3 Pages<123
Looking for property in slums.
ChumsQuest
#41 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2013 9:41:33 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:
Any wazuan who knows how I can own a plot in a slum?I hear the returns are enormous.Please share your insights.I am looking at Kawangware,Kayole,Kariobangi,Mukuru.

smile smile Mawinder, if you find a kaslum somewhere we can both jump on it. I've thought about this before my only worry is the end of the month when I have to get the rent out of that dude on the 7th floor who's blood ETOH level is 1.22 with chang'aa as the main culprit? How much are Property Management companies paid?Eh? Eh? Eh?

In slums you need some rough guys to enforce rent collection and rules or if you are a licensed firearm holder the easier.Just walk into your property with the gun visibly displayed and spread rumours around that you are very dangerous and have killed several people before.Your tenants will always call you to collect the rent.I learnt this from the late Fai Amario.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Mawinder you never seize to amaze me. Remember what I told you about the watch list by admin? AnyHoo, I think I need a bud like you. Tuongee kando ama?
ChumsQuest
#42 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2013 9:43:16 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:
Any wazuan who knows how I can own a plot in a slum?I hear the returns are enormous.Please share your insights.I am looking at Kawangware,Kayole,Kariobangi,Mukuru.

smile smile Mawinder, if you find a kaslum somewhere we can both jump on it. I've thought about this before my only worry is the end of the month when I have to get the rent out of that dude on the 7th floor who's blood ETOH level is 1.22 with chang'aa as the main culprit? How much are Property Management companies paid?Eh? Eh? Eh?

In slums you need some rough guys to enforce rent collection and rules or if you are a licensed firearm holder the easier.Just walk into your property with the gun visibly displayed and spread rumours around that you are very dangerous and have killed several people before.Your tenants will always call you to collect the rent.I learnt this from the late Fai Amario.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Mawinder you never seize to amaze me. Remember what I told you about the watch list by admin? AnyHoo, I think I need a bud like you. Tuongee kando ama?
Foz00
#43 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2013 11:18:19 AM

Rent collection - min 2500 so that you are above primary control bracket. Make tenancy ag and 1month deposit a must. Enforce you ag late payment fee, eviction, auction of items etc etc. 99% of tenants dont want shida but quiet stay.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2013 12:39:10 PM

Foz00 wrote:
Rent collection - min 2500 so that you are above primary control bracket. Make tenancy ag and 1month deposit a must. Enforce you ag late payment fee, eviction, auction of items etc etc. 99% of tenants dont want shida but quiet stay.

Good idea but I don't think it is possible to get such rent from a mabati house.I hear in places like Mlolongo a 1 bedroom house goes for 6k,a bedsitter 4k,a double room 3k and a single room 1500.
#45 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2013 12:40:35 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
Mawinder,

A better way is to shop for an 1/8th plot in the outskirts of Mulolongo, Kitengela, Kiserian going for say 450,000.00 to 700,000.00. Spend another 700,000.00 (20*35,000.00) to put up 20 mabati houses (plot size is 50*100ft. Tu rooms are 10*10). Total spend 1.3m - 1.4m. Income 20*1,800.00=36,000.00 less expenses may be 30K. For 1.4m, 30k return is not bad. Rent for a 2 bed house at Nyayo Embakasi is going for 30K but to it costs 6.5m to buy. Return is about 26% pa. The beauty is that the land is yours, you have a title and it will keep on appreciating.

Thanks for the information.Will certainly take this route and have the mabati structures as I accumulate capital for building a permanent structure on the plot.

beware of zoning laws, mavoko are very aggressive enforcers
Foz00
#46 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2013 1:10:23 PM

Foz00 wrote:

Good idea but I don't think it is possible to get such rent from a mabati house.I hear in places like Mlolongo a 1 bedroom house goes for 6k,a bedsitter 4k,a double room 3k and a single room 1500.
I

I assure you you can, walk into vijiji and utajionea, it all depends on Kahow well they are built and extras maji, stima, usafi, security
xtina
#47 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2013 4:00:21 PM

Foz00 wrote:

I

I assure you you can, walk into vijiji and utajionea, it all depends on Kahow well they are built and extras maji, stima, usafi, security

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Most slumlords don't give a damn about things like security, stima na usafismile

Respected, resourceful Wazuans discussing how to be slumlords Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly. Start with Kamae.....

#48 Posted : Friday, August 02, 2013 9:39:04 AM

I now need a plot to put up 20 ft or 40 ft containers for rent.Any ideas on the rate of return and viability is welcome.
#49 Posted : Friday, August 02, 2013 10:08:53 AM

I now need a plot to put up 20 ft or 40 ft containers for rent.Any ideas on the rate of return and viability is welcome.

@Mawinder. Elaborate. Are you selling Containers and renting out ama? If it is selling, Containers are always in high demand.
#50 Posted : Friday, August 02, 2013 10:16:22 AM

Am wrote:

@Mawinder. Elaborate. Are you selling Containers and renting out ama? If it is selling, Containers are always in high demand.

I need the plot to put up the containers.
#51 Posted : Friday, August 02, 2013 12:17:04 PM

Am wrote:

@Mawinder. We know wewe ni warrior but are not cowed in Wazua. You either answer the question above and get help ama uwache.
#52 Posted : Friday, August 02, 2013 12:51:08 PM

Am wrote:
Am wrote:

@Mawinder. We know wewe ni warrior but are not cowed in Wazua. You either answer the question above and get help ama uwache.

I think you are not getting me but you may offer advice.I need a plot to put up a container structure.The container is the structure to be put up on the plot.
ChumsQuest
#53 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 8:02:02 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Mawinder you never cease to amaze me. Remember what I told you about the watch list by admin? AnyHoo, I think I need a bud like you. Tuongee kando ama?

ChumsQuest
#54 Posted : Saturday, August 03, 2013 8:03:49 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Mawinder you never cease to amaze me. Remember what I told you about the watch list by admin? AnyHoo, I think I need a bud like you. Tuongee kando ama?

#55 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 8:45:41 AM

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Ever heard of the C.K.Pralahad's theory or phenomenon ... a fortune at the bottom of the pyramid. or Pot of Gold at the end the Rainbow?

Ask yourself why Safaricom Started selling credit /airtime scratchcards in smaller denominations From highs of Ksh 500 down to 250, halafu Mia mara Bamba 50 i here there is Mbao and Ten bob ... the hell you can even borrow credit Okoa Jahazi
Celtel -vievendi/Zain/Airtel/Batt sijui what other name they may take started at Ksh 1000., halafu cam 500, i think they wee the first ones to pioneer 100 after success of Safaricom Ksh250 scratch cards.

This Kadogo economy has many enthusiastic proponents as well as an equal number of oponents eg those supporting the Mathare A4 and similar Slum upgrade programs... i could write a whole term paper /thesis on the topic...

The West looks at India China and Brazil's census numbers and they get a hardon

xtina wrote:
[quote=Foz00][quote=mawinder][

Respected, resourceful Wazuans discussing how to be slumlords Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly. Start with Kamae.....

#56 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 12:19:23 PM

Siringi wrote:
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Ever heard of the C.K.Pralahad's theory or phenomenon ... a fortune at the bottom of the pyramid. or Pot of Gold at the end the Rainbow?

Ask yourself why Safaricom Started selling credit /airtime scratchcards in smaller denominations From highs of Ksh 500 down to 250, halafu Mia mara Bamba 50 i here there is Mbao and Ten bob ... the hell you can even borrow credit Okoa Jahazi
Celtel -vievendi/Zain/Airtel/Batt sijui what other name they may take started at Ksh 1000., halafu cam 500, i think they wee the first ones to pioneer 100 after success of Safaricom Ksh250 scratch cards.

This Kadogo economy has many enthusiastic proponents as well as an equal number of oponents eg those supporting the Mathare A4 and similar Slum upgrade programs... i could write a whole term paper /thesis on the topic...

The West looks at India China and Brazil's census numbers and they get a hardon

xtina wrote:
[quote=Foz00][quote=mawinder][

Ditto.Nowadays even in the slums there is cooking fat for 3 bob and sugar for 12 bob.
Punda Mlia
#57 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 2:45:17 PM

To create a slum, identify an empty piece of land, nevermind who the owner is. Start building. Recruit an enforcer gang to protect your investment and collect rent. Kwamawaider is born.

Then claim all along the slam has been there from 1975. When bulldozers arrive call Sonko