wazua Wed, Jul 1, 2026

We need to amend the constitution!
#11 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 10:29:53 AM

Money Whisperer wrote:
you wrongly assume that party business is only carried out in parliament. I understand your ignorance because that is how party politics are played out in Kenya, they are in essence a one-MAN outfit. As DPORK said on inauguration day we need to build parties. The party leader can lead the party and the party appoints opposition leader in the house who receives instructions from the party leader. The senate at least has Wetangula and also Mutula, and Dalmas Otieno (no, I wont name Orengo) who can lead the opposition.

you and @ thuks are also assuming that @2012 is only talking about OAR,talk abt jumping the gun...even in 2027 there will be a looser and it wunt be OAR.
#12 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 10:30:19 AM

Money Whisperer wrote:
you wrongly assume that party business is only carried out in parliament. I understand your ignorance because that is how party politics are played out in Kenya, they are in essence a one-MAN outfit.

Educate us. Do you probably have examples of party leaders even internationally who sit at home and are efficient and command respect?

Let us amend the katiba and scrap the senate as we have done without it and can do without it.A complete waste of taxpayers money.

I agree with you fully.

chiaroscuro
#13 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 11:07:51 AM

Let us amend the katiba and scrap the senate as we have done without it and can do without it.A complete waste of taxpayers money.

Removing the senate will be the beginning of the end of devolution.

Read what it says about senates role....

Role of the Senate
(1) The Senate represents the counties, and serves to protect the interests of the counties and their governments.

(2) The Senate participates in the law-making function of Parliament by considering, debating and approving Bills concerning counties, as
provided in Articles 109 to 113.

(3) The Senate determines the allocation of national revenue among counties, as provided in Article 217, and exercises oversight over
national revenue allocated to the county governments.

(4) The Senate participates in the oversight of State officers by considering and determining any resolution to remove the President or Deputy
President from office in accordance with Article 145.
kollabo
#14 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 11:09:35 AM

We seriously need to amend the constitution on what I think was an oversight by the people who put it together.

We need to amend so the Presidential runner-up and his running mate get into Sanate and Parliament respectively - automatically after elections to head the opposition in both houses. Right now we not only have a weak opposition but one that is leaderless and this is dangerous for our country and may takes us back to dictatorship.

Now do not think of UK and Ruto if you voted for them but think of the future, long after they have done their term and retired. This would avoid the shameful scenario we're facing now. What's you take?

Utter rubbish. President and Deputy do not participate in parliament. Why should losing opponents join in. In any case they claim to be champions of this same constitution.
#15 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 11:11:46 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

Removing the senate will be the beginning of the end of devolution.

Read what it says about senates role....

Role of the Senate
(1) The Senate represents the counties, and serves to protect the interests of the counties and their governments.

(2) The Senate participates in the law-making function of Parliament by considering, debating and approving Bills concerning counties, as
provided in Articles 109 to 113.

(3) The Senate determines the allocation of national revenue among counties, as provided in Article 217, and exercises oversight over
national revenue allocated to the county governments.
Parliament can do all the above functions.
(4) The Senate participates in the oversight of State officers by considering and determining any resolution to remove the President or Deputy
President from office in accordance with Article 145.

The above functions can be exercised by parliament.
villageseer
#16 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 11:52:05 AM

The so called constitution-experts who drafted the current constitution underestimated the public reactions to some of their assertions.

You just cannot ignored a candidate who although coming second was able to command more than five million votes!

There is noway you can say we forget him, while we know majority of those who ran under his Party won mostly due to their association with him. Maybe without his backing and influence in the grassroot , most of them would not have made it to the 11th. Parliament and without his/her leadership most of these parties or alliances will be dead like DoDo.

Its high time we become serious and amend some of the outlandish or stupid points asserted in this Constitution, after all the so-called experts have never run or led any public outfit, expect hallucinating some of their crazy ideas and then claiming that this is a People led Constitution. My Foot!
#17 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 12:03:33 PM

For the first time, I agree with Mawinder.

I hope as the Senate begins it job, we will both be proved wrong...for now...they look useless kabisa to me.
Mainat
#18 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 12:05:19 PM

For the first time, I agree with Mawinder.

I hope as the Senate begins it job, we will both be proved wrong...for now...they look useless kabisa to me.

Thirded. Would also maintain number of MPs at 290 in the constitution
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#19 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 12:06:38 PM

If Raila and kalonzo really want to be in parliament, they will be so big issue here for me!!!!
#20 Posted : Friday, April 12, 2013 12:09:00 PM

spot on...the government should always be accountable to its citizens,a good opposition that is vibrant and keeps the government on its toes in regards to its promises and how it conducts its work does this for the common mwananchi...right now they are all over like headless chicken...very good idea.

You mean the ones trying to get MPs to step down for them so that they can find a political voice or who are these headless chicken?