wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Migingo Drama
Mr.Tea
#1 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 6:03:00 AM

When is the circus leaving town? Who is fooling who in this drama series...... Is this another theatre of the absurd?

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#2 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 6:52:00 AM

@Mr.,

I couldn't place this island and for sometimes i have been thinking it is somewhere off the shores of Port Victoria.....Jeez.Kumbe this thing is in South Nyanza.From Busia through Kisumu to Muhuru bay is a 6 hour journey.Simply said,Tanzania border is a stone throw from Migingo and the nearest Ugandan shore would be Bugiri.Roughly a 2 hour drive from Busia border.Thus,by road,it would take you 9 to 10 hours from Muhuru bay to Bugiri and yet by boat,Migingo is 15 minutes away from Muhuru bay.It would have been more logical for the Uganda government to claim Kisumu city including the entire region North and North West of Kisumu,as their territory,rather than claim Migingo..........If it were Tanzanians claiming Migingo,pray God they would have had a case.But Uganda?.No way..!...How low as a country can we go?....Are we not sovereign?....Are we not entitled to defend what is rightly and obviously ours....??..Is it not demeaning that our ministers could visit the island and worship the Ugandan flag...??...To President Kibaki,Prime minister RAO and the entire cabinet.This is totally unacceptable......Let the war begin...!!

Guka wa bijuti...
B.Timer
#3 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 6:59:00 AM

Isn't it interesting that the Ugandans now are turning around and pointing fingers at us on account of inciting the local population.
Well,if it happened it is regretable,but that shouldnt distract us from the core business of determining whose land it is.
The Ugandans have a duty to adhere to the terms agreed upon by both sides a fortnight or so ago.
In the mean time,it's hats off for Wetangula for remaining true to the diplomatic etiquete in the face of juvinile approach exihibited by the Ugandans.
Orengo,may need to suppress 'his Kenya - politics -activist's tendencies'

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
rupshi
#4 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:02:00 AM

Nginyo in his column yesterday posed a rhetorical question,whether the island has been sold to the Libyans. Food for thought.
Mr.Tea
#5 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:04:00 AM

Did you witness the showdown on the weekend...wawawawa!!!! I think Ugandans have scant respect for us.All the while they kept talking us(our elected leaders) down. Sort of mta do attitude.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Kabugua
#6 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:19:00 AM

The Island is one of the new districts in Kenya!

kabugua
#7 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:29:00 AM

Most interesting is that the Uganda delegation had to travel by road for more than 8 hours through Kenyan territory to access 'their' island............This government is very long on idiots.

Guka wa bijuti...
#8 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:36:00 AM

Kwani how many Ugandans are on this Migingo? Si we just storm the place,throw them in the lake and wash our hands???? yawa... Who cant swim(except me) for 15 minutes from Mu.... bay to Migingo if more troops were required?? This is one issue Kenyans would have sorted without even involving the government.... just drown the damn ugandans and thats it... sorted..... (take it with a pinch of salt).

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
rupshi
#9 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:44:00 AM

We have to blame our gava. Long on rhetorics,but short on action.
myks
#10 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:58:00 AM

The ugandans have discovered that there is no government in kenya!!
Pple are looting and getting saved.

Gravity; Its not just the law,its reality.
Iganamagana
#11 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 8:13:00 AM

Myks,

I thought we have a 'collusion mis-government'. Anyway,we will reclaim the Island once we put a Government in place. For those thinking there is a Government in place,tell us us what it does.

IGANA.
Braza
#12 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 8:40:00 AM

We let them have it..................?

Then ....We just close our boders with them....KABISA..........No Rail,No roads,No pipeline,No air.

Well....atleast we have the 'ever training' [since 1964] Navy...they have fisheries dept.

Consistency requires you to be as ignorant today as you were a year ago.
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
#13 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 8:58:00 AM

The Kenya gava will not do anything as actions are being driven by corporate greed and interests.

Kenya companies do not want a spat with UG coz it will affect their markets and investments.

On the other hand,Museveni has no interest in Migingo,he wants to push off kenyans away from his country coz he now has 1billion barrells of oil. At the very least,he wants concessions that will give him a lot of say in East Africa.

If you think all this is about a little rock in the middle of Lake Victoria that gives 10 boatfulls of fish everyday,then think again. He wants NAIROBI and MOMBASA!!!!!.

That he gets to directly antagonise luo's is an added bonus coz his inability to reign in Kony' (who is acholi and basically luo) is driving him mad.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
Ngalaka
#14 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 9:00:00 AM

What if this Migingo rock belonged to Uganda.
Just a thought.
In fact looking at the EA map,Kenya was given crumbs while Tanzania and Uganda got choice cuts.
It is a possibility therefore that after all the hulabaloo,it actually belongs to Uganda. We need to prepare ourselves for such an eventuality.

While we wait,someone get the Ugandans to hold their horses,embrace the virtue of patience as they respect the position taken jointly.
Seemingly they are spoling for war,which is extremely ill advised.
Nobody,I mean nobody should be drumming for war,neither the Ugandans,nor ourselves.
The cost of was would be hundred times higher than what we would hope to reap from whatever resources there may be.
Well,soveignty is also about pride et al,but rational thinking is key in life.

I say no war over rocks and some fish which may end up swimming towards our shore anyway.

Things arent always the way they look like
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#15 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 9:13:00 AM

@Ngalaka,

uhh...!...You..!!.I wish you could assure Kenyan fishermen that the fish will soon be coming home...!!....We would let the Ugandans have those rocks...

@Obi,

Still pondering your points.......Very valid..!!

Guka wa bijuti...
#16 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 9:32:00 AM

And if you doubt that Museveni is on a power trip,then check todays East African.

Another 1,000 UG soldiers have been sent to Somalia. This was unnecessary as Al Shabab has managed to consolidate peace.

The play is simple,UG with its new found Oil wealth will soon be attracting large amounts of FDI's. Kenyan companies that are already on the ground e.g EABL,Equity,KCB should be poised to benefit from this,so frustrate them early on.

Our trump card used to be sale of Petrol and Transit via Mombasa,Petrol sale has been neutralized and Transit via Mombasa can now become a luxury coz taxes in UG will go down considerably as Petrodollars come in,so UG based companies will be able to transit via TZ and remain competitive.

Then there is peace in the Great lakes and S,Sudan. This are virgin markets that Kenyan companies can easily rule,but entry is through UG,so you can guess what that means. Museveni will own the key to this markets.

LETS PLAY.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#17 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 9:48:00 AM

Ngalaka.....you have put it too well....wish such sentiments would be expressed widely....as the dispute remains....

Ninajua Yote!
A New Kenya
Mandal Singh
#18 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 9:58:00 AM

@ Obi 1 Kanobi .

Allow me to inform You about Uganda's Oil - The quality of the Oil is not High end,but light crude oil or 'waxy' for that matter . For this quality of oil the best You can get out of it is parrafin or You top it up and get diesel .

It will take some time (mark my words) for the oil fields to be developed .This is because the Tullows and Heritage Oil Co's idea is not the same as the Uganda govt's idea which is domestic use .

Ask Yourself why the big boys': Shell,Chevron or even the Libyans have not run very fast to tap the new oil wealth that you have expressed .

On mIGINGO,Museveni is just being a bully but Uganda have more to lose than to gain if we close our borders leave alone the port. .Trust me.
#19 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 10:11:00 AM

@MS

I don't know about the quality of oil,all I know is that UG has 1 billion barrels and word is there should be more.

Kenyan companies have invested too much in UG,and they will lose big time should a spat take place.

The talk is of first commercial drilling taking place in 2011,thats not very far. Before the commercial drilling starts,the investment in infrastructure must be complete,meaning it has to be done this year and next year

Ngalaka
#20 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 10:55:00 AM

Without appearing to chest thump,or belitlle others,Kenya's GDP is only equivalent to that of TZ,UG,Rwanda and Burundi combined.
Hence Museveni needs to think again,if indeed his design is that of aspiring to play the regional diminant male on the basis of the economic war chest.

Things arent always the way they look like
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu