax ain't gonna fly. But Alfie being a PR guy,he wants that hype and with that he'll sell Machax easily and faster. Everybody loves hype.
Why do you think countries go through the agony of hosting Olympics or World cup when those two only consume from public coffers? It's all for image, reputation, branding.

F1 doesn't make money for the host countries, it won't be different in Machax, but let Alfie use that to pull other investors.

The thing with @masukuma is, he's looking at everything on the basis of the monetary returns.
What is the worth of a smile in monetary terms? If we can't put monetary value on a smile does that make smiles a waste?
We need Nairobi National park, we need Uhuru Park, Arboretum etc. We don't need F1 in Machax or in Kenya now. But who knows in 50 years?
If Alfie aims for F1, then gets us a racing track for guys to test their driving prowess,that won't be so bad.
I myself would want to get on that track against SOME Subaru drivers for they do annoy.

All in all,acheni Alfie aote,it all starts with dreaming.
streetwise
#118 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 4:10:16 PM

Reminds me of star wars..and Reagan.
wanyee
#119 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 4:49:25 PM

my 2 dururus here. yes F1 has benefits in terms of R&D ..these tracks come in handy in research and development for automotive & related spheres>> lubricants/oils/ advanced mechanic / aerodynamics ..engines ..most of the engines/motor related prototypes are derived from these forms tested in these races ..TRD ( toyota racing & dev ) comes into mind..beyond the hype yes there is an underlying reason ..in termssmile of R&D..
Rink http://en.wikipedia.org/...yota_Racing_Development smile
story teller
#120 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:07:17 AM

1.8 million people visited Nairobi in 2012. Those generated roughly $1.5 billion into Nairobi’s economy. Masukuma, just incase you dont know, those who come in Nai for 1 day or 2 day conferences opt to visit the NNP because they have no time to go to Msa or the mara. If you have traveled and seen the concrete jungle that some western cities have developed then you'd appreciate the presence of NNP and Karura in the city. Its not just about money.

Let me add to this..you really don't know what you have until you've been out there..did you know that Nairobi is the only city in the world with a national park?
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
25 Pages«<1011121314>»