marrriage..????
rayeeee
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10:25:00 AM

hi,
Marriage… is it the end of freedom… or the start of a lifelong adventure for two?
What are the pros and cons on marriage? Or what marriage means to people?

Financial freedom is our birthright,rather than the 'slave walk' of the Monday through Friday grind.
mkristo
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10:43:00 AM

get married

the voice of reason
xtina
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 11:07:00 AM

@ mkristo..that was rude.
I had this negative view of marriage...my parents are separated..it seemed too unrealistic..imagine waking up to the same person for eons..unless one patner dies when ur bored of him/her..that way you can always have new spouses without offending God...
However,my views have now changed....life is what you make it...marriage is what you make it....it's good and bad..how you deal with it makes all the difference.
But with on going reports.. how 50% of marriages are ending with divorce..and the number is rising..i mean..a whole,whooping 50%!!! na hizi stories about how new HIV/AIDS cases (50% of new cases)are involving married couples do not make the situation any better......it makes some ladies not to keen on getting married..it is easier to get a kid by the man who has the qualities you want..that way you get a trophy kid without the baggage of a husband.
Anyway,all said and done,i am for marriage,i will submit to my husband as the bible say we should...clean.iron....even wipe pee off the toilet seat (hahaha)....cooking is the bane of my existence but i will do it for my kids....
I am for marriage smile

First there was white power,then black power,now there's no power!
reddevil
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 11:20:00 AM

@xtina,

So are you single!

Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
Tutu
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 11:22:00 AM

Wazi Xtina,

That's why God created man and woman! I am for marriage too i believe it's how one takes it. I am looking forward for the adventures that come along,living wid somebody u have met and dated for like 2 years from different cultures,language,xters et al then bringing forth children by God's will,aiiiii i believe tis interesting!!! Can't wait. God saidia.

For me to live is Jesus Christ,to die is gain
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 11:29:00 AM

@reddevil,she is not only single,but also one of those tumbo-cut clad campus girls......
mkristo
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 11:50:00 AM

@xtina

I am sorry. I think what I said must have hurt you and probably somebody else.

I should say,do not fear getting married because of someone's experience that was bad. I agree with you that life,and marriage for that matter is what you make it.

May be what I can tell all of you is that marriage is challengin because of one thing,couples do not want to submit to each other. The husband thinks he is always right,so does the wife. Marriage is an agreement,wich means that the two of you need to always agree on one thing. The husband should at times give the wife benefit of doubt,same case to the wife. AGREEMENT IS THE KEY WORD. that way ti will be hard for anything to separate you.

What I've also discovered is that marriage is very rewarding,especially if you learn to live with each other like I have described above. You wife/husband is your best friend. This is the person whom can feel vulnerable without fear of anything. However many marriages fall short of that cos the other person does not want to create an atmosphere where you will feel free to express yourself without being judged.

I've been married for five years now,not so many,but all these things I have experienced.

That's why I said,the best thing is to get married,but just know that you can make it or break it. It's all about how you handle it

the voice of reason
ngwono
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:05:00 PM

To me marriage is the oldest instn that was founded by God Himself.I respect those people who are married and i hate this notion of getting super babies out of wedlock.I vowed if am to raise a child on the surface of the earth,he/she must have a mother & a father,no short cut

To be honest,the shape marrages is taking of,late does not leave a good taste in the mouth but that is where faith comes in.Without having faith that God will stand with you in your marriage you can not are make a move.The truth is God is faithfull and just,He will never dissappoint you if you trust in Him.So i am really for marriage 100%

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
PONDI
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:32:00 PM

@ngwono.... i could have sworn i saw your contribution on the hospital discussion... you were asking about maternity costs... ehh ama it was for 'information purposes only'?

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:34:00 PM

dont i love all skerians,money,life,religion..mchanganyiko kamili

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:44:00 PM

@Pondi

I was going to ask the same thing..... Am sure i am not dreaming....

@Ngwono...

fafanua tafadhali....

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
ngwono
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:50:00 PM

Hehehe Pondi,you mean you are that keen.My broda am in the middle of making some strategic decisions.Woga kidogo lakini nambia Mungu saidia.So coz of that,i would like to know what it takes to begin this life time project.Personally i have a feeling that my marriage will stand the test of time and will be an example to many.I love being positive in all that i do.

Currently,i have been handling marriage issues where jamaas come to me with one or two problems,i have to listen to them and most of the time i do advise them based on biblical principles and so i think it would be better if i also have real life experience,not just theory.

So Pondi am still far,but am always proactive

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
ngwono
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 1:00:00 PM

@Wendz

Hope you are answered my dear sister

xtina
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 1:41:00 PM

@ GG,hahaha very funny! umetuma nicheke. I am young,I dress how I want coz I have only one life to live,I won’t have my cute,cellulite-free,stretch mark-free,pot-free,pre-baby body forever soo… but I have a good brain b/w my ears…;-)

@ Alph,yeah,I’m single now,i think I said here before how I supported my man in campo…later when he didn’t want me around anymore..he told me how we shouldn’t take ‘campus things’ seriously…that’s right!.he described it as a ‘campus thing’ …...he had told me I was ‘wife material’ only later to say it did not mean he wanted to marry me; that I’d make a good mother and wife(to someone else,not him) but not a good girlfriend….this was after dating for 1.5 years in campus….. I was livid ….i demanded my money and gifts back smile….. I took it badly then but now it seems soo trivial...it was the most embarassing episode of my life but now as I look back I find it too funny….it’s a good thing very few of you know me…twas just embarassing..

Attention all men!!! If you don’t want a lady in your life,just tell her!!! We are perfectly rational human beings,just be honest and explain yourself,we will understand and let go.

@ Ladies,when a man tells you you are ‘wife material’,it’s NOT a compliment,just means you are boring,you remind him if his mother….stuff stuff…..you look like a good container to carry his kids…..

First there was white power,then black power,now there's no power!
PONDI
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 2:27:00 PM

@ngwono,how can you advise couples on marriage yet you are single?

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 2:45:00 PM

@xtina

Haiyaiyaiyaiyaiya!!!!! Hey,kumbe you learn each and every day...... Ati if a dude says you are 'wife material' its not a complement???? heheheheheheh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

@Ngwono

Peace.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
reiner
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 3:00:00 PM

@ xtina
im sorry,but i am laughing at you very hard! Enyewe even you,how can you take campus boys seriously? most relationships za campus are to pass time..im sorry but its true.

that one for the 'wife material' thing,i have heard it too..and ladies like to be told that...

Need a Landscape architect? Contact me.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 3:11:00 PM

If a man thinks you are marriage material,he wont tell you so; he will simply ask you to marry him!

Been married close to ten years now....and I can't remember how I used to survive single. Married life is better...problems here and there,but better all the same.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 3:11:00 PM

@xtina: ..where do you guys want us to pee? Kila saa toilet seat iko na makonjoo,hata kama hujaenda huko!!! Sometimes I feel like konjoaring outside the house!!
Aggond
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 3:35:00 PM

People are getting more & more scared of marriage & have developed negative attitude towards the same. I look around and see most dudes we cleared campus with are still single having fun & yet theyre over 30. I asked one during easter and all he could tell me is 'sitaki stress! ya mwanamke'. Even the women are now avoidn marriage.
I live in an apartment block of 28 apartments,each 1 bedroom.. Out of 28 houses,there are 3 single men (includn me),2 married couples,2 women with children & 21 single women who all look like ages 25-35,all working & most driving,except 1 who is kept. Ofcourse during weekends theres trouble getting parking space due to many visitors. But it got me wondering,What happened to good old Marriage?
How can we repair this situation in Kenya. Who has solution?

Chance Favors the prepared mind.