wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

4 Pages«<234
Mocality shutting down!
ChessMaster
#61 Posted : Thursday, February 21, 2013 12:43:13 PM

tony stark wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
@tony stark - I agree especially on handling the goods.Thats where I think the major issue arises. Do you have more information on the courier services,I've become interested in that.Also once delivered do they facilitate home deliveries or thats up to the individual.

Why would you want home delivery. Office delivery makes sense.
Here is my logic people are away from home for most parts of the day when deliveries are being done. People will gladly collect from a nearby G4S point or post office for that matter during their lunch break or on their way home.
Office delivery also makes sense since there is always someone in the office and your gods can be signed for on your behalf if you are not there.

In our case they would deliver the products to an office during work hours. Our offices are mainly in the towns so delivery from the store was not bad. Home delivery is tricky due to the lack of labelled streets and apartments.

Stick to pick up and delivery points. It's cheaper and saner. They already do this in Russia where gods bought online are delivered to pick up points that can be any store!

I see your point.Offices are more convenient and most offices will be centralised thus making it easier. Delivery points,can be developed later.Great insights.How are their rates?

Right now I wish I could have a look at Mocality's database.
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
wanyee
#62 Posted : Thursday, February 21, 2013 2:29:17 PM

Toni, The convenience of the customer that he/she can order goods and gets them delivered anywhere anytime.(form, place, time, possession & information) utility is key ..revolutionize commerce as it is done here..thats why hawkers beat the wahindi dukawala's and the guys who sell in traffic jammed junction and the bendovers in Ngara..think if they had a portal that targets miss babes at her convenient SQ /Office?Vitz what kind of a portal would it be? can it be accessed by hersmile Hi-phone? and how would the good she wants be delivered?
wanyee
#63 Posted : Thursday, February 21, 2013 2:33:59 PM

I think the future Kiosks will be on-line or M-accessibe with no kanjo chasing after you with licenses..just conveyance from production , storage and delivey..and payments may be equally virtual or mobile too..
ChessMaster
#64 Posted : Thursday, February 21, 2013 6:37:38 PM

wanyee wrote:
I think the future Kiosks will be on-line or M-accessibe with no kanjo chasing after you with licenses..just conveyance from production , storage and delivey..and payments may be equally virtual or mobile too..

Kiosks will still be a part of Kenya.What we need to do is incorporate them into the 'new' ways of doing things.I think what you are describing is inevitably the future. Strategic storage points and understanding of consumer needs in certain locations will eventually develop.

Tony Stark has introduced a very good point.A way to start it out without so much hustle.Though not complete its effective. But wanyee you too have a good point,the main aim of deliveries is the convenience it offers. Long-term,if people can experiment and be comfortable with deliveries in their office the next thing they will demand is home deliveries.
tony stark
#65 Posted : Thursday, February 21, 2013 8:55:37 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
tony stark wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
@tony stark - I agree especially on handling the goods.Thats where I think the major issue arises. Do you have more information on the courier services,I've become interested in that.Also once delivered do they facilitate home deliveries or thats up to the individual.

Here is my logic people are away from home for most parts of the day when deliveries are being done. People will gladly collect from a nearby G4S point or post office for that matter during their lunch break or on their way home.
Office delivery also makes sense since there is always someone in the office and your gods can be signed for on your behalf if you are not there.

In our case they would deliver the products to an office during work hours. Our offices are mainly in the towns so delivery from the store was not bad. Home delivery is tricky due to the lack of labelled streets and apartments.

Stick to pick up and delivery points. It's cheaper and saner. They already do this in Russia where gods bought online are delivered to pick up points that can be any store!

I see your point.Offices are more convenient and most offices will be centralised thus making it easier. Delivery points,can be developed later.Great insights.How are their rates?

We negotiated a fixed charge for a parcel to our destinations in Kenya and reverse shipment for less than **500**(can't disclose actual figure) per parcel. We had also talked to posta and they would have dropped to any of post office for cheaper. Problem was posta wasnt willing to provide proof of delivery and seemed less professional but they will catch up. BM are funny chaps totally clueless. DHL professional, great for specialized products not as flexible as G4S but okay if you can afford them.

Nonetheless things could have changed from
ChessMaster
#66 Posted : Thursday, February 21, 2013 9:08:20 PM

tony stark wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
tony stark wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

We negotiated a fixed charge for a parcel to our destinations in Kenya and reverse shipment for less than **500**(can't disclose actual figure) per parcel. We had also talked to posta and they would have dropped to any of post office for cheaper. Problem was posta wasnt willing to provide proof of delivery and seemed less professional but they will catch up. BM are funny chaps totally clueless. DHL professional, great for specialized products not as flexible as G4S but okay if you can afford them.

Thanx for that info.Really appreciate it.
wanyee
#67 Posted : Thursday, February 21, 2013 11:33:34 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
tony stark wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
tony stark wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

Thanx for that info.Really appreciate it.

Correct me if am wrong Tony , what i understand from what you articulate is that there is a gap in terms of logistics in terms of professionalism, affordability,perception, flexibility. and so forth. then this means there is a huge potential for such a business dedicated and specialized in handling online/ m commerce logistics!! One that is less traditional but masters the needs of online-M-commerce firms. Now how to beat this. In terms of capitalization and mostly, Fleet management(mkokotenis, bikes, boda-bodas, vans, mini lorries) .. i think the taxi model where people can lease their cars for car-hire the same would apply ..owners can lease you their bikes, vans etc..have binding contracts with an online m-commerce firm crunch the numbers ..it may be do-able...smile
KenyanLyrics
#68 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2013 12:10:32 AM

Maybe Google(or any enterprising Kenyan) should now pick up where they left of and re-steal the data from Mocality. After all, they're just going to close it down, would be a shame to lose all that info.
ChessMaster
#69 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2013 8:11:03 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
Maybe Google(or any enterprising Kenyan) should now pick up where they left of and re-steal the data from Mocality. After all, they're just going to close it down, would be a shame to lose all that info.

I know what you mean.I would have so much fun with that data.
wanyee
#70 Posted : Tuesday, March 19, 2013 3:59:27 PM

Now in Tanzania Dar...look at this http://www.sailfv.com/ quite the pace setter ..let a Kenyan do this
#71 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 3:47:00 PM

Now this is one interesting thread, just 12 months ago.
I saw @Impunity Dealfish=OLX http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=27475 thread and the search just led me here.

I wonder whether the fate of OLX will be any better, once Eric Omondi stops the goofing adverts?
#72 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 8:43:46 PM

I, too, wonder seeing as google itself opted to close down google trader (in Nov. 2013) which would have been the natural successor to mocality.
#73 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 10:44:46 AM

i think they are going about it in the wrong way - wacha nijaribu hii kitu (been working on something on the same space)
propertyzote
#74 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 11:04:18 AM

@Wanyee This is impressive.. http://www.sailfv.com/ quite the pace setter indeed. @masukuma while you are on it do a proper market research and analysis Kenya market is a peculiar one.. Being in the industry now for close to 5 years I find it very unfortunate when I read such stories on On-line business customer experiences especially some of the big players in e-commerce or so I thought. http://www.afromum.com/t...ses-my-rupu-experience/ . Customer is King and its has been so for centuries better keep it that way or see your way to closure.
www.propertyzote.com the ultimate ‘one stop online shop’ of choice connecting more people with more properties at the click of a button
#75 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 12:19:10 PM

propertyzote wrote:
@Wanyee This is impressive.. http://www.sailfv.com/ quite the pace setter indeed. @masukuma while you are on it do a proper market research and analysis Kenya market is a peculiar one.. Being in the industry now for close to 5 years I find it very unfortunate when I read such stories on On-line business customer experiences especially some of the big players in e-commerce or so I thought. http://www.afromum.com/t...ses-my-rupu-experience/ . Customer is King and its has been so for centuries better keep it that way or see your way to closure.

exactly!