Governor Machakos County
Nabwire wrote:Masukuma you may want to look at your argument from preserving the ecosystem point of view. Central Park in New York is huge and on very prime land, but its not being taken down coz it provides aesthetic as well as a sanctuary from the concrete jungle. Ask the residents of Hong Kong the importance of having some greenery and fresh air, let the park stay. for who and what when human beings are crammed in slums? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Nabwire wrote:Masukuma you may want to look at your argument from preserving the ecosystem point of view. Central Park in New York is huge and on very prime land, but its not being taken down coz it provides aesthetic as well as a sanctuary from the concrete jungle. Ask the residents of Hong Kong the importance of having some greenery and fresh air, let the park stay. for who and what when human beings are crammed in slums? They are not crammed in slums because we have the NNP its because there is no will power to get them out of that situation and provide better housing... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Nabwire wrote:Masukuma you may want to look at your argument from preserving the ecosystem point of view. Central Park in New York is huge and on very prime land, but its not being taken down coz it provides aesthetic as well as a sanctuary from the concrete jungle. Ask the residents of Hong Kong the importance of having some greenery and fresh air, let the park stay. tuko na uhuru park
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
lets face it, we need radical moves to move from where we are to where we want to be! everyone is complaining price of land in nairobi is high yet we have 28k acres lying idle for some random 100k people to come and feast their eyes on the fauna. if we do it the way the west did it we may just get where they are now in 100 years WE NEED OUT OF THE BOX THINKING. Answer the following questions 1. what is more important, the environment or development? 2. what is more important, political freedom or development? look up the 3 gorges dam and see how many people were displaced for the good of the many - wanyama ni nini? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:mkeiyd wrote:
@masukuma,,,,, What you are saying is, F1 is waste, Moto Gp another waste, hell building stadia is a waste too. Instead of having Kasarani, a residential complex would be serving us better. Nairobi national park is not needed either and the habitat in Malili is the same as Nairobi's.
I'm just hoping your parents took you to a special school for gifted kids,you are a genius.
we are hard coded in a specific (mzungu) way that even contemplating doing things differently sends our systems in blue screen mode and disables the power button @Nakujua, Of what purpose is the Eiffel tower in Paris? Or the pyramids in Egypt? Is money the only measure of worth or value? [/quote] tourism.... the Eiffel tower recieves about 6-7 million tourists per year! the pyramids attract 12 million tourists per year! the least of which is 2 times the targeted number of tourists Kenya wants to attract. Listen - use numbers in everything.... NUMBERS DON'T LIE! there is a certain word called in kyuk called Mwegerekanio and the persons that engaged in it were said to have eaten the behinds of frogs... CHART YOUR OWN PATH![/quote] @masukuma, When the Eiffel tower was built,were there tourists going to Paris? How many? When the pyramids were built, how many tourists were visiting Egypt? Use NUMBERS as you say. All i know, as a people we ought to start "seeing" far and not just the immediate 10 years or so. Nktest!
Bigchick wrote:Kwanini akina dada hatuchangii huu mjadala? Ama we dont know about F1, investments and international issues? Let me display ignorance:----kama tulishindwa na International Malboro Safari Rally as a country, you want to tell me that dry , rocky county of Machakos itaweza mambo ya F1? I think its a good dream but it may remain just that, a good dream. Woi na msinitukane kama nimesema upuzi. F1 ain't kayaking, being dry doesn't stop any team from competing in Bahrain.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/17/2011 Posts: 627 Location: Mbui-Nzau, Kikumbulyu
and i thought Kalembe Ndile was alone, questioning house corridors...
mkeiyd wrote:masukuma wrote:mkeiyd wrote:
@masukuma,,,,, What you are saying is, F1 is waste, Moto Gp another waste, hell building stadia is a waste too. Instead of having Kasarani, a residential complex would be serving us better. Nairobi national park is not needed either and the habitat in Malili is the same as Nairobi's.
I'm just hoping your parents took you to a special school for gifted kids,you are a genius.
we are hard coded in a specific (mzungu) way that even contemplating doing things differently sends our systems in blue screen mode and disables the power button @Nakujua, Of what purpose is the Eiffel tower in Paris? Or the pyramids in Egypt? Is money the only measure of worth or value? tourism.... the Eiffel tower recieves about 6-7 million tourists per year! the pyramids attract 12 million tourists per year! the least of which is 2 times the targeted number of tourists Kenya wants to attract. Listen - use numbers in everything.... NUMBERS DON'T LIE! there is a certain word called in kyuk called Mwegerekanio and the persons that engaged in it were said to have eaten the behinds of frogs... CHART YOUR OWN PATH![/quote] @masukuma, When the Eiffel tower was built,were there tourists going to Paris? How many? When the pyramids were built, how many tourists were visiting Egypt? Use NUMBERS as you say. All i know, as a people we ought to start "seeing" far and not just the immediate 10 years or so. Nktest! [/quote] kuna ugali ya leo na ugali ya kesho... the problem is that you need to kula ugali ya leo before u kula for tomorrow. look at the opportunity cost All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
mkeiyd wrote:masukuma wrote:mkeiyd wrote:
we are hard coded in a specific (mzungu) way that even contemplating doing things differently sends our systems in blue screen mode and disables the power button @Nakujua, Of what purpose is the Eiffel tower in Paris? Or the pyramids in Egypt? Is money the only measure of worth or value? tourism.... the Eiffel tower recieves about 6-7 million tourists per year! the pyramids attract 12 million tourists per year! the least of which is 2 times the targeted number of tourists Kenya wants to attract. Listen - use numbers in everything.... NUMBERS DON'T LIE! there is a certain word called in kyuk called Mwegerekanio and the persons that engaged in it were said to have eaten the behinds of frogs... CHART YOUR OWN PATH![/quote] @masukuma, When the Eiffel tower was built,were there tourists going to Paris? How many? When the pyramids were built, how many tourists were visiting Egypt? Use NUMBERS as you say. All i know, as a people we ought to start "seeing" far and not just the immediate 10 years or so. Nktest! [/quote] kuna ugali ya leo na ugali ya kesho... the problem is that you need to kula ugali ya leo before u kula for tomorrow. look at the opportunity cost All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote: kuna ugali ya leo na ugali ya kesho... the problem is that you need to kula ugali ya leo before u kula for tomorrow. look at the opportunity cost
@masukuma, The numbers you bandied here about millions visiting Eiffel tower,were there no other priorities when it was built? Was it not better to subsidize the price of bread rather than risk a revolt? The reason why we have poor plans is because of thinking of today's ugali only. No long term city planning/development, grabbing of utility land,narrow roads,small drainage systems,tiny airports,encroaching on our forests and water towers is all brought about by thinking of today's ugali ONLY. If you choose to live for today, who will live tomorrow? I would really like to see where and how you live.
Governor Machakos County