wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Government Supply
pauloti
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 9:48:00 AM

for all of you intending to supply the government a bit of advice - dont fall for it because all is not as good as it seems!! i got a small tender to supply hardware materials at the district level from GOK,for which i had to part with almost 30% of the order value just to get the LPO in my name. this was last May. I supplied the order within 10 days,after negotiating a more than generous commission terms with the purchasing officer - almost 60% of my net profit!! and then i have been following up on the payment till last month! i.e. it took them almost one year to pay me! i borrowed from the bank a overdraft at 18% to be able to supply the order,so i had to bear the cost of the interest! and to top it all,i had to part with almost another 30% of the order value to pay the whole bureacracy of accountants to release my cheque. can you believe it despite the cheque being ready for 3 months,no one would release it till they got something. they did not want to consider my profit margins which are very low in hardware. they just said they work on a percentage of the cheque! so all in all after supplying a 1.2 million shilling order,i ended up making 7,772/- profit!!!!! i just ended up making money for government civil servants!! be wary before you venture into these lucrative supply orders!
Kinyee
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 10:12:00 AM

@pauloti,can you give me details of this officer,we are trying to finish corruption by all means and you are still encouraging it. I thing you have details of these tender. get intouch with me.

arsenal fanatic
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 10:17:00 AM

@Pauloti,I was just about to condemn you for corruption...but i kind of understand your situation. Pole,it's not in the government offices only,even in the NGO world. Guys are sooo unbelievably corrupt! To get any deal,you have to bribe almost everybody in that office and end up making zero on your end and fattening their pockets. And then we start complaining of how the Government is corrupt! bure kabisa... Wananchi are even more corrupt than the leaders!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 10:29:00 AM

@Kinyee
Are you serious? I hate corruption with a passion and i have NEVER asked anybody for a bribe even when i was in a position to,and it breaks my heart and totally grosses me out to give bribes. If you're serious,give us contacts of where we can tell on these buggers who ask us for bribes every other day. I have a looong list,some of these people are guys i know very well,lakini ikifika ni deals,wanaitisha chai. It's gross!!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
mukene
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 11:00:00 AM

You are better you got the LPO. In most cases to even get registered or prequalified is an issue. Sometimes i ask myself where is the hope for this country if everything gets reduced to TKK! There was a very nice article in the Daily Nation jana in the opinion pages about our Education system at large. Its depicts our country exactly. How that despite our education,we are retrogressing as a country due to excessive selfishness. its a pity

Hi there!
nanfor
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 11:09:00 AM

Two posts in one day about corruption is horrible news.

KACA may be an option but you also have to take a pro-active stance towards this.

Please don't take this like someone who is corrupt but as someone who is denying your children the best in life. In that case,you need to bear your knuckles and fight.

I am happy to see you decided not to give in. Now may I suggest you go one step further? build yourself a website and make the fellow famous!

Come on,do it like a ninja marketer. If you are afraid of SK spies who work for the gov't or are his friends. Get yourself a website,host it in the US. Take a few photos of the jamaa,name him and if you have the canoolies,record the fellow as he does his stupidity. Then just post on your website.

If there is an internet savvy guy in Kenya,maybe its time you used that to your advantage. The internet is here my friend,USE IT. Then see the fear of God coming to this beautiful country of ours. As we speak,there are guys in that office trying to figure out what the hell happened to their small crooked enterprise,thanks to you.

I salute you my friend!