wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

The Mpesa phenomenon
Fundaah
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 8:05:00 AM

Guys,things will be very thick for the banks in the near future.Mpesa in greatly influencing our way of lives.It is no longer business as usual for the banks.Now you can pay SME loans with Mpesa,light bills with mpesa.No more queues. With the current trends,don't you see some banks being redundant/defunct?

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me? Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
The General
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 8:18:00 AM

same thing that was running through my mind yesterday niki ota jua

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
The Real Shaft
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 8:43:00 AM

next..

we will be paying for dowry through mpesa.....

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
PONDI
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 9:05:00 AM

so... which banks previously derived a significant percentage of their incomes from 'bill payments'? and which bank CEO/MD is yapping the loudest?

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 9:15:00 AM

@Real Shaft,too late,that milestone was recorded in the dailies in March! The guys were 10k short and one of the guy's buddies requested if he could m-pesa the shortfall. One of the mzee's quickly acknowledged he had an mpesa a/c. Deal was sealed! If guys are paying for their pints via m-pesa in certin bars,the sky is really the limit. Whoever came up with this idea of virtual mone should receive some sort of prize,why lie...

#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 9:18:00 AM

Banks make money in other ways as well. Of course,Banker's chqs will become less relevant but you need banks for loans & make deposits... unless safaricom gets into the banking business.

*** Banks need to embrace M-Pesa & Zap... SCBK & Equity Bank are already doing so...

*** Banks can benefit from these services since no more 'fake' cheques. Just M-Pesa your loan payments or customer deposits!!!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Silk
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 9:34:00 AM

Mpesa might not be as cheap as we widely believe. MJ is a genius and he's laughing all the way. Sample this,someone sent me some cash and it was less 30/=. Then i had to be charged 25/= for withdrawal. In total,55/=. Whenever you send money,you are charged 30/= and this is what we widely ignore. Multiply all these transfers by 30 and safcom is making a kill. Should be cheaper,something like 10/= & then the withdrawal charges.

Life is too short.
franklinm3
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 9:59:00 AM

actually its not about it being cheap or expensive....its the conviniency ....if right now i can pay my elec bill from my phone...what else do i need?.. big up MPESA

dont believe what you hear until its being denied public ally.
gogeta
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 10:46:00 AM

mpaka ku-sort traffick police ni mpesa nowadays....Kudos MJ hata kama unaiba tu..but the convinience works for all of us..am sure!!!!!

Wisdom brightens a man's face and changes its hard appearance.Eccle 8:1
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
tonicasert
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 11:09:00 AM

True he's making a kill. But when you think of the traffic,fuel cost,mathree fare,waiting for someone at a restaurant to deliver some 10K; or Bank EFT charges; ..... guess the 55/- makes more sense as a win-win for all.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 11:23:00 AM

Zap tariffs are a fraction of Mpesa ones....
Layman
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 11:45:00 AM

whether you compare zap charges and m-pesa charges dont realy matter,we all pay for the conveniencs these products have brought. in any case,safcom have not forced anyone to use m-pesa or even stay with safcom,its all your choice. if zap is ten bob and you want to use it,go ahead and use,but how many pipo will you reach witha that zap,how many have zain simcards?

The future is already here!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 11:51:00 AM

layman,from zap you can send money to any line be it yu,orange or safcom....shida ya zap ni marketing,they even came up with the elec bill paying thingy but as usual safcom has hijacked it since they did not do proper marketing!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
Layman
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 11:54:00 AM

technology and compe is good,today i paid my electricity bill from my office desk using m-pesa,for free. I think KPLC will pay safcom something like a commision....

The future is already here!
Silk
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 12:03:00 PM

@ Layman,thought they said paying KPLC w'd cost 15/=. Nothing comes for free from MJ whether he's getting commission from elsewhere or not.

Life is too short.
The Real Shaft
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 12:08:00 PM

bar bills....???

boarding and lodging...???

who needs plastic anymore...

we have mpesa....

#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 1:07:00 PM

Wee... it will cost 10/- to pay KPLC... I am not sure who pays lakini the convenience is awesome. And KPLC gets its pesa chap-chap. PostaPay remits after 1 week.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
PONDI
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 1:30:00 PM

payer beware... if you pay koinange pirates with mpesa it would be disastrous,she/HE would have you name and number.... anyone smelll blackmail?

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
The Real Shaft
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 1:34:00 PM

when it comes to Kiunjuri street.....

you even dust off the fingerprints.....

#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 1:59:00 PM

@pondi check again. They only have your name...... the senders no is never disclosed. Zaps even better,they will only have your nickname.