wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Kenya Inc
Mr.Tea
#1 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 5:32:00 AM

There is new reality show on K24 which seeks to amass support for Kenya's next CEO. It has 12 personalities drawn from Kenya's corporate fraternity. Caroline Mutoko,Martin Oduol,James Mwangi,John Githongo et al. The audience are to vote for their favorite as the contestants are eliminated on the basis of the number of votes recieved. It not clear though whether the last man/women standing will then be offered to Kenyans in the 2012 GE...But it does promise to be quite interesting though...

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#2 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 5:41:00 AM

@Mr.Chai,

K24 basically covers Nairobi and environs.such an 'election' would favour one region.What do idiots like me who are out here in Migingo 'elect'....??

Guka wa bijuti...
Mr.Tea
#3 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 6:04:00 AM

@ njunge,

Despite those limitations,isn't great that for a lot of people,the idea of an alternative leadership is beginning to make sense and hence the consideration. Many a folk are becoming sick and tired of the mediocre servings that we continue to partake on a daily in the name of governance. I'm simply lauding the effort.

#4 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 6:06:00 AM

I also believe this is a good effort,at least to gauge wat kenyans think about our technocrats. Mr. Chai,can yuou give the full list please!!!

We could have a vote of our own at SK!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
Mr.Tea
#5 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 6:17:00 AM

I forget the entire list but others are,Wangare Mathai(Nobel Laureate),Eunice Mbogo(Kenya Re),Nyambura Koigi(Post Bank),Adan Mohammed(Barclays Bank)

#6 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 6:20:00 AM

@Chai,

I get you point.

@Mcreggae,

i would consider that list narrow.let's say there are some dudes out here who deserve being in the list.How about Naikuni,Vimal Shah,Kidero,Mahinda....and...ummmmhhhh,maybe MJ.Is he a Kenyan anyway??.My vote would go with MLOO.

Guka wa bijuti...
Mr.Tea
#7 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 6:23:00 AM

BTW,Vimal Shah,Titus Naikuni also make the list...

#8 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 7:22:00 AM

Whatever criteria they used to enlist the like of Caroline Mutoko to the elitist 20 is something am yet to comprehend....I mean what has Mutoko achieved?Talking sex and dishing out sex makes one a CEO in this land called Kenya...! I wont even spend my free sms from YU and ZAIN lines to dignify this hopeless sense of mediocrity.

I wonder what part of brain some people use.

Sasha
#9 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 7:23:00 AM

I liked the idea when I saw it jana. But I'd have hoped they would bring these people to the show and let them tell us what they can do given the chance. I disagree when people say that someone who has run a company very well, it follows that they can run a country well!

The full list is: Mutoko (Marketing Director - Radio Africa), Oduor (MD - KCB), Leakey (former civil service head), Mwangi (CEO - Equity), Mohammed (CEO - BBK), Mbogo (MD - Kenya Re), Koigi (MD/CEO - Post Bank), Shah (CEO - Bidco), Naikuni (CEO - KQ), Maathai (Nobel Laureate), Githongo (Ethics guy), Kipng'etich (MD - KWS)!

I don't understand why Caroline Mutoko, Eunice Mbogo and Leakey are there! There are more worthy people! Shuali!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#10 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 7:32:00 AM

why is my name not in this list???? And pray,are these guys on this list even interested in the job??? Haaaaa,caroline mutoko is listed...cant be in the same list with her,i withdraw!!

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
#11 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 7:48:00 AM

And why is Jeff Koinange himself not listed if Mutoko can be there.....This K24 thing and Jeff will surely not see the light of the day; And remembr what happened to 'All Kenyan all the time' while at CNN with a woman close to be his grandma?Something is trully cooking between one Mutoko and 'the senior anchor'....Read my words.I hope there was a way I could vote to remove some dignified Kenyans from that list as soon as possible...I cant stand to see the likes of Naikuni,Adan and Kipngetich being juxtaposed to the greatest s*** of the 2nd millenium..!!!!

I wonder what part of brain some people use.

#12 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 7:55:00 AM

Why the hatred towards Caroline Mutoko,guys stop hating,somehow media had to be represnted in any case you can just vote her out!!! Did I here somebody say that she talks about sex all the time???...the last time I checked it was Maina Kageni not her.

She is the there not only as a media personality but as the Marketing director,Radio Africa!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
#13 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 8:18:00 AM

If people do not know,she is the one who initiated '24 hours for kenya' and mobilised thousands of tonnes for the hungry kenyans when our politicians were still fighting and planning on what to do with the hungry kenyans.....

she has been instrumental in fighting to have MPs pay taxes like any other kenyan

she has brought so many corrupt dealings in the limelight hence keeping us informed on what the politicians are doing with our money

the mismanagement of our taxes were first highlighted by media,her being among the first.

she may have many faults just like all of us (she is human anyway) but lets give credit where it is due.

@Impunity....

May be the more reason you should use the 50 Cents to vote for who you believe can make a good leader.... it might be the one voted needed to remove her if you hate her that much... ...

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Sasha
#14 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 8:37:00 AM

@Reggae & Wendz! I'm not hating on Mutoko. I actually find her quite level headed and progressive. But her inclusion in a 'top 12 list' begs the issue of what criteria was used! Jeff made it very clear that her inclusion there is because of her intiatives 'as a prominent media personality', not as a Marketing Director of Radio Africa. All the other guys are actually CEOs or their equivalents in their companies (except Leakey and Githongo)!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#15 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 8:50:00 AM

@Sasha

I agree with you on her inclusion to the TOP 20.... even if they pushed it to 50 eligible kenyans.. we have way too many great leaders that should have been in that list.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#16 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 8:51:00 AM

...and even if Caroline Mutoko talks about sex,which she doesn't do often these days,what's wrong with that? Isn't it also a marketing strategy for her radio station? If people dont like it,why is it that her breakfast show is among the top listened to in Kenya? Wacha wewe...
#17 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 9:03:00 AM

I would question the inclusion of the MD's of post Bank,Kenya-re and Richard Leakey before Caroline Mutoko.

The fact that she is already drawing alot of heat here justifies her inclusion.

How about Ngumi of CFC-Stanbic,Ayisi Makatiani and the Stanchart MD to replace the above 3 non starters.

And where is Paul Tergat,

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
mali ya nguvu
#18 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 9:10:00 AM

yeah....i would also vouch for Tergat!!!!wat a gentleman!

Ombea adui
Mr.Tea
#19 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 11:01:00 AM

The fact that a lot more people are thinking outside the box,is in itself a very welcome idea I suppose.Maybe we can create our own list in this forum(what happened to that progressive website) and propose it to some TV station...

#20 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2009 11:34:00 AM

On Carol Motoko,a colleage commented once (he is not kenyan) 'you will either hate her or like/love her but you can never ignore her' which i think is very true.....