wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Surely NIC
seppuku
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 6:08:49 PM

You mean I can't link your debit card to Paypal? I am disappointed!
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
mv_ufanisi
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 8:18:48 PM

Yeah NIC - this is annoying.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 8:22:53 PM

Its all Kenyan cards, there's a thread on that here look for it
seppuku
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 10:31:38 PM

Hapana bana. I hooked up my NBK debit card last year and never had trouble with it.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Apple Bees
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 1:16:31 AM

seems those in real online businesses need to get the NBK Csrd?
mzeiya411
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 8:21:06 AM

No the I&M Mpesa card can be linked to paypal.
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 8:28:16 AM

What about the Nation Hela card?
seppuku
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 10:13:19 AM

Apple Bees wrote:
seems those in real online businesses need to get the NBK Csrd?

Trouble is that in my experience, NBK is a very inefficient bank. I have literally abandoned my account with them. One day my debit card simply stopped working - and it wasn't because it was expired. Nobody could explain to me why, and they said it would take 2 weeks to have it replaced. Off I ran to NIC... and now this!
seppuku
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 10:15:11 AM

Maybe it's about time I paid some attention to the M-Pesa and the Nation Hela cards. Let me see what I find...
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 10:38:15 AM

You might all want to have a look at the link herein under before you make any decisions.

The comments and replies part is especially helpful for the neophytes in the pay pal world.

http://freelancerkenya.c...ey-from-paypal-in-kenya/
seppuku
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 11:52:32 AM

aemathenge wrote:
You might all want to have a look at the link herein under before you make any decisions.

The comments and replies part is especially helpful for the neophytes in the pay pal world.

link

Good article for anybody looking to withdraw their cash after being paid via Paypal. I am more interested in the paying side of things myself.
seppuku
#12 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 5:31:38 PM

Now now now... RTGS.

I thought this thing is supposed to happen real time - in practice meaning within a couple of hours. Apparently not in NIC.

I had payment made to my account this afternoon and got confirmation from the paying bank. Knowing I need the money tomorrow and wanting to avoid surprises, I decided to call my bank to find out if they have any idea when I can expect the money in my account. Some customer care rep with a palpable sense of importance told me to expect the money any time tomorrow. I asked her if she would know approximately what time.

She replied, rather arrogantly, "Any time tomorrow, even in the evening."

I asked why an RTGS would take so long. She said because it was executed in the afternoon and she hasn't any way of knowing how much workload there's gonna be tomorrow morning. Seriously NIC? Mnaniangusha!
jerry
#13 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 9:48:43 PM

@seppuku. I hear you. RTGS is real tme and should take place seamlessly. EFT is slower or at pre-determined times but almost daily unless ofcourse during weekends. My 2 cents.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
chiaroscuro
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2013 4:03:39 PM

seppuku wrote:
Now now now... RTGS.

I thought this thing is supposed to happen real time - in practice meaning within a couple of hours. Apparently not in NIC.

I had payment made to my account this afternoon and got confirmation from the paying bank. Knowing I need the money tomorrow and wanting to avoid surprises, I decided to call my bank to find out if they have any idea when I can expect the money in my account. Some customer care rep with a palpable sense of importance told me to expect the money any time tomorrow. I asked her if she would know approximately what time.

I asked why an RTGS would take so long. She said because it was executed in the afternoon and she hasn't any way of knowing how much workload there's gonna be tomorrow morning. Seriously NIC? Mnaniangusha!

Kuja I&M; They know that "RT" in RTGS means Real Time.... and you will never get any of that arrogant, self-important ["I'm doing you a favour talking to you"] attitude.

If I&M keeps doing what it's doing for another decade, you can forget EQTY.... this will be by far the largest bank in Kenya...
seppuku
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2013 10:52:17 PM

@chiaroscuro, nilihamia huko kutoka NBK hoping for better services lakini while I am impressed with some elements, kwa njia zingine wananiangusha sana. And their customer care head needs to fix that Victoria woman. ATT kibao! Anyways, they(she) still have one last chance to really piss me off and I might just look where you're saying...
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 9:50:26 AM

seppuku wrote:
Now now now... RTGS.

By the way RTGS is not real time in a couple of banks...not NIC alone surely what standards do this banks adhere to?
#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 10:29:03 AM

seppuku wrote:
Now now now... RTGS.

If you think Thinking Big is bad, try "We are you".... I gave Standing Order instructions in March and upto now, it has never been effected. when i asked the customer care, they told me to fill in a form, lets just say, they must be using my forms for ungodly purposes because they've never seen the light of the day. Now, On sato, i went back to the same bank, the customer care lady, dismissively told me how busy they get and that the documents may have been lost.... and they had a problem with their systems... so i asked why no one told me that the request had not been effected yet I'd left my number on those forms.... she said i can fill in another form... well, lets just say, i am looking for a customer care in Thinking Big.... They better not angusha you on this one because i dont know where else to run. Am done with this "We are ..... someone else" crap!

RTGS should take just a few hours. if you did it past I think 4pm, then it should go through by the following day morning - may be by 10-ish. Well, that's the experience i've had with Lion.
seppuku
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 10:54:35 AM

@Wendz, sorry for your tribulations. Back in the day when I used NBK, I once issued standing order instructions that were simply never effected. I never followed up though. I had enough bad experience with their customer care staff to know if I asked this time I would end up in Kodiaga for assault. I was living in KSM at the time. Recently I opened another account in NIC. After I thought all was set and even started using the account, they called me to tell me that I should go back to fill the application form afresh. The first one had been lost. I indulged them bila fuss. Then all this. Anyway, my RTGS money ended up in my account at 3:08pm the next day, yesterday, as it were. Hi watu namna gani?
chiaroscuro
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2013 1:58:37 PM

A few years ago I had an account at NIC. One day I issued EFT instructions for a large amount (about 90% of the balance). It was effected immediately. Then some days later, I went to make a small withdrawal over the counter.

I was informed that the account was in OD. I asked how come and was referred to some attitude laden lady (A-L-L). She checked the record and asked rather rudely why I have been operating the account in OD all this time without authority!

I told her her that the account has NEVER been in OD. She retorted: "this account has never had money ever since you opened it! In fact your opening balance was an OD"

I tried to explain that that's an impossibility - accounts ALWAYS open with a positive balance - but she would not listen. Her response was "This computer never get's things wrong"!!! "huyu ni msema kweli"

Long-story-short: it turned out that my EFT had been recorded twice. Once with the correct date and a second time with a wrong date that was earlier than the day I opened the account!

Now that was a serious bug in their computer programme but nethier the manager nor the A-L-L could understand it. I am surprised that the bank still has customers!
seppuku
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:02:28 PM

Deposited cheque last week. They credited my account. Then yesterday they reversed the transaction. I called. They said the cheque had a problem with the way it was crossed. I should get in touch with the issuer. This morning they change their mind again and put the money back in. Trouble is, it is not accessible. Guess I have to wait another 3 days. I call to find out what the flip flopping is about. Fellow says he'll consult and get back. It's been 5hrs now. It doesn't get any cooler than that now, does it NIC?