wazua Thu, Jan 1, 2026

71 Pages«<3031323334>»
IEBC Official Results - Form 36 - Bomas of Kenya
#621 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:45:25 PM

Shotgun wrote:
Btw, what is the difference between numbers and figures?

This is a number; 4

This is a figure:
#622 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:49:03 PM

mukiha wrote:
Shotgun wrote:

This is a number; 4

This is a figure:

Back to bomas people.....
#623 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:51:44 PM

Behemoth wrote:
mukiha wrote:
The GAP doesn't matter!!

The important magical figure is 5,884,544

Hit that and you are our next president without a run-off. It won't matter what the other guys get or how many are rejected!

HOW DO I GET THAT?

FACT: there are 14,352,545 voters

ASSUMPTION: the average 82% turnout will be maintained through out.

Therefore: 82% of 14,352,545 is 11,769,086.9 - this will be the total votes cast, including rejected votes.

50% of 11,769,086.9 is 5,884,543.45.

Constitution says winner must get "more than half of all the votes cast in the election" (I don't know where people got "50% plus one" from!!!)

Since fractional votes are not possible, we ROUND UP the 5,884,543.45 to get 5,884,544

Watch the tally and keep that magic number in mind.

They both mean the same. 50% plus 1 vote is much more precise n clear.It is the minimum by which one can win.

Suppose there are 9 votes cast

50% = 4.5
50% + 1 = 5.5
Rounding this to the nearest whole number gives 6

But; "more than half" simply means more than 4.5, which is 5.

Now do you see the difference?

Shame on you In comparing the two, you should have either rounded off to the nearest whole number for BOTH or left BOTH in decimal. Pls do it it & share the result.

Suppose there are 9 votes cast

50% = 4.5
50% + 1 = 5.5
(Rounding this to the nearest whole number gives 6)

But; "more than half" simply means more than 4.5, which is 4.5 + 1 as the least unit is 1. = 5.5 (Rounding this to the nearest whole number gives 6)

Now do you see there is no difference?

I have a question for you: is 5 more thaN half of 9?

Answer yes or no please.
#624 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:53:25 PM

This goes to the wire.
#625 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:53:45 PM

You guys are taking us back to BODMAS and we are at BOMAS!
Behemoth
#626 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:54:53 PM

Applause Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Eagles don't flock, you have to find them one at a time.
Behemoth
#627 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:56:26 PM

This goes to the wire.

What is going to the wire? Ama "wire" ni nini in this context?
Eagles don't flock, you have to find them one at a time.
mnandii
#628 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:56:49 PM

Douglas Waithaka ‏@waforest
Ruto txt to Kalonzo ''Utahama lini,nataka kuanza kupaka nyumba rangi'' #CHOICE2013 #DECISION2013
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
IT'd
#629 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:57:59 PM

more than half simply means 50% plus any number of decimal places greater than o hii mambo ya is 5 more than half of 9 hai!
mnandii
#630 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:58:25 PM

Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#631 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 12:58:40 PM

#632 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:00:35 PM

mlefu wrote:
classic

Forester wrote:
Nithii votes zinacome, be patient...

ROFLMAO!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#Dead and buried#
eti ziko mixed na miraa!! my ribs!! damn.

Ikipiga corner ya tatu Utacheki Isaac Hassan ametoklezea kwa podium. Bomas here we come!!

mnandii
#633 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:04:36 PM

12:50 A three judge bench has been appointed to hear a petition seeking to stop the vote count. A ruling on whether the High Court has jurisdiction will be delivered at 3.30pm.
kamundu
#634 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:08:01 PM

more than half means just that, even 50.000000000000000000000000000000000000001% is more than half
Peace in our Homeland.
Shotgun
#635 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:09:16 PM

mukiha wrote:
Shotgun wrote:

This is a number; 4

This is a figure:

Haha. sawa.

#636 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:11:03 PM

mnandii wrote:
12:50 A three judge bench has been appointed to hear a petition seeking to stop the vote count. A ruling on whether the High Court has jurisdiction will be delivered at 3.30pm.

Will they be overtaken by events?
mnandii
#637 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:11:37 PM

I just pray for peace though. This tension is not good.Pray
Bishop
#638 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:12:36 PM

Any results for the following constituencies

LUNGALUNGA
RABAI
GARSEN
LAFEY
MOYALE
NORTH HORR
SAKU
ISIOLO NORTH
ISIOLO SOUTH
MANYATTA
MWINGI WEST
KANGUNDO
MWALA
KIBWEZI WEST
KIBWEZI EAST
KACHELIBA
NAROK NORTH
KHWISERO
TESO SOUTH
GEM
NDHIWA
WEST MUGIRANGO
mnandii
#639 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:14:38 PM

mnandii wrote:

Will they be overtaken by events?

Possible. At the same time we can't afford any delay in knowing who won whether the process was transparent or not. At least the supreme court can determine any issues afterwards.
wajuguna
#640 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2013 1:16:39 PM

Anybody with the latest percentages?