wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

6 Pages123>»
Police & Traffic Offences
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 7:13:00 AM

Is a cop (in Kenya) allowed to forcibly have you drive him/her to the police station?
Can they grab your car keys?
What options do you have if a cop lies & falsely accuses you?
What options do you have if a false entry is made in the OB?

What does the Law say?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 8:27:00 AM

Or those who have experienced the above?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Djinn
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 8:51:00 AM

The below is from a published notice by GJLOS (Governance,Justice,Law and Order Reform programme) - see also http://www.gjlos.go.ke

Demand that the officer identify him/herself through an appointment certificate OR through the name and number normally pinned on their uniform.
Equally always identify yourself by a driver’s license or ID document.
Please do not allow police officers to get into your car when you have been stopped for a minor traffic offence. (Your car is private property and technically the police require a search warrant to enter your car,but we are normally polite and allow them to look in the boot etc.)
If you are being charged with a minor traffic offence,the paper work can normally be done on the spot – it’s called a 'bail bond' or 'police bail'. You make a cash payment and get an official receipt (which is also a notice to appear in court on a future date). If it cannot be issued on the spot,insist that you follow a police car to the nearest police station and then ensure that the bail bond is issued at the police station. Please also note that all minor traffic offences in Kenya are indeed eligible for 'bail bond' or 'police bail' - there is absolutely no justification for you to be locked up at a police station for minor traffic offences (But this is a threat normally used to scare people)
Never allow a police officer to take the keys of your car from the ignition – this is illegal.
Be polite and non-confrontational at all times.

You can read more about GJLOS at: www.gjlos.go.ke

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 8:59:00 AM

Call this number which is the official traffic police hotline and explain the situation and your options will be spelled to you!!! +254 735356506!!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Kamaa
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 9:51:00 AM

@ djinn

i agree with you but do the police know of these laws...?

makarao ni wapumbavu tuu....

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
And1589
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 10:59:00 AM

This reminds me

I was coming from shagz the other day at around 10pm night and was stopped by these traffic guyz at a roadblock near sigona on waiyaki way. One of them asked for Hazards and fire extinguisher,i was like 'Extinguisher?' the guy said anway it was not mandatory. Then he asked for my licence,He nearly laughed out,claimed he had finally busted me. Mistake: Not signing my driving licence in the two places indicated,I tried to explain to the guy that i was a relatively new driver and i had overlooked the signatures and could he just give me my licence to sign there and then. He refused then he asked if i had another driver in my entourage to take the car home while he locked me at kikuyu police station for that offence till kesho before facing a judge.
i tried to explain that i had young ones in the car but it fell on deaf ears. Then came the usual TKK demand. Ati 3K or i go in. 'For what?' i asked,the guy went on like 'Weka gari huko kando tukushike vizuri' Remember this was like 20 minutes later after much haggling. I gave up,got into my ride,parked it on the side and grabbed my phone for Plan B,Immediately i said 'Hallo' the guy came alive and said 'toka kidogo inje wewe niaje,kata simu kwanza,unaona mkubwa amekuja,toka hapa kabla uulizwe maswali' He thought i was calling for 'Help',Basically he freaked out and left us alone.

These guys are real jacka**es,and take advantage of our ignorance of the Law to just threaten anything and TKK us.

Becoming number one is easier than remaining number one
Djinn
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 11:14:00 AM

@Andi - yes,those guys tend to look for little things - I was asked for the triangles and I had them....then rear seat bealts,had just fitted those...then the guy scratched his head and asked for the extinguisher - to his chagrin I had that as well (and a pretty big one)....finally he noticed I was wearing sandals and he was like 'aha!,gotcha!'....so when he said that,(we were just before Limuru on the way to Naivasha) I looked around and offered....'so,should we go to Kikuyu Police station or Limuru.... ' He gave me an evil look and waved me away.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Mali
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 11:34:00 AM

I think that number that Mc Reggae gave is a good to have.. I will save it as 'Mathew Police Commissioner''' ...

if the incompetent and the reckless compete,the result is a disaster.. MN
Kwanini
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 11:34:00 AM

Its time to Stock up for Xmas!!! anyway by the way two cops purporting to check speed particulary on Sundays. They 'hide' just after the dip before you reach the Juja weigh bridge. You pay,however innocent your are 200-5000k depending on your IQ and type of car. Sadly,last sunday, this close range ambush,no signs,no roadblocks led to minor multiple accidents and voila the cops disappeared.

They use an old beaten Sunny wagon GK *N

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Kwanini
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 12:00:00 PM

@mc Reggae

i thot hii namba ni ya Diplomatic Police ? By law any complaint against an officer must be recorded and investigated>>>http://www.kenyapolice.go.ke/police_officer_complaint.asp

sijui ni wangapi hapa SK wange ku-advice u take this route.

Hii dunia ya Mungu mema na mabaya yatakuwemo.

#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 1:11:00 PM

@kwanini

Ok. i have seen the form and we may be moving in the right direction..... what happens after you submit it? they wont protect their own and give out your details to the mohine and he 'contacts' you personally? and that wont be funny!!! Problem is,can we trust the police force to protect us from thugs - now,how about their own?

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 1:37:00 PM

Kwanini,

Given the rising number of people complaining,sometime in April they published that number and advised the citizenry to report any comlains with them. The moment you ask the officer for his official number and show him the number you wanna report him to,you will see the reaction on their face!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Kwanini
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 1:42:00 PM

@Wendz i hav had th mis/fortune of encountering a horrible incident durin kanu ni baba na mama days. in those days,penniless and fresh from cole... eh lets just say my chances were zilch to get justice.

What took me by complete surprise is yes,they actually investigated and nailed the chap.....and they were very ruthless.. the way they interviewed him...when one of theirs is under carpet...wote wanamuhepa.

Lakini leo,i do not know who would be first to visit u today,a dwarf with a bonquet of flowers,or a priest with a loaded Sub Woofer !

#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 1:55:00 PM

@kwanini

LOL... yeah,the dwarf and the priest might come calling at the same time... hehehehehehe

@Mcreag
do you have a number we can report some APs who have been harassing us as early as 9.00pm in the name of ' you are walking LATE at night' - after enquiring where you live,where you work,how much you earn bla bla bla...(well of course we have all been working at the garage,employed at mama mboga nearby or you hawk milk coz you know what it means if you disclose you have a formal job).... Now that would be a gift from heaven!

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

mtaalam
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 2:13:00 PM

I have met some very good and diplomatic cops and corrupt cops. The ones on who mount a road block on Mbagathi Rd fall in the latter.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
Waria
#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 3:07:00 PM

@ AND please clarify on the extinguisher and first aid box as i had to part with 5sok at the same spot for not having these. i thought they only apply PSV? BTW those guys really mint at night at that roadblock and they are soo many of them....ama hapo ndio 'training day'

Me first,U next
#17 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 12:35:18 PM

Can a wazuan clarify to me whether it is mandatory to have a fire extinguisher and first aid kit in a private vehicle. Am told cops are having an early christmas courtesy of our ignorance.
#18 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 1:27:00 PM

Can a wazuan clarify to me whether it is mandatory to have a fire extinguisher and first aid kit in a private vehicle. Am told cops are having an early christmas courtesy of our ignorance.

And while at it, how much do these things cost and where can I get the CHEAPEST since I dont intend to use them on myself!!!!

#19 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 1:47:11 PM

#20 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 2:13:29 PM

...Yes. Its in subsidiary legislation to the traffic Act...nakumatts motor botique has everythn.