How to tell NSE has bottomed out
ChessMaster
#2111 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 11:53:53 AM

hisah wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
hisah wrote:
I have been against this excise duty idea on mobile money.

Perhaps you could suggest an alternative for the government to source funding for the repayment of loans for the Thika Highway and County Governments expenditure.

Cut down the bloated gubberment. Cut back on resource wastage by ministries, curb corruption rather than slowing mobile money & risk spiking inflation at a time when the econ is on a slump.

This is an indirect tax. You can avoid the higher tax by transacting mpesa less often.

Less transactions, less money moving around, brakes on money velocity. Less tax collection across all fin transactions (banks & agents) since less cash is moving around in a slumped econ. So how is this tax a good idea?

The cost for the convenience offered by mpesa has gone up.What is the alternative for the convenience?
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
#2112 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 11:55:26 AM

ChessMaster wrote:
@Chessmaster, a person claiming that they will not be reimbursed 0.50/- by sending or withdrawing money by using M-Pesa is..

For the elitist here, view this as a fee you are charged by mastercard/visa etc when you shop at a Deacons, and then try to put in a Wanjiku perspective paying rent to Mr. Njoroge.

I get what you mean.What if they are thinking about how safaricom will react to the charges.How they'll round up the differences so the math is easier.

Still that would make it worse. Say SCOM charges you 25/-, then GoK takes 10 percent, i.e. 2.5/-, to make the whole charge 27.5/-. If SCOM raise it to 28/- for ease of maths, then actually they have charged you 25.5/- making the tax to be 2.55/-, which is not any simpler to give back 'change'.
Or are u suggesting tax evasion?

ChessMaster
#2113 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 11:57:27 AM

ChessMaster wrote:
@Chessmaster, a person claiming that they will not be reimbursed 0.50/- by sending or withdrawing money by using M-Pesa is..

For the elitist here, view this as a fee you are charged by mastercard/visa etc when you shop at a Deacons, and then try to put in a Wanjiku perspective paying rent to Mr. Njoroge.

I get what you mean.What if they are thinking about how safaricom will react to the charges.How they'll round up the differences so the math is easier.

Still that would make it worse. Say SCOM charges you 25/-, then GoK takes 10 percent, i.e. 2.5/-, to make the whole charge 27.5/-. If SCOM raise it to 28/- for ease of maths, then actually they have charged you 25.5/- making the tax to be 2.55/-, which is not any simpler to give back 'change'.
Or are u suggesting tax evasion?

There is no tax evasion if you are using cash.
mwekez@ji
#2114 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 12:53:37 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
hisah wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
hisah wrote:
I have been against this excise duty idea on mobile money.

Perhaps you could suggest an alternative for the government to source funding for the repayment of loans for the Thika Highway and County Governments expenditure.

Cut down the bloated gubberment. Cut back on resource wastage by ministries, curb corruption rather than slowing mobile money & risk spiking inflation at a time when the econ is on a slump.

This is an indirect tax. You can avoid the higher tax by transacting mpesa less often.

Less transactions, less money moving around, brakes on money velocity. Less tax collection across all fin transactions (banks & agents) since less cash is moving around in a slumped econ. So how is this tax a good idea?

The cost for the convenience offered by mpesa has gone up.What is the alternative for the convenience?

.... and who are the greatest users of MPesa, Low income group or middle income group? If the former, effects will be felt but not if the latter. The latter will not be bothered by the small absolute increase in charge per transaction
hisah
#2115 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 1:25:34 PM

@mwekezaji - perhaps this will help

https://openknowledge.wo...1PUBLIC1.pdf?sequence=1

http://www.mobilepayment...zynski-and-mark-pickens/
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
ChessMaster
#2116 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 3:08:56 PM

Did kengen hit a high of 42 or is there something wrong with rich live
mkeiyd
#2117 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 3:46:47 PM

ChessMaster wrote:

I don't think the systems are overwhelmed by maths.

Si mambo ya kalamu na karatasi kuu kuu ya taifa leo.
ChessMaster
#2118 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 3:51:32 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

I don't think the systems are overwhelmed by maths.

Si mambo ya kalamu na karatasi kuu kuu ya taifa leo.

The system can handle it but loose money is tempting.
FUNKY
#2119 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 4:49:28 PM

The Bourse opened the week with a total of 9M shares valued at Kes.232M, down from Kes.1Bn on a volume of 123M shares posted last Friday.

The NSE 20 Share Index up 29.99 points to stand at 4450.78
All Share Index (NASI) up 0.21 points to stand at 104.30.

FTSE NSE Kenya 15 Index was up 0.13 points to stand at 137.24.
FTSE NSE Kenya 25 Index was up 0.16 points to stand at 140.64 points.
#2120 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 5:57:36 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Did kengen hit a high of 42 or is there something wrong with rich live

This must have been in 2006 just after listing... But i thought the all time high was 35!
569 Pages«<210211212213214>»