wazua Wed, May 13, 2026

12 Pages«<34567>»
Scenic routes
Wakanyugi
#41 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 9:53:17 AM

The first time I took the twists and turns from masaku to Wote I was mesmerized. Try that route, get to Wote, then via Ukia into murram all the way to Emali... and back via Mombasa road.

This one I agree. But you don't to do murram if you are willing to avoid some sections. For instance, take the tarmac from Machakos all the way through Kathonzweni to emerge near Kibwezi. Then cross over and drive to Loitoktok if you wish or drive back to Nairobi through Mombasa road.

This is a scenic hidden gem.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#42 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:02:11 AM

this thread reminds me of those ugly maps in form 4 Geog exams - torture!
Wakanyugi
#43 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:06:00 AM

For people with the time and patience, may I suggest the 'double mountains route.' Start from Nairobi and drive to Nyahururu, preferably using the new Njabini-Dudori road and turning right at Ol Kalou.

From Nyahururu drive to Nyeri town, passing Baks new keja in Mweiga, and turn off to Kerugoya-Embu at Karatina town. Then all the way past Meru round Mount Kenya and through Nanyuki, Karatina, Sagana and back to Nairobi.

You can do it in a leisurely weekend. The scenery is to die for.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#44 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:14:04 AM

this thread reminds me of those ugly maps in form 4 Geog exams - torture!

and you were supposed to read them,analyse bla bla bla I so hated map work..
#45 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:56:18 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
For people with the time and patience, may I suggest the 'double mountains route.' Start from Nairobi and drive to Nyahururu, preferably using the new Njabini-Dudori road and turning right at Ol Kalou.

From Nyahururu drive to Nyeri town, passing Baks new keja in Mweiga, and turn off to Kerugoya-Embu at Karatina town. Then all the way past Meru round Mount Kenya and through Nanyuki, Karatina, Sagana and back to Nairobi.

You can do it in a leisurely weekend. The scenery is to die for.

smile I bet to enjoy this thoroughly you need atleast 3 days... stopovers in-between.

#46 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:07:17 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Looking for scenic routes within the Nairobi Metropolis for a road trip. Any ideas.

@JB, please report back on which scenic route is eventually taken and how it was

Will most definitely @butterflyke. Na it's good watu to recommend stop overs. Those campsites, the lodges, etc on the same routes. But need more on the Metropolis tafadhali, not strongholds.
#47 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:22:49 AM

go to magadi town. on your way stop over at olepolos for choma and your way back stop at tinga town and enquire about plots.
To avoid lions on the road as you exit the rongai republic smile use karen ngong
#48 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:28:56 AM

digitek1 wrote:
go to magadi town. on your way stop over at olepolos for choma and your way back stop at tinga town and enquire about plots.
To avoid lions on the road as you exit the rongai republic smile use karen ngong

hii barabara mbaya sana shamba afadhali...btw y hasnt anyone thot of putting up a bice hotel this sides,magadi should be a large tourist attraction site...so sad.
ngugifred
#49 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:38:29 PM

Most of you get Es for your answers...

At least we get to know what our lovely country has to offer.
#50 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:52:50 PM

.....just did the NBI, village market, kiambu, dumberi, githunguri....etc today: Can't say which had a bigger influence, the fear or the enjoyment.....lol!!!
12 Pages«<34567>»