wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

mukiha =jammo
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 1:47:00 PM

@Njung'e:

Which PLCs do you have?
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 1:50:00 PM

It baffles me how guys get it wrong so often. Mukiha,mlefu,njung'e,wendz,willing2learn,ecstacy must be over 40,infact,mlefu is Young's agemate. Jammo,sasha,leona...27-28.... etc etc. Impunity must be sub 30 too. My buddy Mtibe??? This info leaks here polepole. Now I knw im not the only one with a bad memory he he! Btw mukiha,u r busted!

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
Fundaah
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 1:56:00 PM

Njung'e,I will try to think without the box when the owner unlocks it

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me?

Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#24 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 2:13:00 PM

@Mukiha,

There are quite a variety and well......I don't know how you categorise them but that particular one was a Fuji Compact.......Does it say something?...

Guka wa bijuti...
#25 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 2:24:00 PM

@Njung'e:

I thought I was an expert,lakini hiyo sija isikia!!!

But 'we' categorise them thus:-

Up to 50 IOs = Micro (or simply Logic Module - Like the Unitronics Jazz)
50 to 200 IOs = Mini
Over 200IOs = Large (Like the Siemens S7-400 that takes about 16,000 IOs)

I guess your Fuji has just a few IOs (about 30). That's why they call it 'compact.'.

I guess you don't have it programming S/W; do you?
adept
#26 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 2:25:00 PM

Nonsense!

These are 2 very different users.

It is very easy to tell when the same person is using 2 identities esp. if he/she is a regular contributor.

The simplest ways to do so is to look for patterns in writing styles and not necessarily content. Look at the grammar,paragraphing,sentence structure,tone etc.

On a blog,writing styles are at the same level as fingerprints.

Even if I create a fake identity today and try and use a different style,as long as I am a regular contributor,I can't hide it for long. It is just a matter of time before my real style pops out.

There are people with more than 1 profile on SK but mukiha and jammo is not the same person. Wacha upus!
#27 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 2:28:00 PM

@Kabz
Heheee! i've never seen such a misplaced post. You got all those ages WRONG! Fanya research...or better still...you pay me nikupe leakage.Lol

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#28 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 2:29:00 PM

@Simonkabz

hahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are so right about the age,simonk!!!!!!!! but in 2 yrs time,you need to change mine..... at least the 'over' bit...

Willin2learn,Mlefu,Njung'e,ecstacy - I know you guys must be clocking kindu 58........ Thats for sure.... confess.... hehehehehehe... Ati Mlefu is over 40 and still wants my younger sis... Ushindwe Kabisa!!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Djinn
#29 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 2:32:00 PM

Mukiha,I tend to disagree abt it being easy to get a foot in the door with NMG....I HAVE been published by them (and Standard and a couple others papers and mags) but once I had an idea for a column - I shared this with the Magazine's editor (and even with one of the editors at the East African who is a long time friend).....now someone else is writing that column. I have an email in my inbox which proves my column idea pre-dated,by at least two months,the commencement of that column - FATHERHOOD 101. With all due respect to whoever writes it now....1)It should have been mine 2)it would be much more amusing and everyone would REALLY relate to it.

Anyway,when I heard the rumours abt impropriety amongs directors/editors/management at nation centre,I asked myself....who do I have to sleep with to get a column done? Right now its better to toss out Saturday Mag,Buzz,Zookq,etc and instead log on to SK. I must say guys,reading these posts,whether its the more weighty and analytical....or the inane...or the hilarious....still makes a far better read - one actually carries away something (knowledge,insights or hurting ribs).

So,I salute SK guys (most of you). Obi Wan...give it a shot eitherway.....you could be lucky.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#30 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 2:41:00 PM

@Mukiha,

I ain't an expert PLCs but i work with them alot.........You would be interested in the S/W??......Someone handles that stuff and am not sure if it's available but i will find out and come back to you.

Guka wa bijuti...
#31 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2009 9:44:00 PM

@Mukiha

I don't think what you suggested will work for me,I don't want to be just another writer,I have something in mind to do with finance,economics etc. I find the current depth of finance literature in our dailies quite wanting. Many people here (Mukiha included) could do a better job.

Plus now that I am away from my family I tend to have some time to myself that I believe could be better used.

The income is secondary at this point,a column in any major newspaper would have synergies with what I currently do and that by itself will enhance my stock.

But are you saying I just mail the write-up to the editor? Will I get feedback either way ama he will pull a Djinn's Fatherhood 101 on me.

By the way I like that column sana,pole Djinn.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#32 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 4:04:00 AM

Eeeeh! Wendz and leona,u mean im that wrong? Whatever happened to honesty?? Btw yako leona ni korrect,kataa! Read in some post that I came to nairobi when u could make money out of banana fibre. Was this 1940 ama.... hahahahaaa!

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
Mainat
#33 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 4:54:00 AM

Obi-why not start your own business blog and stick it http://kenyaunlimited.com/feed.php kenyanbloggers' website? I am sure if you have unique business insights,guys will flock there.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#34 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 5:06:00 AM

@Ob 1:

Despite Djin's experience,That's exactly how I started.

My advise would be 'don't try to run before you can walk'. That is,before requesting for a regular column,you must first prove to the editors that you can write good articles. So,write one full article and send to 'THE EDITOR,XYZ NEWSPAPER'. If it is interesting,they will publish...and pay you for it.

Do this at least once a month for a few months,then increase your frequency gradually....eventually,if you are indeed a good writer,they might just invite you to do a week column.

On the other hand,you could now (after proving that you are a good writer) propose a weekly column.

Proposing a column idea when you writing skills are not proven will not get you anywhere!!
#35 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 5:17:00 AM

.....but if it is contacts you want: NMG group managing editor is Joseph Odindo,Daily Nation's managing editor is Mutuma Mathiu,EastAfrican's managing editor is Ali Zaidi.......

But trust me,these guys want to boost their circulation,therefore if you are not a good writer,they will not print your pieces....even if you are their brother!

That's why BD need's a change of guard right at the top...because the current managing editor does not know what good business writing is all about!!
AMG
#36 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 5:51:00 AM

@Mukiha and @Jammo are 2 different people but brilliant minds nevertheless.

@mukiha,I'm a peeping tom,I once did some 'research' to find out the people behind the sk names. I was pleasantly surprised to find out who you are. Some time back I had keen interest in PLCs,I sought for someone who works in that line of trade. . . managed to talk to someone else (who happened to be your partner!). We have 6 degrees of separation I tell you! I love your articles on the dailies,brilliant!
Fundaah
#37 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 6:17:00 AM

I'm now convinced that the two are quite different.Mukiha is a PLC major while Jammo is a stocks guru.At least we have learnt something from the thread.You can become a writer first by writing to the Editor and later negotiating for a column,is n't is good?

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me?

Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#38 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 6:41:00 AM

@Fundah,

PLCs are just one line for Mukiha.He is a jack of many trades..

Guka wa bijuti...
jammo
#39 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:00:00 AM

@fundaah... mukiha=jammo? That is quite an honor! Albeit fact u are terribly wrong. But thank u.

DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
sokomjinga
#40 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:55:00 AM

Mukiha ni Hakimu wapi?

Do not wait to be told. Seek and you will find ...
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....