wazua Tue, Nov 19, 2024

Due Diligence when Buying a House
ali
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:28:03 PM

Team
I know you are probably focused on politics. Allow me to divert your attention for a brief moment.
When buying/acquiring a house, what due diligence checks should one undertake?
And assuming the buyer has no technical experience whatsoever…e.g he knows not how to tell a professionally built house from one that I not.
Any issue that one may need check before committing his/her hard earned cash….
Thanks in advance for ideas.

lennyirungu@yahoo.com
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#2 Posted : Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:33:44 PM

Weka kwa investors section to get serious and quick attention from VJ,Marty,Young etc because they are not active members of clubsk.
ali
#3 Posted : Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:39:07 PM

Weka kwa investors section to get serious and quick attention from VJ,Marty,Young etc because they are not active members of clubsk.

thanks
Lady Admin, please hamisha mimi.......
Marty and Team......VJ, etc, saidieni hapa
#4 Posted : Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:54:49 PM

ali wrote:

thanks
Lady Admin, please hamisha mimi.......
Marty and Team......VJ, etc, saidieni hapa

lady admin is fasting at Uhuru park so you have to wait till Tuesday.
Annti_Christy
#5 Posted : Sunday, February 24, 2013 1:26:59 PM

Kwani you think here you cant get advice? Why are you asking to be raptured away?
Light Bearer
ali
#6 Posted : Sunday, February 24, 2013 2:29:30 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:
Kwani you think here you cant get advice? Why are you asking to be raptured away?

Gees...Annti_Christy....is that your name??????????

by ze way, whenever i can get help, ni sawa. Hata kama ni Health section ni sawa.
#7 Posted : Sunday, February 24, 2013 3:40:03 PM

ali wrote:
Annti_Christy wrote:

Gees...Annti_Christy....is that your name??????????

by ze way, whenever i can get help, ni sawa. Hata kama ni Health section ni sawa.

Simply beat admin at her own game.Start a thread in the relevant section and see the response.The investors in wazua have no idea how this club looks like
#8 Posted : Monday, February 25, 2013 2:19:30 PM

As we wait for admin to take you to the property section,visit the nsoko website and go to the section on property where you will find a 10 point checklist to be followed when buying a house done by @Marty's student.
Annti_Christy
#9 Posted : Monday, February 25, 2013 2:49:06 PM

At least you now know your prayers will not be answered here.
Light Bearer
Vj
#10 Posted : Monday, February 25, 2013 10:17:20 PM

1. First carry out a search at the lands registry. This should identify the owner of the land, the size and any caveats/cautions on the land upon which the house sits on.
2. Get a copy of the land owners id card and verify his identity at the registrar of persons, just to make sure you are not dealing with a conman.
3. Ask for the city council and NEMA approvals to ensure the project has been cleared by the relevant legal authorities.
4. Assessing the structural strengths of a house can be challenging for a layman but you should look at the concrete works before plastering e.g slabs, columns and beams. If they appear honeycombed it is a sign of poor concreting.
5. Check to see if the wood in the roof is treated, ideally it should be a greenish/blue color.
6. To see if tiles were fixed properly, tap them with a key and if you hear hollow sounds it indicates poorly laid tiles which will start cracking upon impact.
7. Pour a bucket of water in the bathrooms to ensure that the slopes are going in the right directions, you don’t want puddles remaining.

I could end up writing a very long list that might not be particularly helpful, can you please be a bit more specific in the issues you need to be addressed.
Before you can be be old and wise, you must first be young and stupid.
#11 Posted : Monday, February 25, 2013 11:45:15 PM

Grow into your houses.

My first bachelor pad was a tiny two bedroom affair. Me and a girlfriend, kwisha manenosmile Change is constant. Waistline grows, need for a bigger house. Ultimate goal is a farm house and a holiday home. I'm almost there.

Thing is don't get too attached to your first house. Have the bigger picture in perspective and grow into it.

Marty
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 26, 2013 9:46:52 AM

Vj wrote:
1. First carry out a search at the lands registry. This should identify the owner of the land, the size and any caveats/cautions on the land upon which the house sits on.
2. Get a copy of the land owners id card and verify his identity at the registrar of persons, just to make sure you are not dealing with a conman.
3. Ask for the city council and NEMA approvals to ensure the project has been cleared by the relevant legal authorities.
4. Assessing the structural strengths of a house can be challenging for a layman but you should look at the concrete works before plastering e.g slabs, columns and beams. If they appear honeycombed it is a sign of poor concreting.
5. Check to see if the wood in the roof is treated, ideally it should be a greenish/blue color.
6. To see if tiles were fixed properly, tap them with a key and if you hear hollow sounds it indicates poorly laid tiles which will start cracking upon impact.
7. Pour a bucket of water in the bathrooms to ensure that the slopes are going in the right directions, you don’t want puddles remaining.

I could end up writing a very long list that might not be particularly helpful, can you please be a bit more specific in the issues you need to be addressed.

Nice advice. In addition it pays to get a professional eye to check out the house. An architect or anyone with indepth knowledge of construction should help come up with a snag list so that the developer will fix any defect (functional) within the usual 6 months upon occupation.

Insist also on completion certificate from the relevant council coz it is usually an indicator of inspections compliance.

Any further specific queries, we can advise.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
ali
#13 Posted : Monday, March 04, 2013 1:16:01 PM

Vj wrote:

kweli you know the stuff. By the way, all the above (apart from kumwaga maji and tapping the woodwork) has been done. All turned out fine. even original kenya survey map, Greencard, etc.
ali
#14 Posted : Monday, March 04, 2013 1:17:37 PM

Grow into your houses.

My first bachelor pad was a tiny two bedroom affair. Me and a girlfriend, kwisha manenosmile Change is constant. Waistline grows, need for a bigger house. Ultimate goal is a farm house and a holiday home. I'm almost there.

Thing is don't get too attached to your first house. Have the bigger picture in perspective and grow into it.

Thanks but,that option has been ruled out.