wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Real Estate in Kenya
Mr.Tea
#1 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 7:52:00 AM

Methinks that there exists a bit of confusion in this sector. IMHO I think there is a huge gap of information that has not been filled over time a situation that has given rise to many viewpoints,misinformation,thuggery/fraud and generally the lack of harmony that exposes many potential consumers to great risk. A lack of an authority body that formulates policy which seeks to regulate,standardize and harmonize all the various aspects of this sector,is a major set back.
Well,what would be some of the solutions you'd offer to remedy this situation?

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Bashka
#2 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 8:11:00 AM

Is there any body under lands Ministry dealing with land regulation or even under the city council?
Mr.Tea
#3 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 9:25:00 AM

@Bashka,
None exists.Maybe one will be set up after the enactment of the Kenya National Land Policy which was adopted by the cabinet the other day.Hopefully.

#4 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 2:48:00 PM

@Mr.Tea
Me thinks,As we wait for the body to be formed(we all know how long such things take in Kenya)..the Real Estate gurus should organise like a forum/series of forums to educate some of us a bit about the industry and how to go about certain issues. It might be a long shot,but a step in the direction i guess. There are so many guys who want to invest in real estate but the lack of information,or access to it bars many. Even if we had to pay a small fee,i think the 'mwananchi wa kawaida' like me,would greatly benefit and appreciate such a move. My 2cents!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Mainat
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 6:22:00 AM

A housing/plots price index: It'd be nice if either one of the banks (most likely HFCK),a real estate,or even an SKerian who is able and willing could start this. It can be done on a town by town basis. Based on houses and properties sold.
Registration: Either via governemnt formed body or professional body of all professionals involved in the sector
Clear information: How many of us know all the costs that should be taken into account when buying a house or a plot? Govt or real estate body can have this at their offices.
Common sense: Its not common,but they are things one shouldn't do. Don't buy land unless you've done a search at the relevant district/provincial land office. don't buy with no title deeds-its the seller's job to ensure they have one. Always stipulate upfront what you'll pay or not pay when using land brokers or agents.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
SUSU
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 8:00:00 AM

It seams the Real Estate Market is in a total mess...But I am wondering how do the Banks like akina S&L and HFCK do their business if this is the case??

(I've never bough Land nor Building but in this Market state as portrayed by Mr.T whos views i highly respect when it comes to Real Estate is scary).
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 8:37:00 AM

@Susu

And thats how the real businessmen/women are making money in this sector.... when you are fearful,they know how to get the titles,and you pay what they cough.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Mr.Tea
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 30, 2009 8:59:00 AM

@Leona,
That is a brilliant idea for its wishful to sit back and wait for things to happen. It would be very interesting to find out just how much deprived(of information) would-be buyers feel from such a forum.

Marty
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 30, 2009 9:10:00 AM

Guys,

the level of misinformation and misconception about real estate and risks therein is alarming. Was shocked to deal with a magistrate the other day who was interested in some plots I was selling and had to take 2 or so hours explaining to her the procedure and basically allaying her fears. Am imagining if this is the case with people who can access info easily,what about those in the villages??

Was even contemplating starting a blog on real estate matters.

Maybe some of us in the industry could start by posting basic procedures and info about real estate coz it may help so many investors who have developed cold feet simply due to lack of info.

..one is only poor if they choose to be
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#10 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 9:42:00 AM

@Marty & Mr.Tea
I fully support the idea of a blog/forum coz am one of those people who feel there's a very huge gap as far as access to information on real estate matters is concerned. The situation is made worse by the massive numbers of dodgy evil guys masquerading as real estate agents only to end up conning people! Most of the exsisting websites are all about prices..and more prices. No other info is ever incorporated. Start the blog/forum and keep us informed. You will have saved thousands,if not millions from making uninformed and damaging decisions. All the best!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Eddy
#11 Posted : Friday, July 31, 2009 6:43:00 PM

@Marty

Your blog would be so phenomenon that you would wonder what you had been waiting for. Please implement this as soon as possible chances are that you will have created another SK just like that.
SUSU
#12 Posted : Saturday, August 01, 2009 2:51:00 PM

I think if there is any one who should start a Real Estate Blog then it should be Mr.Tea. I believe u are highly knowledgeable when it comes to acquiring Land & Buildings.Instead of starting it somewhere else can't we just make it here in SK site? It's time SK creates a new heading of REAL ESTATE where we can share our ideas. Many have been conned na wengi (like me) want to venture into this ocean lakini ......apaaaana... am afraid they'll rudisha me where I came from na huko ni kubaya kabisa...lol..SK Please act...NOW.
Mr.Tea
#13 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 6:51:00 AM

Patriotism is arming your fellow compatriots with the knowledge and experience gathered through life. To keep knowledge and info useful you've got to share it. All your views are duly noted and pleased to say that something is in the offing.

modestone
#14 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 7:33:00 AM

I am happy to see Mr. Tea's positive response,as I would like to own a plot or house before the year ends. I sold my house 6 years ago and have been in the rental 'wilderness' since,despite a lot of effort searching for a replacement.

The wise one invests in this world for the time he expects to live here,and invests in the afterlife for the time he knows he will stay there.
business
#15 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 1:46:00 PM

houses for sale in langata behind langata shopping centre.
in a new estate
call 0722 167712

look up and live
SUSU
#16 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 3:15:00 PM

@Business

Can u tell us how clean this guy is? and support your answer with facts and figures in black and white....Tumechoka kunyanyaswa na kuhangaishwa na madalali who keep on conning innocent wananchi..I know it's seller beware Buyer beware lakini it's now becomming too much of a dirty game...