wazua Sun, Feb 23, 2025

daughters to inherit father's land
Fundaah
#1 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 6:22:00 AM

according to the new land policy daughters will be entitled to equal share with sons on their fathers' land........Will family land feuds ever end......... especially with the male chauvinistic society we have in Kenya ?

Would you accept your married sister to get equal share of your fathers inheritance?

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
PONDI
#2 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 6:28:00 AM

i think this was long overdue. the one time my mzee brought up this topic i put up a case for equal sharing of whatever he leaves behind na sis. he was shocked...still is... bure sana hii wazee

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
#3 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 6:59:00 AM

Maybe the question should be...can the men here(on SK) share their land equally amongst their sons and daughters?

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
gk
#4 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 7:05:00 AM

..actually from a simplistic point,it should be a zero sum game

...coz your wife would also inherit from his paros in the same manner your sisters will share in your paros mali.
PONDI
#5 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 7:13:00 AM

@gk... aii can you compare and contrast say moi family and pondi family?? pondi family pengine ni shamba tu ile iko ushago. moi family requires the expertise of several reputable professionals.. just to quantify! i will share 50-50 na my sis...iwe carpet,iwe choo... yote ni 50-50!!

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
#6 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 7:27:00 AM

This issue is all in people's mind as a tradition... in my family,my aunt,who is my dad's sister was married with 6 kids,the husband had a piece of land and my grandpa,when subdividing to his sons included her too. a piece equal to all others was also given to my grandmother too and he left some piece for him to sell so that he wont have to bother anyone with his medical and daily needs... None of my uncles even raised a finger over the issue though they neighbours thought it was strange...

That is my grandpa,not even my dad's generation. When we were growing up,my dad kept saying that all his properties will be subdivided equally to all his kids whether the gals are married or not.... well,not that i am looking up to his property because if i had a sibling who was not well-off,i would gladly forfeit my share for him or her,just to say that its something that can be done and is being done by others,we just need people to change their attitudes.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
mv ufanisi
#7 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 7:30:00 AM

This is getting more obsolete as we start having only one or two kids per family in Kenya. Equality is already here with us. Only in families with lots of kids does this question come up. And I've always thought it's better to make your money than piggy back on your parents' assets.
luttz
#8 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 7:50:00 AM

@ Leona,

I already have it in my will,all my assets will be shared equally amongst my children without any discrimination on the basis of sex.

@ Wendz,

I admire that. I decided not to inherit any land from my dad. I have followed my own path,have bought my own land and other assets and now my bros keep fighting over the old man owns. Our attitudes need to change,we need to appreciate that we are all equal at least before our parents,if anything its men who keep messing up their dad's health when they are supposed to be enjoying their sunset years.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."