ZZE123 wrote:This morning I took my 5 months old son to Gertrude’s Hospital since he had a cough over the weekend.
I was given two medicines – Predsol and Ventolin. I hear that Ventolin is for Control of Asthma and Predsol is some form of steroid and both should not be administered to children unless in very critical condition (Am not sure if this is true). Could it be that Gertrude’s can be this irresponsible?
Killing is such a strong word!
Still; I have observed that our younger doctors are too quick to prescribe medications. You go to hospital with a cough and go home with a minimum of four drugs... makes you wonder "Kwani I was that sick?"
I think the problem is that many hospitals are now operated like matatus! They don't have permanent doctors - about five years ago I was shocked to discover that the Nairobi Hospital did not have any doctor on its payroll!!!
Hospitals are relying on part-timers who jump into one facility at 8am and then into another at 2pm. This way, the doctors never establish any connection with patients. A lot of the time history is lost along the way and you find yourself having to repeat the story to three different doctors in one week!
Technically, our private hospitals are actually "Nursing Homes". You should only go there for in-patient treatment. Out patient services should be referred to doctor's clinics. And when you need admission, take your doctor with you - don't accept the "hospital's" doctors!