maka wrote:McReggae wrote:radio wrote:If the court accepts the ongoing submission about exclusion rejected vote, will we still have a case?
The case starts after the ruling on the rejected votes!!!
Hii SC ikikubali sijui... The Constitution is very clear. Article 138 (4)(a) "A candidate shall be declared elected as President if the candidate recieves- more than half of ALL the votes cast in the election". What does ALL mean?
Agreed, ALL means ALL.
But what about a senators ballot finding its way into the presidential box?
And also, my receipt from Tuskys (where I had bought a packet of milk to keep me energised on the queue] that accidentally went into the ballot box.
Would the last two be considered part of the "ALL VOTES CAST"?
My view [and this is a VIEW, not an opinion!] is that these are foreign objects and are not votes!
Also; what is the difference between a vote and a ballot?
My view [not opinion]:
Ballot is the piece of paper bearing names of candidates and check boxes against each.
Vote is the mark placed by the elector on the ballot to indicate his/her choice.
In that case, then, if an elector marks against two candidates, does that count as two votes when determining the number of "ALL VOTES CAST"?
Now you see why we need the Supreme Court judges' help