wazua Fri, Jun 26, 2026

The new govt structure
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 4:32:01 PM

@admin, I believe this does not violate any of your impossible-to-follow rules. If you must, ban me again but leave the post.

Just some 'civic education'. smile

Some misconceptions(from my layman reading of the constitution):

1.Senate is superior to, and stronger than the National Assembly

Article 93. Establishment of Parliament

(1) There is established a Parliament of Kenya, which shall consist of the National Assembly and the Senate.

The Senate is only tasked with legislation concerning counties. It cannot, for instance make amendments to the Traffic Act. On the other hand, the National Assembly can legislate on anything, including legislation affecting counties!

Further, the Senate will not participate in budget making and will only deal with allocation to counties.

The National Assembly will review the conduct of President, Deputy President and other state officers even removing them from office. The Presidency will need its support in declaring war or extending a state of emergency. For the Senate, the oversight role is limited to impeachment though the process has to be initiated by the national assembly.

Additionally, on the removal of the president on physical or mental incapacity, the National assembly does not need the approval of the senate in removing the president. By a simple majority(Article 144) the National Assembly could send the President packing!

2.The governor is more powerful than the president

How? I have heard people say this and I wonder where these powers are coming from.

The governor is bound by both national legislation and county legislation while the president is only bound by national laws.

The President has wide powers even when checked by parliament. The governor is just 'an exalted county council chairman' as Ruto once told us. The Fourth Schedule is clear on this. I find no major difference between what is contained there and what local authorities are currently mandated to do under the Local Govt Act.

Anybody with a different view?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 4:52:07 PM

Yaani umeweka hii kitu under health....kweli kuna chida!!!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 5:04:32 PM

Yaani umeweka hii kitu under health....kweli kuna chida!!!

Benefits of being 'user'smile
heavenly body
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 5:07:52 PM

@admin, I believe this does not violate any of your impossible-to-follow rules. If you must, ban me again but leave the post.

Just some 'civic education'. smile

Some misconceptions(from my layman reading of the constitution):

1.Senate is superior to, and stronger than the National Assembly

Article 93. Establishment of Parliament

(1) There is established a Parliament of Kenya, which shall consist of the National Assembly and the Senate.

The Senate is only tasked with legislation concerning counties. It cannot, for instance make amendments to the Traffic Act. On the other hand, the National Assembly can legislate on anything, including legislation affecting counties!

Further, the Senate will not participate in budget making and will only deal with allocation to counties.

The National Assembly will review the conduct of President, Deputy President and other state officers even removing them from office. The Presidency will need its support in declaring war or extending a state of emergency. For the Senate, the oversight role is limited to impeachment though the process has to be initiated by the national assembly.

Additionally, on the removal of the president on physical or mental incapacity, the National assembly does not need the approval of the senate in removing the president. By a simple majority(Article 144) the National Assembly could send the President packing!

2.The governor is more powerful than the president

How? I have heard people say this and I wonder where these powers are coming from.

The governor is bound by both national legislation and county legislation while the president is only bound by national laws.

The President has wide powers even when checked by parliament. The governor is just 'an exalted county council chairman' as Ruto once told us. The Fourth Schedule is clear on this. I find no major difference between what is contained there and what local authorities are currently mandated to do under the Local Govt Act.

Anybody with a different view?

Too long. Brevity please.
gesowan
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 8:26:13 PM

The governor is just 'an exalted county council chairman' as Ruto once told us. The Fourth Schedule is clear on this. I find no major difference between what is contained there and what local authorities are currently mandated to do under the Local Govt Act.

my list was deactivated
josiah33
#6 Posted : Monday, April 01, 2013 10:18:27 AM

When did @Lolest become a 'User'? I can't remember reading anything bad from him/her or what rules did he/she break?