wazua Thu, Jul 2, 2026

9 Pages«<45678>»
The unanimous decision
limanika
#51 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 8:15:50 PM

still waiting to read the reasons given by the sc, but how bad can a lawyer get - if one can not even convince a single judge.

Their petition was doomed to fail from day 1. How do you tell the court the election was flawed due to faulty register, at the same time argue uhuruto did not win Cox they did not get 50%+1 in the same election! All this time cord elected Senators are smiling proudly right in the same court!
#52 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 10:44:53 PM

limanika wrote:
still waiting to read the reasons given by the sc, but how bad can a lawyer get - if one can not even convince a single judge.

Their petition was doomed to fail from day 1. How do you tell the court the election was flawed due to faulty register, at the same time argue uhuruto did not win Cox they did not get 50%+1 in the same election! All this time cord elected Senators are smiling proudly right in the same court!

Exactly!!! This clearly shows the case had absolutely no direction. It was just throwing punches in the dark.

The last one shows the hypocrisy of the highest order. (Sworn in) Senators elected using the same register in an election conducted by the same IEBC and a petitioner who even attends the swearing in of the Nairobi governor [same register, same IEBC] challenging the same register??? Talk about double standards!!!

Oh. And I forgot. Same failed system - and manual tallying!
#53 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 11:09:22 PM

limanika wrote:

Exactly!!! This clearly shows the case had absolutely no direction. It was just throwing punches in the dark.

The last one shows the hypocrisy of the highest order. (Sworn in) Senators elected using the same register in an election conducted by the same IEBC and a petitioner who even attends the swearing in of the Nairobi governor [same register, same IEBC] challenging the same register??? Talk about double standards!!!

d'oh! d'oh!

#54 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 9:13:49 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
I would have been surprised if any judge voted for the petition.

Oraro (the good lawyer he is) did a good job of making a fist out of dust, and cast doubt on a matter that originally lacked substance.

In short, I don't think the Cord case had any merit.

Any way, election kwisha, Cord lost fairly, its not the end of the world. I hope they come up with a better plan in 2017...

Applause Applause
#55 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 10:21:46 AM

limanika wrote:

d'oh! d'oh!

Enyewe...Was a very tall order. Would have made sense if all CORD elected candidates declined to take up their posts under the pretext that it was all flawed...Lakini wapi...Hii ni Kenya...Matumbo mbele...
#56 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 10:47:37 AM

In my opinion unanimous decision means that this case should never have been filed. I wonder why the petitioner was not ordered to pay for all the costs as it normally happens.

#57 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 11:11:09 AM

limanika wrote:

d'oh! d'oh!

Enyewe...Was a very tall order. Would have made sense if all CORD elected candidates declined to take up their posts under the pretext that it was all flawed...Lakini wapi...Hii ni Kenya...Matumbo mbele...

Ditto. Wako, Orengo et al used to arrive very late to the SC court room,knew very well that the case was lacking in substance. Were sworn in on elections using the same register(s).

The only other verdict would have been that we have repeat general erections. The evidence given did not reach a threshold to warrant such a verdict (crarico errors). Nevertheless, the same Judiciary had sworn in Senators and MPs declared winners by same IEBC, hence would be shooting themselves on their own feet. Drool smile Applause d'oh!
#58 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 11:11:33 AM

i think the lawyers were good, even that was appreciated by the bench....they just didnt have a good case.
#59 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 11:38:22 AM

I think lawyer Oraro also let the petitioner down. He knew very well that he had one week to file his case, I even knew that and I'm far from being a lawyer so I don't get how he starts introducing that 900 pager four days after the deadline. I don't think that's a lawyer I'd want representing me. Anyway it's not like I can afford him.

#60 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 11:49:15 AM

I think lawyer Oraro also let the petitioner down. He knew very well that he had one week to file his case, I even knew that and I'm far from being a lawyer so I don't get how he starts introducing that 900 pager four days after the deadline. I don't think that's a lawyer I'd want representing me. Anyway it's not like I can afford him.

I think Jubilee were always a step ahead of CORD, they recruited 200,000 “well paid” agents (twice what CORD had) to watch over Uhuru’s votes at the over 30,000 polling stations across the country and gave them cameras to capture "any forms of electoral malpractice", especially in their opponents strongholds......guess who was their Chief Agent at Bomas, Fred Ngatia (Lead Counsel at the Supreme Court) so you can clearly see that there were well prepared for anything. Unlike Oraro who relied heavily on what was given to him by his clients CORD, Ngatia had a clear picture of what transpired at the polling stations and Bomas.
9 Pages«<45678>»