wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

The Mpesa phenomenon
#21 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 2:21:00 PM

PONDI.......you must an expecrt on kiunjuri street

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
jmm
#22 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 7:34:00 PM

i think the 55 bob cost on mpesa is nothing to go by given the convinience these days i can pay my gardener at the comfort of my house i wonder when the church will embrace the mpesa service you can imagine paying sandaka from ur fone for sure thats where we are heading kip it up mj

tripple m
#23 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 5:09:00 AM

M-Pesa revenue is a drop in the lake for SCOM...not in the ocean!

Consider the statistics: approx 5m users,approx 50bob per transaction; allow three transactions per month on average [yeah,while some use it twice a week,there are also those who use it twice a year!]

Now do the math: 5m x 50 x 3 x 12 = sh9b

Sounds like a lot,but this is in a company whose turn-over is over 60b!!
Douvante
#24 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 6:04:00 AM

Note also that not all the total revenue of 9b is theirs,because the agents also get their share from it so safaricom income is just a portion.

Everything happens for a reason.
Iborian
#25 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 10:03:00 AM

Note Mpesa is charging Kshs 15 at least per KPLC pyt. Zain advertises that it does it for free. Similarly transfers via Zap are cheaper than those via Mpesa and yet as you can see from the calculations hear and even by MJ's own confession,Mpesa makes very little money for Safaricom. So,as usual it seems Zain is digging itself into a hole - thank God for the Arab Petrodollars - they may be in for more Kshs 7 billion losses at this rate on the Kenyan operation.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 10:34:00 AM

@ibor,scon makes a little more. When you pay your elec bill,you are charged ksh 15. KPLC is also charged upto ksh 35 on order for gross income to scon to come to ksh 50 per transaction. I know because my consultant friend discussed it with scon recently and they wanted ksh 50: so the consutant had to decide whether his client would pick up the whole tab or share with their customers.
Mkimwa
#27 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 4:14:00 PM

So far av heard Mpesa being used for:
- Paying bribes to the police.
- Paying dowry
- Paying for K-street services.
- Paying for bills,loan repayments
- Giving soft loans to friends and relatives.
- Paying the bar tender
- Paying for web-hosting/ domains.

So what have you used M-pesa for?

NB: I dont work for neither am i affiliated in any way to Safaricom,except as a subscriber. I am neither an agent,nor MJ's Cousin.
saitoti
#28 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 4:41:00 PM

Fundraising (obama style) in the on going SONU campaigns in UoN.

WE ARE ONE UNITED KENYA.
Goals
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 7:13:00 AM

We pay our casuals via Mpesa.

Soon companies will move to mpesa and Zap for salos.

'Success is the progressive realization of a worthy ideal...if you will only do each day the things you know you should do each day and do them as successfully as you possible can,you can rest assured that you will be successful all the years of your life.'
Earl Nightingale
the sage
#30 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 7:14:00 AM

A banker told me they are trying to fight MPESA to the end.

When processing of payrolls starts via MPESA some banks will be finished. If I were the small banks I would invest in Safaricom or try and partner with them to process currency exchanges or something like that.

In my opinion it is not a matter of if rather when.
#31 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 2:47:00 PM

Salos via mpesa is a loooong long shot coz it requires the employers and staff to play ball

Also it will require investment in IT by the participating employers....so unless MJ is opting to give that for free,bando tuko mbali

And then MJ will never give you a loan.......so how do you get a loan from a bank when you have no account with one?? Bando hapa tuko mbali

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
Fundaah
#32 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2009 6:02:00 AM

Instead of fighting Mpesa,banks should embrace it . Such that one can make a deposit through a Mpesa agent and then transfer it to his bank account at the comfort of his house,of course at a small fee.This will indeed reduce long queues at the banks.

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me? Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
The General
#33 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2009 6:24:00 AM

KCB

http://www.kcbbankgroup....p;id=538&Itemid=264

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.