wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Mocality shutting down!
livie
#1 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 1:42:27 PM

Hello

Unfortunately all good things must come to an end, and Mocality, including Mocality Deals, is one of them. We hereby give you notice that Mocality will cease to render its services on the 28th February 2013.

Of course, the fact that our site and related services is shutting down does not affect any coupons you may have purchased via our site. Coupons remain valid until they either expire or are redeemed in full by you at the relevant merchant. However, please log into the system between now and the 28th to retrieve any coupons or information that you may need as Mocality Deals will not be available after the 28th February 2013.
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#2 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 1:54:41 PM

let them shut down.They rarely update it.

Bye.
tony stark
#3 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 2:30:18 PM

This whole idea of importing ideas from the West and thinking they will work here is not smart. OLX will also shut down like Kalahari and Mocality.

Nasper seats in SA and this "Africa" is just a backward US. You need to be innovative, understand us and then offer your goods and service in a way that is relevant to us.

Mocality can just close down. Hadn't made an impact and clearly shows that stupid model won't work. On to the next phase!
blueman
#4 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:03:03 PM

There is a difference between Kenya and the west. We are still more analogue compared to the digitalized west. Idea was good, but they pumped in lots of cash expecting a quick uptake. They should have allowed the site to grow organically. Same case applies to olx.co.ke. With all these TV ads, i doubt whether the biz will break even anytime soon and it may go the mocality way.
We make or break our own tomorrows today!
#5 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:09:42 PM

tony stark wrote:
This whole idea of importing ideas from the West and thinking they will work here is not smart. OLX will also shut down like Kalahari and Mocality.

Nasper seats in SA and this "Africa" is just a backward US. You need to be innovative, understand us and then offer your goods and service in a way that is relevant to us.

Mocality can just close down. Hadn't made an impact and clearly shows that stupid model won't work. On to the next phase!

Me thinks its the FREEMIUM model which has been adapted by so many online businesses in kenya and nigeria .if they could only charge even if its 1000ksh per ad and capitalize on mobile money to transfers to facilitate payment this then would be a very different story.

http://www.moseskemibaro...to-close-down-in-kenya/

Mainat
#6 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:14:45 PM

What are these web businesses doing wrong or refusing to learn about the Kenyan market? Apart from the pyramid shape of our economy?
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#7 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:19:53 PM

Mainat wrote:
What are these web businesses doing wrong or refusing to learn about the Kenyan market? Apart from the pyramid shape of our economy?

Even pesatalk collapsed last month.
Are we staring at a kind of 'internent business bubble burst'?

Mainat
#8 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:32:46 PM

Mainat wrote:

Even pesatalk collapsed last month.
Are we staring at a kind of 'internent business bubble burst'?

The problem is reliance on ads
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#9 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:42:48 PM

This is very sad indeed.

I believe that the problem was hiring the wrong people, not their model. The fremium model works and there is nothing like a Kenyan internet model. The internet is the internet.

The problem is those who are supposed to drive usage of such sites still employ old marketing methods to achieve their goals.

There was ONE question I keep on asking those who decide to do an online business, "have you ever seen amazon advertising with a billboard?"

Those going online to do online business had better get used to the fact that they need to market to those people who are already online.

Does that mean that Kenyan consumers who are online may not sustain your business? Probably.

So patience is key. Gaining authority during this period is the most important thing you can do. Trying to convert consumers who still don't believe Mpesa works, using billboards, tv advertising etc is bad business practise.

It was not a failure of the idea, but the failure of implementation.
eboomerang
#10 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:55:11 PM

This is very sad indeed.

I believe that the problem was hiring the wrong people, not their model. The fremium model works and there is nothing like a Kenyan internet model. The internet is the internet.

The problem is those who are supposed to drive usage of such sites still employ old marketing methods to achieve their goals.

There was ONE question I keep on asking those who decide to do an online business, "have you ever seen amazon advertising with a billboard?"

Those going online to do online business had better get used to the fact that they need to market to those people who are already online.

Does that mean that Kenyan consumers who are online may not sustain your business? Probably.

So patience is key. Gaining authority during this period is the most important thing you can do. Trying to convert consumers who still don't believe Mpesa works, using billboards, tv advertising etc is bad business practise.

It was not a failure of the idea, but the failure of implementation.

Good observation

chiaroscuro
#11 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 4:26:05 PM

But cheki.co.ke is thiriving... I think. They charge a fair price for the ads.

I think zetu.co.ke will also survive because the collect money from the dealers who offer the discounts.

Mocality also had a discount arm and I gues their overheads were inflated.

My thinking is that for an online busines to get anywhere, it must remain lean; very lean.

OLX is wasting cash with prime-time TV ads and as has been predicted, it will also follow mocality.
tony stark
#12 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 6:34:47 PM

@alma I partially disagree with you on the lack of a Kenyan internet model. There is a Kenyan internet model. First we dont pay using cards or paypal we use MPESA. We don't trust sending goods through posta and therefore a different way of transporting goods bought online need to be sought.

The internet design and appearance might not be different but the model of internet commerce is as different as day and night.

propertyzote
#13 Posted : Saturday, February 16, 2013 6:43:07 AM

Kenya is a unique market..if you dont understand it you are doomed. I got the email too..its so sad but money does not cry or have emotions. I didnt know of Pesatalk..It's evident that what works in the west and south africa will not work in kenya. Pumping in too much money is not the way to go..Kalahari, OLx/Dealfish, Pesatalk, now mocality. This trend can only mean one thing..they are not doing it right.Kenyan market kenyan approach. Charging exorbitant fees advertising space in kenya will never work unless its google. The sooner you know that the better to customize your model.Invest as little as possible to build a internet busines in kenya....patience is the game here.
www.propertyzote.com the ultimate ‘one stop online shop’ of choice connecting more people with more properties at the click of a button
#14 Posted : Saturday, February 16, 2013 8:10:00 AM

Let us unveil the mask of these so called South African Companies that have failed. The way the drop off the toungue of guys, you'd think they are like 100. The truth of the matter is that they were either owened by the same company or ended up being owned by the same company.

To dig a little deeper, you will find that they had the same employees. who doesn't know the people running these companies were the very same. All you had to do was attend one of those Ihub retreats. By run, I mean, the guys who were supposed to be implementing what is being done.

One common denominator; they all hate Robert Alai.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Ok that's a joke.

Pesatalk was doomed to failure from day 1. You don't go borrowing $100000 to run a blog. Now that is a special Kenyan case. Most successful blogs are run with a budget of sweat and tears by their owners.

As to this idea of a "special" Kenyan market, please dispel that idea of your head. That is if you want to succeed online.

there is nothing special in any market. The market may be late or behind, but the processes are the same.

Ecommerce is ecommerce. Mpesa is a mode of payment. Mpesa is not ecommerce and neither is Paypal or a credit card.

You open up a shop online or offline for that matter, you must look for the easiest way for your customers to pay you. It can be a credit card, paypal, payza, liberty reserve, mpesa or 100 different payment methods. Heck including cash on delivery.

If you are too busy looking at the trees, you will miss the forest all together.

I say again. The failure of some 15 guys who hang around iHub and talk in terms of those other Kenyans are silly they don't know the internet, is not the failure of ecommerce in Kenya.

Infact, its a blessing for those who wish to stick to serious business principles.
#15 Posted : Saturday, February 16, 2013 9:41:06 AM

@Alma, the idea that there's nothing special about the Kenyan market, and that markets are either 'ahead' or 'behind' needs some consideration.

In the first place, the idea has been dispelled by how economies in the former U.S.S.R. have turned out and particularly, Russia, and how the so called Asian tigers have weathered the storms of global recession.

So while the internet as a technical system is fairly constant, social and cultural approaches to it may not be constant or even fairly predictable without a careful study of an environment.

For example, the use of the internet in America seems to have been given a big boost by the University. Students have not only created sites, but they have continued to use the internet even after coming out of school. That is, the internet in Europe and America has had a stronger social and cultural epicenter compared to Africa.

Thus the problem, to me, is one of Kenyan entrepreneurs not understanding the social and cultural dynamics of the internet. We have become mere technicians.
#16 Posted : Saturday, February 16, 2013 10:01:12 AM

Apart from cheki.co.ke and may be eatout.co.ke(is it true they charge 80k per year) which other online ventures in kenya are making money ?
#17 Posted : Saturday, February 16, 2013 12:56:58 PM

madollar wrote:
Apart from cheki.co.ke and may be eatout.co.ke(is it true they charge 80k per year) which other online ventures in kenya are making money ?

There are many. You are looking in the wrong places.

Tycho I agree with you fully when you say

"Thus the problem, to me, is one of Kenyan entrepreneurs not understanding the social and cultural dynamics of the internet. We have become mere technicians."

True indeed. Only Wazua and Kenyanlist seem to have understood.
ChessMaster
#18 Posted : Sunday, February 17, 2013 1:17:52 PM

One common denominator; they all hate Robert Alai.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Ok that's a joke.

Infact, its a blessing for those who wish to stick to serious business principles.

But I agree,just more opportunities for others.I also agree gaining ground now is the most important thing you can do.

@tony stark - Thank you.

@tycho - I agree.Social cultural aspect determines success of online business in Kenya.

Uncertainty is certain.Let go
akowally
#19 Posted : Monday, February 18, 2013 2:54:05 PM

Really sad.

I thought that after they survived Google's sting operation last year they'd last for some time - especially due to their deals thing which they copied from Rupu.

Anyway, sometimes the angel is in the details - they may be selling it to huge stakeholders and making money when Kenyans are making noise.

JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
wanyee
#20 Posted : Monday, February 18, 2013 3:51:05 PM

tony stark wrote:
@alma I partially disagree with you on the lack of a Kenyan internet model. There is a Kenyan internet model. First we dont pay using cards or paypal we use MPESA. We don't trust sending goods through posta and therefore a different way of transporting goods bought online need to be sought.

The internet design and appearance might not be different but the model of internet commerce is as different as day and night.

Soo true some logistical B2C element lacking that connects the orders and delivery..payment mode is sorted by mobile payments like MPesa Airtel, Money etc..the inverted pyramid scenario can still be accessed by an sms based directory where customers can oder via sms pay via Mpesa and good delivered via bodaboda or vans or tuktuk ..therein lies the process re-engineering ..getting people to have delivery addresses via their residential location or even using their phone as GPS for direction..or have them subscribe their delivery location same way people subscribe for Posta mail..therein lies an opportunity remember cube movers...dial-a-loo...*my 3 centsThink