Sanctions unlikely- The tide is turning
#71 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:03:36 PM

josiah33 wrote:
quicksand wrote:
Clear warning shot over the bow .....
http://elections.nation..../-/p86h8fz/-/index.html

http://www.standardmedia...ver-choice-of-president

The silence is deafening ....Jubilants? Please speak up ...

Hiyo nayo si kuwa na expect......Sisemi kitu. I am tempted to go with what Obama's statement implied for us with regard to the forthcoming elections.

Lakini hayo yote ni maoni yangu tuuuuu.........

Ni kubaya. Sasa sijui tusikize huyu au boss wake.

@CapitalFM_kenya: Johnnie Carson contradicts Obama on Kenya polls saying president elected in March must be globally accepted; choice will have consequences

josiah33
#72 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:05:47 PM

josiah33 wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Hiyo nayo si kuwa na expect......Sisemi kitu. I am tempted to go with what Obama's statement implied for us with regard to the forthcoming elections.

Ni kubaya. Sasa sijui tusikize huyu au boss wake.

@CapitalFM_kenya: Johnnie Carson contradicts Obama on Kenya polls saying president elected in March must be globally accepted; choice will have consequences

Am stumped too.
#73 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:14:29 PM

josiah33 wrote:
quicksand wrote:

The US president will use diplomatic speak to avoid polarisation, then huku chini ya maji he will let loose the hard core foot soldiers of the State Department who proceed to 'finya make---' kabisa ..., it is the proverbial hand of steel covered in velvet ...they squeeze, our collective bony fingers get squashed.
Obama is a very tough fellow. Those insurgents in Afghanistan, Pakistan and Iraq wameona cha mtema kuni, his drones have completed thousands of sorties, dropping bombs on the buggers...and all the while being very polite and not making hardline statements.
We persist on this path and we will see dust.
#74 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:14:59 PM

What is so shocking about this?

Unless you want to live in a cocoon, you know there will be consequences. And they are DIRE.

I'm not willing to sacrifice my life and that of my kids coz of two people in order to make a point.

I mean look around you. Milk is higher. Since October last year, the shilling has been dropping and you really expect life to go on as usual?

But like they say, you make your bed.

Asked about US attitudes toward Mr Kenyatta specifically, Mr Carson said: "Individuals have histories, individuals have images, individuals have reputations. When they are selected to lead their nations, those images, histories and reputations go along with them."
josiah33
#75 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:17:16 PM

quicksand wrote:
josiah33 wrote:
quicksand wrote:

The US president will use diplomatic speak to avoid polarisation, then huku chini ya maji he will let loose the hard core foot soldiers of the State Department who proceed to 'finya make---' kabisa ..., it is the proverbial hand of steel covered in velvet ...they squeeze, our collective bony fingers get squashed.
Obama is a very tough fellow. Those insurgents in Afghanistan, Pakistan and Iraq wameona cha mtema kuni, his drones have completed thousands of sorties, dropping bombs on the buggers...and all the while being very polite and not making hardline statements.
We persist on this path and we will see dust.

Well! well! well! Let Kenyans decide.
mkeiyd
#76 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:19:02 PM

josiah33 wrote:
I am tempted to go with what Obama's statement implied for us with regard to the forthcoming elections.

@josiah33, Diplomats seldom come out clearly. Nobody expects Obama to come out spelling out the consequences but we all can use our minds [if at all we got some] to think of what is around the corner,must we elect leaders who might then refuse to cooperate with the ICC [sanctions].

A country led by leaders who are constantly being ordered around in courts is NOT good image and not many world leaders would associate with such [no sanctions but negotiations are hampered].
limanika
#77 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:20:26 PM

UK diplomat said they can retain essential contact with Uhuruto if they win and go ahead to co-operate with ICC. Obama said he does not care who wins. What interest does Carson have to go to an extent of contradicting his boss? I fear some people are hiding cards under the table, the reason I cannot vote for a "project" being pushed by foreign interests.
josiah33
#78 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:25:42 PM

limanika wrote:
UK diplomat said they can retain essential contact with Uhuruto if they win and go ahead to co-operate with ICC. Obama said he does not care who wins. What interest does Carson have to go to an extent of contradicting his boss? I fear some people are hiding cards under the table, the reason I cannot vote for a "project" being pushed by foreign interests.

Hhhhmmmmhhhhh!!!!!!!
#79 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:29:34 PM

actually limanika you are misquoting someone who was on citizen news just recently. He stated that UK gov't policy is not to engage with people in the Hague. Of course he added the sweet nothings about not affecting the common people. But you're free to think as you wish.

Heck, this thread started with some people extremely excited about No Sanctions. Now they are nunaring.
#80 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 6:32:47 PM

This may really not be news at all, either way (Suspects or the Kitendawili), Kenyans will bear the consequences of commission or omission. And for another 5 or 10 years.

Tribal politics in Kenya is the major impediment to sober and focused selection of Leaders to this great Nation.

Vote wisely.
15 Pages«<678910>»