wazua Mon, Oct 20, 2025

13 Pages<1234>»
Choices have consequences - Johnnie Carson
wa P
#21 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 8:39:30 AM

Perhaps you also need to listen the the UK High Commissioner...the tide is turning...

The idea of voting for somebody just because uK and US is comfortable with themd'oh! .
Soandso can still get votes even without kupigiwa debe na wabeberu. He should tell them to shut up and let Kenyans decide.
He still has the votes, but if those beberus utter any more word...
#22 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 8:43:04 AM

Yesterday we were basking in their blessings of the suspects, today they've become wabeberu...

Rem that song kigeugeu...
#23 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 8:52:06 AM

Perhaps you also need to listen the the UK High Commissioner...the tide is turning...

The UK high commissioner is very clearly referring to cord because of explicit incitement on land issues where Britain/British citizens have huge interest.
Meru Holiness
#24 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 8:57:11 AM

Liv wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Yes indeed, Kibaki did that. But he was not shut off. There is a big difference. Kibaki could stand his ground and say to the West. ..I don't like your terms. He also went one further and avoided the back and forth, dealing with minutae, a terrible affliction of diplomats. Uhuru wont have this luxury. Instead, some mafia like businessmen and states will come here and say. ..'hello, we'll take your new oil and gas for cents per barrel, what choice do you have?'

How did you bring private corporations into this? Are you assuming that the Western based private corporations will leave Kenya? Oil is explored and produced by public listed companies from all over the world. They compete to buy and own blocks for exploration and production to maximise their owners wealth. Please don't be .....(I will spare you now).

Don't pull punches. I take insults and barbs in my stride. I never mentioned private corporations, I said "businessmen". CEOs and representatives of public companies can also be referred to as businessmen, can they not? Just because a company is listed doesn't mean it can't be dishonest. The case of fraud in Togo by Elf Aquitaine CEO comes to mind. I will also remind you of Lonrho, listed in London and its exec Tiny Rowland and the major mischief he carried out in Africa.
So,...if there are sanctions, our options start constricting. The Western companies might not even exit, but like sharks they will smell our reducing options and start tabling unfavourable deals, do you understand this? I would not put it past some of these companies forming cartels to avoid paying a competitive price. What was your argument again?
wa P
#25 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 8:59:54 AM

Yesterday we were basking in their blessings of the suspects, today they've become wabeberu...

Rem that song kigeugeu...

Actually i disliked their perceived endorsement as i dislike their 'consequences'.
Why are they even uttering a word... as if they have kura.
Kenyans must decide. If they decide to huttle down the cliff- so be it.
#26 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:00:47 AM

Liv wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Yes indeed, Kibaki did that. But he was not shut off. There is a big difference. Kibaki could stand his ground and say to the West. ..I don't like your terms. He also went one further and avoided the back and forth, dealing with minutae, a terrible affliction of diplomats. Uhuru wont have this luxury. Instead, some mafia like businessmen and states will come here and say. ..'hello, we'll take your new oil and gas for cents per barrel, what choice do you have?'

How did you bring private corporations into this? Are you assuming that the Western based private corporations will leave Kenya? Oil is explored and produced by public listed companies from all over the world. They compete to buy and own blocks for exploration and production to maximise their owners wealth. Please don't be .....(I will spare you now).

How are iranians doing it?
#27 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:04:13 AM

Liv wrote:
quicksand wrote:

I understand they are selling oil on CASH basis to some middle man in the Emirates...they get paid less and its cumbersome.
#28 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:05:03 AM

quicksand wrote:
Liv wrote:
quicksand wrote:
josiah33 wrote:
Just asking- will they close their missions here? That's a stupid question, but i couldn't help wondering when someone said they are not supposed to get into contact with a nation led by ICC indictees unless necessary.

Dont think so. The embassy will still serve American tourists and businessmen, as well as provide cover for their intelligence people. When they say they will not get into contact, I think that means it will be junior and midlevel American functionaries dealing with junior and midlevel Kenyan functionaries. Humdrum stuff. Strategic discussions will be off the table. ..military aid, which is quite substantial is off. Saw how KDF pulled serious high marks for strategy and execution in Somalia? That was made possible by attachment to American special forces units, leadership, intelligence and strategy training. High level diplomats wont set foot here and their Ambassador will avoid the Executive like the plague. NSA and other US intelligence agencies might scale back the level of cooperation. ..read sharing info with our NSIS, making us more vulnerable. They held this one over Blair by the way, and Britain had to back US into Iraq. ...for disclosure, that is an analysis I read somewhere so its conjecture on my part, but it seems logical.
So, small losses that will gain momentum with time.

Kibaki kept them off until they complained through the press that they cannot get to the President. President said he was too busy with the development of the country....and had no time for other activities.

We will sell it right here in Africa.

Sell it to whom? If the sanctions will be that deep, no poor hungry african shithole will be on our side, mzungu will whip its sorry arse. There is cleaner oil from Saudi.
jyo
#29 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:05:04 AM

The UK high commissioner is very clearly referring to cord because of explicit incitement on land issues where Britain/British citizens have huge interest.

your ears will only hear what you want to hear....
Its only in Africa that Fourty million people will subject themselves to suffering and embarassment because of two people.. No wonder our intelligence is always questioned
Your work will form a large part of your life the only way to be trully satisfied is to love what you do.
#30 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:06:01 AM

Liv wrote:
quicksand wrote:

A number of them are driving taxis in the Nordic countries.
#31 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:07:39 AM

Amores wrote:
We are the people with the voters cards. Sasa hawa foreigners wanakuja kutuambia nini ?

Wanawaambia wanaTNA mkule hizo kura zenu.
#32 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:07:45 AM

jyo wrote:

Its only in Africa that Fourty million people will subject themselves to suffering and embarassment because of two people.. No wonder our intelligence is always questioned

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Then we blame the West
#33 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:11:44 AM

jyo wrote:

I also say you hear what you want, i am extremely sure he was referring to cord and incitement on land which IG/Church/Politicians/Civil bodies/Mau Mau veterans are up in arms about, you think otherwise. You are in essence camaigning for cord by insinuating their comments are directed at jubilee! Why should i stand aside and look?
Meru Holiness
#34 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:13:44 AM

quicksand wrote:
Liv wrote:
quicksand wrote:
josiah33 wrote:
Just asking- will they close their missions here? That's a stupid question, but i couldn't help wondering when someone said they are not supposed to get into contact with a nation led by ICC indictees unless necessary.

Dont think so. The embassy will still serve American tourists and businessmen, as well as provide cover for their intelligence people. When they say they will not get into contact, I think that means it will be junior and midlevel American functionaries dealing with junior and midlevel Kenyan functionaries. Humdrum stuff. Strategic discussions will be off the table. ..military aid, which is quite substantial is off. Saw how KDF pulled serious high marks for strategy and execution in Somalia? That was made possible by attachment to American special forces units, leadership, intelligence and strategy training. High level diplomats wont set foot here and their Ambassador will avoid the Executive like the plague. NSA and other US intelligence agencies might scale back the level of cooperation. ..read sharing info with our NSIS, making us more vulnerable. They held this one over Blair by the way, and Britain had to back US into Iraq. ...for disclosure, that is an analysis I read somewhere so its conjecture on my part, but it seems logical.
So, small losses that will gain momentum with time.

Kibaki kept them off until they complained through the press that they cannot get to the President. President said he was too busy with the development of the country....and had no time for other activities.

We will sell it right here in Africa.

Yeah, a country like Zimbabwe would pay billions (in Zim dollars I suspect but billions still) for our oil - am confident our jua kali industry are up to the task of fabricating the necessary machinery to work that oil out of the ground.
#35 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:14:21 AM

jyo wrote:

I also say you hear what you want, i am extremely sure he was referring to cord and incitement on land which IG/Church/Politicians/Civil bodies/Mau Mau veterans are up in arms about, you think otherwise. You are in essence camaigning for cord by insinuating their comments are directed at jubilee! Why should i stand aside and look?

haha extremely sure indeed!
Shotgun
#36 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:19:08 AM

Politics aside....

Aren't you all perturbed and concerned by continuous interference by the West on our internal affairs/Sovereignty? I know we are poor but surely we should urge for a little dignity and respect for our choices.

Carson's remarks sounded to me like a veiled threat...it was like a Sir Everlyn Baring reincarnate. Instead of arguing about how their statements help your candidate gain political mileage, I would prefer you critic the statement the way Dedan Kimathi would have.

Yes, the world has changed and we are all a global village but does that mean that we lack our dignity and respect. Am angry that IF Kenyans who the 'crimes against humanity' were committed against, choose to democratically and by majority elect the same people that are alleged to have committed the same crimes....that someone will threaten to alienate them. Neo-Colonialism is real and alive. God help Mama Africa.

Back to politics, if you all were supporting PK, we will not be in this quagmire!
Rollins
#37 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:25:24 AM

Are we assuming that Johnny Otieno's words carry more weight than his Boss? Knowing the oratial gifts of one Barrack Obama, i just wonder how he forgot to add 'choices have consequencies' on his teleprompted message.

Choices have consequencies. Big deal? I guess no. Even Ahmednasir thought thats a dog barking in the presence of a lion.
Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day
#38 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:32:44 AM

Kenya is a Sovereign state. The biggest democracy in the world asking Kenyans not to be so democratic, I shudder at the hypocrisy. Veiled threats? Why? If the common mwananchi decides s/he'll exercise their democratic right and vote for a person of their choice, why try to push him to vote for another person by mentioning that there will be consequences? When Jomo was released from and nominated as the Prime Minister, did we get sanctions? When Kapondi was elected while in prison, did we get sanctions?

At the moment, what we have are just suspects, what if the case is thrown out due to lack of evidence and the two are declared not guilty, what will we then say? We need to elect people out of a clear conscience and not out of fear. Trust me, they'll still do business with Kenya come what may, especially if the elections are peaceful and the loser concedes defeat. Everyone has their own reasons why they'd want a presidential candidate to win the elections. Even the West want a particular person to win, and not because they care about you and I, but because they have their own selfish interests.

Kura yako haki yako.
#39 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:33:29 AM

jyo wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Then we blame the West

And these 2 suspects are so rich that their collective weoth can serve a whole population of 10,000 aged 10 years to live upto 100 years without ever going to work!
Sad Sad

#40 Posted : Friday, February 08, 2013 9:38:21 AM

Kenya is a Sovereign state. The biggest democracy in the world asking Kenyans not to be so democratic, I shudder at the hypocrisy. Veiled threats? Why? If the common mwananchi decides s/he'll exercise their democratic right and vote for a person of their choice, why try to push him to vote for another person by mentioning that there will be consequences? When Jomo was released from and nominated as the Prime Minister, did we get sanctions? When Kapondi was elected while in prison, did we get sanctions?

At the moment, what we have are just suspects, what if the case is thrown out due to lack of evidence and the two are declared not guilty, what will we then say? We need to elect people out of a clear conscience and not out of fear. Trust me, they'll still do business with Kenya come what may, especially if the elections are peaceful and the loser concedes defeat. Everyone has their own reasons why they'd want a presidential candidate to win the elections. Even the West want a particular person to win, and not because they care about you and I, but because they have their own selfish interests.

Kura yako haki yako.

Hapo ndio umenoa bro........thumping the bony chest once again!!!