wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

JOHN GAKUO
kamangu
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:02:00 AM

Am i the only one who feel this guy deserved a better send off for a job well done?

Seriously,everytime i drive along our city i cant help but admire the lovely trees along the streets,the flowers,garbage free pavements,street lights,clean public toilets e.t.c.

I think we ought to have celebrated Gakuo's good work. say with maybe naming a street after him.Did anyone even think of organising a farewell party for this guy?What a thankfull bunch we are!

Live is not about the chances you have but rather the choices you make.
tusker8
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:16:00 AM

I know i will get barbs for this but Gakuo never did a good job. It was the bare minimum. This is what as Nairobi residents are lawfully & rightfully deserve(d). His predecessors just never worked.

A journey of a thousand miles start with a cash advance
mnjoro
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:21:00 AM

Supports you @Tusker8.Its like starting a vehicle whilst all it lacked was anyone to connect the battery terminals.Then we start jumping halleluyah.

KENYA OUR BELOVED COUNTRY
kamangu
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:22:00 AM

@tusker.he could as well have decided to sleep on the job just like his predecessors.At least he did his best during his term.

Live is not about the chances you have but rather the choices you make.
Fundaah
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:26:00 AM

Congratulate him??????

I hear one tree costed a whopping 16000/= and he left the council with a whopping 31B debt (31,000,000,000) from 4B in 2004

Reminds me of kimunya and grand regency saga.

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me? Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Lyanne
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:27:00 AM

@ Mnjoro,Gakuo's achievement was no mean feat. Working with City Kanjura's requires nerves of steel and the patience of a vulture. He deserved a btter send off,but i hear he's taking a big role in the Metropolitan Ministry as a PS.

The Hedonist
mnjoro
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:37:00 AM

@lyanne no problem with that.Given the Kenyan economic improvement as we see it with KRA,there is always more room for improvement otherwise try encourage a Kenyan and you will surely be sending him/her to slubberland like we did with prezzo.

Usiniingilie sana

KENYA OUR BELOVED COUNTRY
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:57:00 AM

@Fundahh; where did you hear about the 16k per tree and the 31b debt? I hope not from the mayor!
Mr.Tea
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 7:01:00 AM

He did a good job.But he created a platform upon which others after him can build . Did he make honest mistakes? off course he did. One,he was not indispensable and two,there will always be a better guy for the job out there(lets hope that guy is Philip)If we are looking for a savior at City Hall,then we probably missed our chance 2000 years ago.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Fundaah
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 7:05:00 AM

@ Mukiha

I heard it on Kiss 100 with caroline Mutoko but here is the lead to the 31B debt

http://www.kara.or.ke/readnews.php?newsid=191

http://www.eastandard.ne...4013191&cid=16&

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me? Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Chaka
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 7:14:00 AM

Why is Nairobi City always 'under construction'? and the quality of the work seems shody
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 7:46:00 AM

But guys, true he may have done mistakes,but we cant fail to appreciate that at least he transformed the city.... May be most of you were not eligible(age wise) to go to town on your own in years 1997 - 2002............. the town was just a big heap of filth!! it was a stinking toilet everywhere,with all the chokoras and their sh**ty threats,taka taka was all over,unruly hawkers who could force you go buy even what you didnt intend to,and with the hawkers came the muggers,as in being mugged in town was like the order of the day........ you even joke about it after the thugs release you.......!!! Back then,Nairobi was not the city under the sun(or whatever),it was a city in darkness... literally.... who can remember any street that had lights?? women could not dare walk on some part of the town alone at night..... and now,even the famous koinange is so lit shoppers can see what they are being offered and make an informed decision(pun intended)!!

Those of us who were there,i just cant fail to see the transformation to-date.... if Gakuo was part of it,KUDOS!!!!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Kamaa
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 7:52:00 AM

everything has got two sides of the story & gakuo not an exception...
comparing to his predecessors he did something to be celebrated!
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Tiro
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 8:14:00 AM

@Wendz

Hapo umenena. Town was a horror even for a jama it used to scare me kabisa.. hizo miaka umesema 1997-2002. I recall one sato afte around Gill house opposite hizo stalls that were there. Chokoraz had decided one of them it was his time to be 'katwad'. They had the guy on a mkokoteni bila nguo kabisa. Imagine a crowd,i swear they were over 100 of them come straight to you and demanding pesa ya huyu jama ndio 'atae'. I frooze kabisa luckily they moved on to another dude who was frisked vibaya sana.. Yaani you wonder whether we had a gava then. Will never forget. Kudos Gakuo and the late Karisa the Hurricane.
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 8:17:00 AM

For me he was just okay,as someone already mentioned,the city is always being constructed,and the work done is always horrible.

All that paying of parking even in your front yard etc. And now (per Fundah's links) the big debt that the city has been left with.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
doh
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 8:26:00 AM

- Lots of estate roads done. eg Imara which for more than 10year lay undone.
- street lighting
- NCC workers paid on time
- Cleanup of some areas
- Kiosks removal
- Beautification.

For me I give him B+

info is money
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2018 11:54:57 AM

He has passed on
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2018 12:04:15 PM

Shak wrote:
He has passed on

Former Nairobi Town Clerk John Gakuo has died at Mbagathi Hospital in Nairobi. Gakuo was serving a three-year jail term for unprocedural procurement of cemetery land in Mavoko for the defunct Nairobi City Council. He died on Tuesday morning after he was rushed to hospital from Nairobi West Prisons where he was serving his sentence.
Read more at: https://www.standardmedi...ile-serving-prison-term
Coolbull
#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2018 12:12:19 PM

Is this the metaphorical blood Kenyans have been crying to see flowing in the streets?
The Kideros, Chumo, etc should be very worried.

wukan
#20 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2018 12:25:03 PM

May I offer his family my sincere condolences. Every time I pass Mama Ngina street I remember his vision for a good orderly nairobi. RIP

This what the judge had to say on his application for bail
The 1st applicant alleged that he is aged 60yrs old and suffering from high blood pressure and hypertension thus requiring medical attention outside prisons owing to lack of sufficient medical facilities in the prison where he is being held. No medical records were attached to support that claim.

It has not been established or proved that the ailment is not manageable within the hospital facility. In any event, nothing stops prisons doctors from making a referral to hospitals like Kenyatta if the situation demands.

As regards age, in this case 60 years for the 1st applicant, that perse is not an exceptional circumstance since at that age people can still be active in life including working in civil service unless the sickness is age related which is not in this case.