kamau wa ngengi - mau mau OR homeguard?
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 7:31:00 AM

I say homeguard while the real mau mau were murdered pre & post 1963

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
kanda
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 7:49:00 AM

@vituvingi
kweli wewe vitu vingi. what does this have to do with anything. if you are still guessing the answer,then you are not a kenyan and hence have no bisiness asking the question in the first place!
Mainat
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 7:53:00 AM

Here is my uncollaborated conspiracy theory about Johnstone Kamau. Knowing the way a Briton's mind works,they realised they'd have to give Kenya independence sooner or later. But they needed somebody who could take care of their interests post-independence. Up stepped kenyatta who was given a cushy jail term in kapenguria to make him look like a warrior in exchange for giving him a free hand to rule Kenya as he wished (but keep it non-communist). And the rest is history...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
MADE
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 7:59:00 AM

This guy had nothing to do with Mau Mau. He was in fact a Black Englishman juz like Sir Charles. He never appreciated the Land freedom fighters......we all know this. Who distorted our motherland history?

It's not where yu are,but where yu want to be.
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
Tusker Baridi
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 8:02:00 AM

@mainat

And history is about to repeat inself as the older homeguards pass the batton to the neo homeguards aka Uhuru with the support of the marginalised masses. Dont you just love Kenyans,you steal from them a maindi choma,they lynch you instantly,you steal half of their arable land and they fall over each other to elect you MPigs,president etc. The bigger the loot the bigger the reward. So Kenyatta being the biggest thief of them all,the family gets rewarded with a monarchy. What smart people Kenyans are.
nanfor
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 8:06:00 AM

I am 100% convinced this is a social political issue that is about to explode all over Kenya. It does not take a genius to see that railway-uprooting thugs will soon graduate into mungikis.

However,I want to bring you a bit of Kenyan history. More specifically,the dismantling of the Kikuyu leadership structure that is the cause of most of these issues currently affecting Kenyans.

The Kikuyu democratic structure was divided among the Mutongoria,Njamba and Gitonga. There was then a last class of so-called lazy people called the Ahoi.  I think the names explain what they stood for.

It was impossible for Ahoi to be in the elder council unless they married into Gitonga families. If the Kihoi was intelligent enough,he could become a member of the council of elders albeit under Itonga.

The colonialist had to dismantle this system or they would fail. They did the same in the masaai,kalenjin and western communities to perfection.

Enter the missionary boys.

In case some of you are foolish,enough to think this is a Kikuyu phenomenon,then look at the list of missionary boys.

Moi,Njonjo,Majale (Julia Ojiambo),Johnstone Kamau wa Ngengi,Odinga,Nyong’o,Okondo,Awori,Ouko etc etc.

As you can see,they are still the who’s who in Kenya.

Let’s get Back to Ahoi

Ahoi were used for labour,security and other things that you see the mungiki doing. All to gain favour and hopefully be rewarded by marrying into the Gitonga.

Kenyatta was sent out as a muhoi only to return and marry into Gitonga for him to be accepted into the council of elders. Albeit under an Itonga in this case it is thought to have been Koinange. Now you know why he loved Koinange so much.

After independence,the Itonga took the big chunks of white land. The Ahoi were shipped to Rift Valley. There other Ahoi from Kalenjin and Masai were rewarded. These were Moi,Seroney and Towett.

Odinga was instrumental in this relocation of Ahoi’s from each and every tribe. Even in the coast you will find some Luo Ahoi. However,Tom Mboya,the blue eyed boy started sidelining him and that is when Odinga pretended to see the light.

I will not belabour history but you can see where I am heading. This mungiki thing is 1960’s redux.

The Gitonga are using the Ahoi again and the Ahoi will be dumped just as the Mau Mau were dumped.

By the way,Tusker,I can give you the exact same rundown for each and every tribe in Kenya. The white man systematically destroyed the African democratic structure and the Ahoi or missionary boys are about to do it again in every province in Kenya.

So I say again. Kenya will not be safe until we get rid of ALL and I mean each and every one of these guys who are still in parliament. They are the descendants of the Missionary Boys of Alliance High School.

kanda
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 8:13:00 AM

@MainaT
i am happy you have called it a conspiracy theory. actually there could be some truth in your theory. but i dont think the brits had hatched that plan so early. by the time they were taking kamau to kape,i think they were hoping to silence him.
Tusker Baridi
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 8:14:00 AM

@nanfor

Wow,so Agikuyu had a caste system? I learn something new everyday hapa SK. That explains a lot about our friends from the slopes,but be assured that the caste system still exists in Kikuyuland,ableit unnofficially.
nanfor
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 8:45:00 AM

History is a good teacher. But from comments on this board it is obvious there is something seriously amiss with the 8-4-4 system.

This is why you will find some people vehemently supporting Kenyans killing other Kenyans. After all if the poor fight,they will continue buying shares using SK ideas. Remember how the ahoi's were all hoodwinked into buying safaricom shares and even equity shares? They are buying them from Itonga.

And no Kenyatta was never in the Mau Mau whatever his family claims. He was just a muhoi who married into Itonga. same for Kibaki. Why do you think he holds press conferences?

By the way,all this information can be easily found at the Murumbi Museum. Instead of buying a booze,take some time and learn why you are so broke and the gov't doesn't do anything about things they would otherwise deal with.

#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 8:58:00 AM

TB,

Residents of Kileleswa or Donholm cannot refer to the people of Kibera or Korogocho as castes......There is a difference between class and caste.The former appears in all communities............On another note,there were no structural ruling system amongst the Gikuyu.Talk about a council whose membership was not structured as indicated elsewhere........That is a total misrepresentation......BTW,for those in the know,what is the meaning of the word KIHOI.....??....and as used does it make any sense?........huh??.

Guka wa bijuti...
nanfor
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 9:03:00 AM

sorry njunge I am not a kikuyu so cannot help you with proper terminology....However,I would suggest you talk to your elders. that was the governance structure.....It made me understand why some Kikuyu were 100% for killing each other and others were thinking of using the law as an effective weapon.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 9:06:00 AM

@TB

I would not call it a class system because class and socialism never went hand in hand. African socialism was practised. Even in China the party leader enjoys status. They had the landowners. The Landowners accommodated others eg Athaami and Ahoi. Athaami were people in transit - migrants. They were more respected. Ahoi were given land to till for free but had to leave once the owner sells or passed on. I think they were viewed as a lazy lot because they could also get free food. A modern day comparison is that lot that starts every sentence 'Ninataka serikali itupatie...' and the items might include 'ngodolo'

Fundamentals + Sentiments = Position
kanyambu
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 9:50:00 AM

@ maina t.........you are bright!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 10:31:00 AM

@Nanfor

Could you conclude on your history lesson,I don't see a problem with a person of lower class (Kibaki,Kenyatta) being president. Infact it makes sense that the low caste were sacrificed to learn from the Mzungu while the best in society retained their heritage.

But back to the present,how does all that tie with the present day mayhem,who does not want kenya to do well and why?

For me the current problems we are facing relate to only one thing,central governance.

The gava has accumulated all power yet they are not able to manage or wield it properly.

Example;

Supposing Kirinyaga/Karatina had a Sherrif who was a local and took ownership of the security burden in the area,would those 26-37 people have died? answer NO.

Return to our Kenya now,where Kiraithe's fat face appears on TV and goes on to spout rubbish about investigations blah.. blah. chances are kiraithe has never even been to Karatina/Kirinyaga.

Forget about the caste,class and derogatory references to people. The problems are here,now and they need to be solved practically. The gava of the day has to step up and do its work and in the long run,we as kenyans need to think about re-formating our system of governance.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 11:18:00 AM

@Mainat,huyo nani anasema wewe bright? The word is uncorroborated,not uncollaborated!!!
nanfor
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 12:11:00 PM

Obi,

Once people know what is biting them then they can find the tools to remove it. I have not used any derogotary terms. These are the terms that are used in the community. All I did was lead you to where this cancer of Kenyans wishing to tear into each other like fools is coming from. I am one of the many who believed that the past has no bearing on the present. I was wrong.

After I perused through the present parliament and leaders and the 1960's gov't and leaders,I realised that I have been hoodwinked,and bamboozled all my life. Kumbe there is a serius class warfare going around in Kenya. The sad thing is that it has come to a head.

The african and especially the Kikuyu system worked and worked well. When Jomo said watu wasome,he wanted people to get out of the Ahoi and Athaami class and stop begging all the time. Watching TV in Kenya will show you that it never ended. As fundamental rightfully put it 'nataka serekali syndrome'.

The Ahoi Mentality

The Kenyan mentality is Ahoi. We want to be given. We do not want to do anything for ourselves. We want the gov't to come and help us. We want the media,Obama,God,someone. As long as it is not us. The Itonga know this and will keep us there.

The poor people in Nyeri and other mungiki infested areas are just about to 'Omba serikali itusaidie'. The question was asked as why the gov't won't do anything about it. The answer is,the Itonga will let you rot before they can make you see.

The so called revolution when Moi was removed was a fake revolution. Moi said so himself. He realised before we did that this was Mau Mau vs Kanu part 2 and guess who won that one.

The Second Revolution

The real revolution started last year during the PEV's. The Itonga in all regions organised their ahoi and wrecked havoc in the country. Soon they met and everything went back to normal. The Itonga went back to their property,the Athamaki went back to preaching,while the Ahoi and Athaami had nowhere to go.

The question is,will the AHOI who were used since 2007 continue being used as the Mau Mau were used? What will the ahoi in the form of the chikorokoro,mungiki,mursit drinkers,and railway haters do this time? What will you do this time? Continue working in your Njamba existence as the Itonga and Atongoria continue to rape you silly?

The white man knew that the best way to beat this system was to learn better systems. He was right. The only way to break this is if Kenyans,decide that it is time to break this class system. Use law and order. Create laws which will punish mutongoria as harshly as muhoi.

Obi,if the gov't is composed of the Itonga,they will NOT help the muhoi.

Are You a Muhoi,Njamba,Muthaami,Gitonga,Muthamaki,Murogi?

It is up to the muhoi to challenge the Gitonga and his only option is through the law. I am currently reading the two proposed constitutions. It seems to me there was something there that no one wanted to talk about. If the Muhoi uses uncouth methods to smoke out the mungiki,he will go back to being a muhoi.

The rule of law is the only way out as other developed countries have done in the past. Identify the mungiki,identify the Itonga who supply them,get rid of them in one day. Kikulacho ki.......
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:11:00 PM

Wacha upuzi...

There are many SKerians who have no sense of the REALITY of the hegemony introduced during kenyatta's days. When I was a kid,kamau was venerated like a god. Only later did I learn that kamau was nothing but a thief.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:21:00 PM

@Nanfor

By nataka serikali itufanyie' you mean the poor. Poverty is not unique to kenya,its synonymous with human kind. The poor are in Americas,Asia,Europe and all over Africa.

The burden of poverty is one for the entire society and this has been the case even in our traditional african societies. The only reason poverty is less obvious in the west is coz the gava's have recognized their duty and through a collective effort of their citizenry have managed to limit its impact.

The Kirinyaga/Karatina people did their best to counter the Mungiki but they obviously are incapable,is it not right for them to ask the govt which taxes them and claims to represent them to step in? Whether the gava heeds their cries is irrelevant,whats important is that they demand for the gava to keep its part of the deal.

Serikali lazima ifanye. They have no choice because they are in a contract with the citizenry,we pay taxes and they provide public service,this includes security,education and healthcare for all.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
nanfor
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 2:13:00 PM

@Obi,Poverty is not Ahoi mentality. I know many people who work hard to get their dues. I the word is Muhoi.....It has nothing to do with poverty.
Mpinzani
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 6:32:00 PM

This analogy really adds up... I would term the Ahoi's as being labourers who are not enlightened enough to think of better means to sustain themselves other than toil the same route for the 1 dollar a day earnings that like 40 % of Kenyans fall in. We have them in every region of the country and they are the ones mainly used to keep the ruling class in status.
The extremely rich who are mainly in cohorts with ruling class create a false mentality that the labourers can't live without them,therefore the need to keep the status quo in place for everybodys survival; hence the need to have the organs (the mungikis,talibans and other hooligan organizations) to look out for the rich and the ruling class. Use of uncouth ways to eliminate one group leads to the creation of another group which the rich and ruling class can easily manipulate to look out for them... Case example when Mungiki was encrouching some parts of Nairobi where Taliban was in control,they were welcomed by the people there because they brought a sense of order and safety from the ruling taliban group; only for them to turn out to be worse after they grew into a bigger group. Realise that they all initially call themselves vigilante groups,eliminate the current organ in uncouth ways and they eventually get entangled in the rich and ruling class politics.

We need enlightenment of every Kenyan for their personal benefit in terms of understanding their ability to be innovative,not to get stuck on the 1 dollar route. Also to establish and follow the rule of law.
The government should be in place to establish structures for the well being of it's citizens and not to give hand outs. Central government or not,it wouldn't be viable to rely on hand outs. In the U.S they do give hand outs to the poor,section 8,food
stamps e.t.c for people in the low income bracket. The condition for handouts is for one to earn under a certian annual amount and you'll see able people intentionally not
working so as to stay under the cap to receive handouts...

Kenya is establishing a big middle class group who should be running the show and not seating on the bench just because they are not really affected provided they have their jobs. We need to enlighten every Kenyan,because the almost half population of labourers will continuously be used to serve the interests of the mere numbers of the ruling and extremely rich. We get those who get out of the labourers loop and get into bed with the status of the ruling,they continue with the order instead of trying to eliminate the loop. That's why we are seeing some of the so called law makers who came from humble beginnings and became Lawyers,Professors,Engineers e.t.c and are now in power and one would think they are just another hawker from the verbal garbage they produce.

Maskini akipata,matako hulia mbwata.