wazua Sun, Jun 28, 2026

3 Pages<123
5 key reasons why supreme court failed..
#21 Posted : Monday, April 22, 2013 4:57:11 PM

digitek1 wrote:
Accept and move on to 2022

more like 2032 Laughing out loudly

Yaani tuwe na Uhuruto mpaka well past Vision 2030?
UK will be 71 by then and OAR will be 88 (Moi's current age)
Sad Sad Sad Sad

I think before 2032 Kenya will have a life-changing event, which will change the country completely.

It will be painful, but the fruits that will rise after will be very sweet.

Hear hear!!!

Armageddon!!!
Pray Pray Pray

Sasa instead of thinking about 2032 why can't Kenyans support and work with the current govt ama ni lazima "mtu wetu" akuwe in power. I don't know about you but events of 07/08 were quite painful for those who were directly affected.

Bwana @TAZ, probably you are not in a position to understand and comprehend this!!!!
#22 Posted : Monday, April 22, 2013 4:57:45 PM

digitek1 wrote:

Sad Sad Sad Sad

I think before 2032 Kenya will have a life-changing event, which will change the country completely.

Hear hear!!!

Armageddon!!!
Pray Pray Pray

Sasa instead of thinking about 2032 why can't Kenyans support and work with the current govt ama ni lazima "mtu wetu" akuwe in power. I don't know about you but events of 07/08 were quite painful for those who were directly affected.

Accept and move on!
#23 Posted : Monday, April 22, 2013 5:14:24 PM

digitek1 wrote:

Sad Sad Sad Sad

Hear hear!!!

Armageddon!!!
Pray Pray Pray

Bwana @TAZ, probably you are not in a position to understand and comprehend this!!!!

I think you are right, perhaps i'll never understand but what i know is that Uhuruto will be in power for the next 5 years, give them a chance si kusema ati you've moved on.
#24 Posted : Monday, April 22, 2013 5:22:07 PM

Elder wrote:
vinii wrote:
IN SUMMARY
This article offers five reasons for this conclusion:
Supreme Court’s reliance on backward looking, mean-spirited, cramped
Nigerian precedent.
Tolerant and uncritical acceptance of the IEBC’s explanations on the
voter registers.THE IEBC IS THE AUTHORITY IN ALL MATTERS VR.... NO ONE ELSE CAN SAY WHAT CONSTITUES A REGISTER
Lack of clarity about IEBC’s duty to ensure that final results could be
verified against provisional results.PROVISIONAL RESULTS WERE TO FEED THE BEAST....IT WAS NEVER SUPPOSED TO BE A VERIFICATION MECHANISM.... PROVISIONAL RESULTS WOULD ALWAYS BE TRUMPED BY OFFICIAL RESULTS...THE ONLY MENTION OF THEM IN LAW (REGULATIONS) IS FOR THEIR COLLECTION
The Court’s use of subsidiary legislation to limit the meaning of “votes
cast,” an unambiguous phrase in the Constitution.
The evidential foreclosure that the Court imposes on itself by taking
judicial notice of technology failures instead of treating IEBC as
spurious.
Sadly, as the saying is, in this judgment, the Supreme Court has only given
us reasons that sound good, not good, sound reasons.

MY 2 CENTS

Maybe you should read the whole article first. From your answers it appears you may have not.

replying to the summary

I suspected as much. Had all the time in the world when I found some early bird was already at my kinyozi so got to read it. The article addresses your response in depth.
thuks
#25 Posted : Monday, April 22, 2013 6:10:04 PM

And Warah says the problem was that the CJ acted "arrogantly' by delivering the ruling in less than six minutes for two sittings. And I agree with her d:)
I care!
#26 Posted : Thursday, April 25, 2013 8:01:34 AM

I went through Wachira Maina's long exposition http://www.theeastafrican.co.ke...46/-/297c6q/-/index.html I found it interesting but distinctly felt the author found it difficult to say anything positive about the judgement except perhaps in closing
Does this criticism impugn the decision that the Court has reached? Not really. Ultimately, it not whether one wins or loses in court, it is whether the loss or win is seen to be just.

Now Elisha Ongoro's assessment is the most insightful and scathing thus far. Because of its respect and focus. He posits incontrovertible facts that demonstrate the supreme court was too casual. Perhaps the impositions of the rigid time-frame shifted from being a limit to the court's scope to being the court's scapegoat; and hence a bad example.
http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/...=2000082170&pageNo=1

A word from our eminent Chief Justice...

3 Pages<123