wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Barclays layoffs
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 4:46:49 AM

looks very morally wrong to declare a profit of a record Kshs 13B and the next day announce you will sack Kenyans. These guys are basically milking Kenyans dry and I think the govt or the relevant bodies should do something. It's just wrong.

rink
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 4:57:42 AM

looks very morally wrong to declare a profit of a record Kshs 13B and the next day announce you will sack Kenyans. These guys are basically milking Kenyans dry and I think the govt or the relevant bodies should do something. It's just wrong.

Staff to be laid off are not in Africa, let alone Kenya.
Wacha kupeleka vita ya CORD na Jubilee kwa BBK.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#3 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 5:11:09 AM

soma hiyo rink stop behaving like Dida's student
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 5:30:19 AM

soma hiyo rink stop behaving like Dida's student

Read this RINK and stop behaving like Waititu's Form 1F graduate!
Utashangaa na hizo news za Kenya journalist; they are pure alarmist!!!

Shame on you Shame on you

#5 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 5:36:59 AM

“We are also in talks with workers’ unions to see how those who will not find positions in the redeployment will be discharged of their duties,”

I guess Adan Mohamed was hallucinating.
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 5:47:23 AM

“We are also in talks with workers’ unions to see how those who will not find positions in the redeployment will be discharged of their duties,”

Did you hear him say so or you are vomiting what you have just read from subNation paper?
Tune in to BBC radio/TV and get first hand info.
I will not speak about this again.

Sad Sad

#7 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 8:34:59 AM

http://www.businessdaily...4/-/ymiv4d/-/index.html

“We have recently been in contact over the matter of pending retrenchments at Barclays. But we need to see what they are floating as compensation for those who will leave before we can move forward,” Bankers, Insurance and Finance Union (BIFU) secretary- general Isaiah Kubai said.
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 8:44:01 AM

Kwani hio sio biashara???
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 9:03:45 AM

I think the reality is with us now and organisations all over the world are going for leaner more efficient, technologically driven workforce. Retrenchments will happen as investors continue complaining about staff costs. It's innovate or die world (unless you are KPLC).

#10 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 9:14:14 AM

I am getting confused now. I heard the CEO say that the retrenchments are not in Kenya, that they are only affecting the Investments arm of Barclays and he went ahead to announce a 7.7% increase in profit. In fact, he said Kenyan staff shall not be affected. Kwani what is the correct position?
Manyala
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 9:42:11 AM

I am getting confused now. I heard the CEO say that the retrenchments are not in Kenya, that they are only affecting the Investments arm of Barclays and he went ahead to announce a 7.7% increase in profit. In fact, he said Kenyan staff shall not be affected. Kwani what is the correct position?

Retrenchments to include Kenya. Mark my words.
QD
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 10:01:37 AM

Did you hear him say so or you are vomiting what you have just read from subNation paper?

Sad Sad

You are speaking with authority in this matter as either you're the HR or associated with them.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
Lord Stark
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 12:50:52 PM

QD wrote:

Sad Sad

You are speaking with authority in this matter as either you're the HR or associated with them.

chair holder?
Never forget who you are, for surely the world won’t. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armor yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you. – Tyrion Lannister
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 4:12:39 PM

QD wrote:

Sad Sad

My exact sentiments..
saga
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 4:29:29 PM

Retrenchment are never smooth nor clear rumors go round offices for months then one day employees find letters on there desks and there security cards not working. If you work for Barclays start looking for plan B.
Kuna kuchapwo, kuchapana na kujifichio
#16 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2013 12:35:41 AM

and now KCB follows suit?

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../1/-/t2gtdi/-/index.html
#17 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2013 8:16:45 AM

[quote=harrydre]and now KCB follows suit?

http://www.nation.co.ke/...1/-/t2gtdi/-/index.html[/quote]
I hear the new KCB CEO is targeting any manager over the age of 45 years old – his strategy is to work with young guys.
Money Whisperer
#18 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2013 10:58:56 AM

I walked out of employment and prayed to God that I never go back to it. It must be very painful for these employees at this time of the year to be sent packing. With political uncertainty, nobody is employing businesses have assumed a wait and see attitude, nobody is bringing new stock, just go to Eastleigh, its a ghost town. it will take a year to recover. These CEO's are heartless. I wish the retrenchees well in their future endeavors. impermanence and fluidity are the hallmarks of this generation, embrace it and refuse to be glued at one place unless it your own
"Money never sleeps"
#19 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2013 11:26:25 AM

@money whisperer
Its worse for those who never tarmacked.out of campo straight into management trainee position.

Rent all along being paid by money from the salo
How will you hustle for your family if you never hustled for yourself
wanyee
#20 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2013 11:56:42 AM

Looks like banking and airlines industries are "good while it Last" unakaa kama umejipanga ..safaricon is another as you approach 45..look for plan B and C