3 Pages<123
Who are the Mindo crass in Kenya?
matata
#41 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 2:34:15 PM

Prime wrote:
matata wrote:
Jamaneni...na wale wana spend 200 for 2days meal wako class gani? that is what I spend

Just curious. Is this situation the inspiration to adopting your user name? Uko Nairobi, unajog 10 km daily and live on 200 with a family? Share the secret

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly That username says it all. Hii ya matata basi ni class yenye bado haijakuwa invented. At this point we can simply conclude: Matata is classless!(We r assuming he/she lives in Nairobi)

Maka said mine is healthy class.
#42 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 3:51:48 PM

theman192000 wrote:
Middle class and middle income are erroneously used interchangeably.

A lot of middle income (nouveau riche) lack class and exhibit antisocial behavior e.g. keeping a pig in a high-rise apartment block. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

You can't buy class, you are inculcated into it over a period of time.

My neighbor drives a VX but keeps a handfull of kienyeji-freerange chicken in his backyard, he own a kasmall massionette.

That neighbor must be you and the VX must be for the cousin you were saying was staying with you and wants a prado or Pajero.. Kumbe he was convinced to acquire mawinders Paperless VX....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
thuks
#43 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 3:54:23 PM

People who are about to make it but do not know how yet...
I care!
#44 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 4:02:23 PM

Shak wrote:
I would think that the approach to gauge what class you belong to is your net worth. Your lifestyle is a factor of so many things. It's not a good gauge

like your organisation giving you nice lunches and 4 o'cklock tea..Occasional/monthly retreats to team build in exotic places in the Rift valley.. will we factor that in?
ama the spending has to be from net salary?
#45 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 4:58:53 PM

What about a maasai herdsman with 100 head of cattle worth millions? He is surely upper middle.
jaykay
#46 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 5:47:38 PM

Mindo crass are those who believe xtrails and Subarus can do the quattro charge.The more expensive anything is the better the quality.Think junction is a high end mall.
#47 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 5:24:59 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
Class definitions using Time Horizon Theory:

- if your financial planning is mostly on a day-to-day basis, you are lower class
- if your financial planning is mostly on a month-to-month basis, you are middle class.
- if your financial planning is mostly on a year-to-year basis, you are upper middle class.
- if your financial planning is mostly on a generation-to-generation basis, you are upper class

I think this sums it all. we need to differentiate income and lifestyle.
Ric dees
#48 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 7:55:52 PM

Divergent views on what really is the middle class or (mindo crass) however one cannot judge this by wealth alone, other factors have to come into play that mirror society as it is today.

My take on the various social classes that exist.

Elite - Guess we all know who this, they score highest on all 3 capitals.
Established middle class - second wealthiest, scoring highly on all 3 capitals, they are the most gregarious and score second highest on cultural capital.
Technical middle class - A small distinctive new group that score low on social and cultural capital.
New affluent workers - A young class group which is socially and culturally active with middle levels of economic capital.
Traditional working class - Scores low on all forms of capital but not completely deprived.Its members are reasonable aged.
Emergence service workers - A new young and urbane group which is relatively poor but has a high social and cultural capital.
Precariat - Most deprived class scoring low on all forms of capital.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.