12 Pages<12345>»
K24 invades Citizen & KTN
#41 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 12:15:15 PM

#42 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 12:18:22 PM

Thoughts of media madness
#43 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 12:24:58 PM

#44 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 12:42:10 PM

I doubt Kei twendi four are doing this because of elections.

4 weeks is too short a time to upset the market leader. Don't forget they just lost their main man, Jeff Koinange(is Capital talk stil there?). They too, need to make money!

Is their programming going to change too? Citizen made it a multi-pronged re-launch with new signings being complemented by new catchy programmes. People found themselves glued to CTV from 6-10pm on Sundays!

I find Citizen news pleasing to watch but too deep on politics with very shallow coverage of everything else. Intl news is non existent here!

Is citizen biased? Sometimes yes, sometimes no. Their bias in the past (2002, 2005 n 2007) was more prononced. But I still think it would have been better for Macharia to support CORD in a more silent way. I hear Inooro is already suffering a backlash.

Manyala
#45 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 12:49:12 PM

Standard group already advertising jobs.
Money Whisperer
#46 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:10:15 PM

as for the bias, one week ago I timed campaign cvoverage and CORD got a whooping 5 minutes with all the three principals talking, Jubilee got 2:28 and the others were just images without sound. That's when guys complained in the blogosphere and that Cord citizen logo was designed. but since then they have been behaving
"Money never sleeps"
Money Whisperer
#47 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:13:23 PM

Jeff did not leave per se but he is going to work with a network that wants to go the CNN route and maybe partner with K24. I think K24 is laying grounds for that major upgrade and oh my!
"Money never sleeps"
#48 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:21:23 PM

Can those saying that citizen is biased please give evidence of the said bias?

Or is it that if you don't support muthamaki, you are biased?

You do not think that staffs in citizen TV would be intimated and hence feel like they need to toe the line ? For example,it they interview aspirants who are from CORD,don't you think that they will hold back just in case they are reprimanded?

I think it makes it hard for the employees to do their job. I say this a TNA supporter
#49 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:23:01 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
as for the bias, one week ago I timed campaign cvoverage and CORD got a whooping 5 minutes with all the three principals talking, Jubilee got 2:28 and the others were just images without sound. That's when guys complained in the blogosphere and that Cord citizen logo was designed. but since then they have been behaving

Burning Spear
#50 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:33:36 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
All of you are forgeting that Citizen TV used the same strategy to win viewers.

Citizen was a lowly ranked in the market but when they broke the bank, viewers got ecxited and moved with anchors and other producers.

If the report is true, I expect Citizen to die a natural death especially for the biased role they are playing in reporting matters politics.

Jubilee viewers are fed up with Citizen and immidiately after elections when SK will be waking up from slumber land, he will faint !

It only requires a politician from Central and Rift valley to tell the diehard Jubilee supporters (approximately 7 million, Mcreggae, please dont shoot me)to shun Citizen and watch K24. Remembers marketers (read advertisers) move with politics and where the viewers are.

wewe dagitari wacha porojo, you don't belong to this cadre of thinking. Us mt kenyans are not like that, I can assure you. We cannot be herded like sheep. Even the common wanjiku will disagree.

Btw is it only me or are the jubilee middle class coming up with preposterous theories and tales? The common wanjiku has only one MAJOR reason for supporting uhuruto, not some funny excuses by mindo class.

I just posted this having in mind how Kenyans behave and think in mashinani. I traverse mashinani alot and I can tell you for sure this is what they think.

You and I are above this but if you remember very well, kenyans and more so mashinani complained that KTN was favouring Moi and thats how they started loosing out. In 2005-7, KTN was accused of the same biaseness and more so by politicians while campaigning.
Citizen favoured the Kilifi draft, then kifaki and Central people became Citizen damu.

Unless you people live in illusion, you will agree with my analysis.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#51 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:37:58 PM

Let me get this straight in case I misunderstood.

Your muthamaki got only 2.28 minutes while RAO got 5 minutes. You were there infront of your TV with a timer. as in you must really love your tv. so how many minutes was the clip on waiganjo yesterday? do you think they are showing him so many times in order to finish Iteere?

Some of the issues here are from cry babies.

So in the debate between waititu and kidero, how many minutes did waititu speak and how many kidero? Was Julie biased?

@Amores, now that akina Tom Mboya are going to a Kenyatta family business, is it fair to say based on your argument above that Tom should watch his back incase he says something that muthamaki doesn't want to hear?
#52 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:47:37 PM

The must also rework their studios and buy modern equipment: The lead time for good equipment if not yet ordered will be beyond March 4th, 2013!!!!

Do they own their personal TV?
The CORDizen has two brand new choppers for election coverage.

Money Whisperer
#53 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:48:15 PM

if you watch citizen you will notice the clock that ticks away at the information bar at the bottom of your screen. I did time it because I decided to find out how SK's support for RAO will impact citizen. i had a convo with guys where we were trying to ask if citizen had outgrown its owner. I have done the same for all the other channels and even observed specific presenters and anchors whose leanings I know. as I said I have not seen that flawed timing again. yes i do random checks.
Remember when this logo came out?

"Money never sleeps"
#54 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:49:36 PM

Manyala wrote:

RINK?

#55 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 1:59:00 PM

You can't have the same timings even if you are doing nothing and saying nothing, c'mon........yesterday Jubilee was covered in Citizen during their campign trails in Meru while CORD was not covered, shoul we CORDeshians complain.....no!!!!
Manyala
#56 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 2:01:47 PM

Manyala wrote:

RINK?

Jobs at StandardGroup SENIOR GRAPHIC DESIGNER - BROADCAST,MECHANICAL/SUPPORT ENGINEER,BUSINESS SYSTEMS ANALYSTS,click http://bitly.com/Vfy23e

#57 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 2:03:10 PM

Which @Pablo is this?
d'oh! d'oh!

o Chris Thairu,
o Handas Ihachi
o Frank macharia,
o Job mwaura
o Geoffrey wachira
o Kanze Dena – Yet to confirm Move, But offer made
o Mercy Kimani-Transmission controller
o Juliet wairimu – Wedding Show Producer
o Wangui Gitonga
o Magda Wairimu
o Mustafa
o Mohammed getonga
o Jonah Promos – KTN - Afro Cinema producer
o Mike Tanui – KTN
o Pablo
o David Mbatia – producer Sakata
o Eustas Kathurima –Cameraman
o Belinda Obura
o Tom Mboya
o Franklin wambugu
o Double T
o Duncan Khaemba

#58 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 2:06:11 PM

Desperate times call for desparate measures. “Ma ya Ngai mutikadige niudu nimue ati tumete haraya” Uhuru in Meru County.

Money Whisperer
#59 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 2:06:58 PM

depends on what activities the parties had and on that day they had rallies of equal magnitude. Again, as I said, i haven't observed that of late so i guess they got the message. stop defending something you haven't observed, you sound like Jubilee dismissing opinion polls
"Money never sleeps"
Money Whisperer
#60 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 2:08:55 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
depends on what activities the parties had and on that day they had rallies of equal magnitude. Again, as I said, i haven't observed that of late so i guess they got the message. stop defending something you haven't observed, you sound like Jubilee dismissing opinion polls

"Money never sleeps"