Debrief: 2nd Presidential Debate
Bwana Kenmac You don't seem to want to listen to "squatters" do you? What you have been quoting above is the "historical injustices" that Kenyans fight about every 5yrs. The "squatters" claim that the never sold any land to any mzungu. After all they never knew what a title deed meant. All they knew were their traditions where if someone died, his children inherited what they owned. Now somewhere during independence and after, some clever Kenyans "bought" land from the former "owners" and the "law" ended up calling those who used to bury their families on those lands "squatters". That is the crux of land issues in the whole of Kenya. From coast province to Central to Rift Valley. The day that will be accepted in this country will be the beginning of the end of land issues. Last night was a beautiful day for Kenya and one that led us to solving our issues. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,824 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
SUPER SHOCKED MUITE SUPPORTERS WATCHING THE DEBATE LIVE  Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
@alma, I am not a UK supporter but to be honest Kenyans care less about facts but more about tribal sentiment. The debate was largely useless in as far as swaying opinions goes and largely served to confirm the status quo!UK & RAO still the leading contenders. I was appalled by the low quality of questions. Instead of arguing about UK's land, KKV, Molasses why don't we ask these guys tell us they will fund the nice stadiums they have on billboards, free healthcare or 1m jobs. That's more useful!
kenmac wrote:FACT:
Taita Taveta County land area is about 17,000 sq km of land. 11,000 sq m, about 2.7 million acres is designated for the Tsavo East and Tsavo West National parks that are home to the widest variety of natural wildlife created. The remaining 6,000 sq km about 1.5 million acres is made up of ranches and settlements.
Kenyatta family owns(30k/4.2m) or 0.007% of the land that is settled on.
0.007%....Nope: Total land: 16975 Sq km Tsavos: 11100 Sq km Balance: 5875 Sq km Uhuru's 30k acres approximately 121 Sq km...figures from TNA chairman Sakaja on twitter! ....comes to about 2.06% of the land settled on, more if you consider arable land!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Kausha wrote:@alma, I am not a UK supporter but to be honest Kenyans care less about facts but more about tribal sentiment. The debate was largely useless in as far as swaying opinions goes and largely served to confirm the status quo!UK & RAO still the leading contenders. I was appalled by the low quality of questions. Instead of arguing about UK's land, KKV, Molasses why don't we ask these guys tell us they will fund the nice stadiums they have on billboards, free healthcare or 1m jobs. That's more useful! Kausha, I don't care much who you support. I would like you to vote for Dida, PK, Kiyapi thought. Your low quality of questions may matter to you but not to the person in Mombasa who has to beg an mzungu for permission to go from one part of the beach to another. Yet he's told that his great grand father was buried somewhere, mle ndani. The reason it is important to talk about this issue is so that we can gauge the sincerity of the people you are electing. Dida asked a very pertinent question. How do you expect a thief to tell you he has stolen? So if you know someone has acquired their wealth in croocked ways, as most of the people on the stage last night, how do you expect him to actualise a 100 page manifesto? If someone has stolen before and gotten away with it, how do you expect him to be truthful tommorow about the grand 10 point plans in 100 days? That is the issue and that is what was being asked last night. If I told you my manifesto, you would fall on the ground with wonder. But my history should tell you that I'm lying and have no intention of doing anything I promise I will do. For Dida we pray. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
McReggae wrote:kenmac wrote:FACT:
Taita Taveta County land area is about 17,000 sq km of land. 11,000 sq m, about 2.7 million acres is designated for the Tsavo East and Tsavo West National parks that are home to the widest variety of natural wildlife created. The remaining 6,000 sq km about 1.5 million acres is made up of ranches and settlements.
0.007%....Nope: Total land: 16975 Sq km Tsavos: 11100 Sq km Balance: 5875 Sq km Uhuru's 30k acres approximately 121 Sq km...figures from TNA chairman Sakaja on twitter! ....comes to about 2.06% of the land settled on, more if you consider arable land!!!! Depends whether you divide by 4.2m or 1.5m. But 2% is still minor to blame UK for squatters predicament. Care to find out who is settling on 98% of the land?
kenmac wrote:McReggae wrote:kenmac wrote:FACT:
0.007%....Nope: Total land: 16975 Sq km Tsavos: 11100 Sq km Balance: 5875 Sq km Uhuru's 30k acres approximately 121 Sq km...figures from TNA chairman Sakaja on twitter! ....comes to about 2.06% of the land settled on, more if you consider arable land!!!! Depends whether you divide by 4.2m or 1.5m. But 2% is still minor to blame UK for squatters predicament.Care to find out who is settling on 98% of the land? Kenmac, is that your opinion? Have you asked the squatters their opinion on who is to blame for their predicament? Please take a trip there one of these fine days. Then come and tell us that "the squatters there believe the 2% is too little to affect them. They are happy being squatters since only 0.007% of their land is owned by someone else." Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:kenmac wrote:McReggae wrote:kenmac wrote:FACT:
0.007%....Nope: Total land: 16975 Sq km Tsavos: 11100 Sq km Balance: 5875 Sq km Uhuru's 30k acres approximately 121 Sq km...figures from TNA chairman Sakaja on twitter! ....comes to about 2.06% of the land settled on, more if you consider arable land!!!! Depends whether you divide by 4.2m or 1.5m. But 2% is still minor to blame UK for squatters predicament.Care to find out who is settling on 98% of the land? Kenmac, is that your opinion? Have you asked the squatters their opinion on who is to blame for their predicament? Please take a trip there one of these fine days. Then come and tell us that "the squatters there believe the 2% is too little to affect them. They are happy being squatters since only 0.007% of their land is owned by someone else." Yes, it is my opinion after interacting with several households from Taita and Taveta. A week ago, I traversed Taita Taveta county specifically Wundanyi, Mwatate, Taveta, Chala and Njukini among other areas. In Wundanyi, the most productive part of Taita, the average land owned by each household is approx 1 acre. In mwatate, the land is slightly bigger, but too dry. same for taveta. Most of the land was open for grazing goats and cattle.
alma wrote:kenmac wrote:McReggae wrote:kenmac wrote:FACT:
0.007%....Nope: Total land: 16975 Sq km Tsavos: 11100 Sq km Balance: 5875 Sq km Uhuru's 30k acres approximately 121 Sq km...figures from TNA chairman Sakaja on twitter! ....comes to about 2.06% of the land settled on, more if you consider arable land!!!! Depends whether you divide by 4.2m or 1.5m. But 2% is still minor to blame UK for squatters predicament.Care to find out who is settling on 98% of the land? Kenmac, is that your opinion? Have you asked the squatters their opinion on who is to blame for their predicament? Please take a trip there one of these fine days. Then come and tell us that "the squatters there believe the 2% is too little to affect them. They are happy being squatters since only 0.007% of their land is owned by someone else." @Alma, What Kenmac is trying show here is that the issue of land has been over politicized. Even if Kenyatta family gave the 0.007% (or 2 % excluding national reserves) land they own in Taita taveta, this will not solve the squatter problem, as it is insignificant given the problem.
A structured legal arrangement should be put in place to sort out the land issues. hyping that Uhuru has 30k acres is just for political purposes to get votes and will solve the issues. Other huge land owners in Taveta needs to be involved in the process of getting a solution.
You guys don't get it do you: Owning such a large tract of land where there are squarters is just not fine, a clear turn off to the electorate!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Debrief: 2nd Presidential Debate