wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

43 Pages«<3839404142>»
Ksh at its weakest since it floated in 1994
Cde Monomotapa
#781 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 2:40:25 PM

'Back to work' demand & broad base rate cuts (stimulus) are known credible factors. All else, is all else. Thank goodness for Hydro too.
Ngong
#782 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:23:50 PM

Ngong wrote:
Check the rates at CBD Forex opposite Nation,they might be almost there!

what are going rates there?

smile Always the highest, when in country l go there,last change they gave me @87.45 wonderful!
hisah
#783 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 10:03:33 PM

@new - is inflation expected to spike in the next 2-3 months? I don't see the signs yet. Bank lending rates still high with minimal loan growth despite a large chop on CBR. The econ is still squeaking along to spark demand overheat. At most I see the $/KES @90/- which is acceptable as per the large CBR slashing since 2012. CBK just need to ensue that the slid is orderly.

Were it not for that ugly current account, CBK would have let the KES weaken since this is the theme globally as currency wars become the latest war. Devaluation is en vogue in the central bank fashion world post GFC!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
ChessMaster
#784 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 10:07:01 PM

hisah wrote:
@new - is inflation expected to spike in the next 2-3 months? I don't see the signs yet. Bank lending rates still high with minimal loan growth despite a large chop on CBR. The econ is still squeaking along to spark demand overheat. At most I see the $/KES @90/- which is acceptable as per the large CBR slashing since 2012. CBK just need to ensue that the slid is orderly.

Were it not for that ugly current account, CBK would have let the KES weaken since this is the theme globally as currency wars become the latest war. Devaluation is en vogue in the central bank fashion world post GFC!

How would a weak shilling help Kenya?How would it boost exports or help the current account?
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
hisah
#785 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 11:15:30 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
hisah wrote:

How would a weak shilling help Kenya?How would it boost exports or help the current account?

As per the bold statement the assumption is if the CA was healthy, a slight devaluation during a global econ slump makes it easier to boost your exports revenues. At the same time checks have to be in place to guard against unproductive importation.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
ChessMaster
#786 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 11:19:41 PM

hisah wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
hisah wrote:

As per the bold statement the assumption is if the CA was healthy, a slight devaluation during a global econ slump makes it easier to boost your exports revenues. At the same time checks have to be in place to guard against unproductive importation.

I agree,that CA is putting us in a compromising situation. Personally I believe CBK is trying to work on imports but what I'm concerned with is the relationship of debt and the exchange rate.How do you see it?
ChumsQuest
#787 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2013 7:23:50 AM

ChessMaster wrote:
hisah wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
hisah wrote:

I agree,that CA is putting us in a compromising situation. Personally I believe CBK is trying to work on imports but what I'm concerned with is the relationship of debt and the exchange rate.How do you see it?

What's the bottom line my brothers? Last time this happened I speculated too much and lost. This time am biting my nails to death. I want to be on top of this.....trade now at $88 or give it another 2 months and see...
hisah
#788 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2013 8:18:39 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
hisah wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
hisah wrote:

What's the bottom line my brothers? Last time this happened I speculated too much and lost. This time am biting my nails to death. I want to be on top of this.....trade now at $88 or give it another 2 months and see...

@chums - stop speculating. Understand the tea leaves involved in currency fundamentals - BoP, inflation, econ trends, CB funding rate - CBR etc. Then decide on the trade. 2011 was the KES slamdown party. I don't see that party now unless the election goes haywire. Max $ rate should be 90 since the econ is on recovery.

@chess - foreign debt interest would balloon if $ rate spiked wildly. CBK & treasury are aware of that. As @mainat stated, if treasury cant hold back the tide in comes IMF dollars. And that is a vicious cycle. However, with the expected mining boom this is not a big issue due to the mining windfall over the longterm.
mkeiyd
#789 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2013 12:12:53 PM

hisah wrote:

@chums - stop speculating. Understand the tea leaves involved in currency fundamentals - BoP, inflation, econ trends, CB funding rate - CBR etc. Then decide on the trade. 2011 was the KES slamdown party. I don't see that party now unless the election goes haywire. Max $ rate should be 90 since the econ is on recovery.

@chess - foreign debt interest would balloon if $ rate spiked wildly. CBK & treasury are aware of that. As @mainat stated, if treasury cant hold back the tide in comes IMF dollars. And that is a vicious cycle. However, with the expected mining boom this is not a big issue due to the mining windfall over the longterm.

Did you say max $ rate of 90? That would be like Christmas come early. May the gods of currencies save the KES and may Kenyans vote wisely and peacefully.
Scubidu
#790 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2013 3:37:33 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
hisah wrote:

Did you say max $ rate of 90? That would be like Christmas come early. May the gods of currencies save the KES and may Kenyans vote wisely and peacefully.

CB sold around $100m a few days I heard and markets are still tight. Not seeing the rate crossing 90 either unless there's election violence.
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
#791 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2013 3:58:43 PM

Scubidu wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
hisah wrote:

CB sold around $100m a few days I heard and markets are still tight. Not seeing the rate crossing 90 either unless there's election violence.

This is now when man looks deep into himself. Would you hope/pray/make violence, that would lead to loss of life, just to make a buck?

Ngong
#792 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2013 7:46:20 PM

Sasa hii ni High tech! sishiki kitu.
Kwaheri!
holycow
#793 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 2:31:58 AM

Ngong wrote:
Kwaheri!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly smile Laughing out loudly
This is easy to follow, i do get the same feeling going through the thread titled Realities of Forex investments
http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=6460
hisah
#794 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 11:19:49 AM

Inflation reverse - http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/29yb84z/-/index.html

Inflation has based out a month before elections...
Ngong
#795 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 9:26:03 PM

holycow wrote:
Ngong wrote:
Kwaheri!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly smile Laughing out loudly
This is easy to follow, i do get the same feeling going through the thread titled Realities of Forex investments
http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=6460

d'oh! @Ngaatu can write a novel!
ChessMaster
#796 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2013 9:34:36 PM

hisah wrote:
Inflation reverse - http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/29yb84z/-/index.html

Inflation has based out a month before elections...

I'm waiting to see the impact of capital gains tax if they choose to implement it.Bombshell.
hisah
#797 Posted : Sunday, February 10, 2013 7:22:27 AM

Headache for CBK - http://www.theeastafrica.../-/bql64dz/-/index.html

The econ is still weak, what more did the analysts expect - nothing new in this article. BoP is badly positioned since 2011, lending rates still sky high, econ still on handbrake as per tax revenues etc. Liquidity is still tight in KE and it's election time! Liquidity & forex controls have put a heavy lid on the forex game. Otherwise this would be the game & not equities & bonds.

In the forex world it's futile to fight the CB. They can change the game rules anytime when things get 'elephant' aka desperado time. CBK is still in that corner, if threatened, out comes the bazooka. With tight liquidity you run out of ammo fast against the rogue CB. Your bets against the CB get smoked out in a flash. This is why I don't see the $ or forex game a sure bet at this point.

My target for the $ is 90 max. Don't see it going past that unless an outsize market event is triggered by the CB or bogus election turmoil. And even if such an event occurs (God forbid), the forex black market (for max gains) is no go zone if you don't know your way...

The sad thing is guys are hoping the $ spikes beyond 100 to get their $ bets fat gains, yet this will bomb out the same econ they depend on... Vicious cycle d'oh!
Cde Monomotapa
#798 Posted : Sunday, February 10, 2013 9:53:18 AM

Watching Brent nearing $120 - Not good. Thank goodness for the Hydro and when Long rains check in Q2 then food & elec. generation fuel imports will be out the Import Bill equation.
hisah
#799 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 10:42:15 AM

CBK tightens liquidity ahead of polls - http://www.businessdaily...6/-/lvk9nl/-/index.html

A desperate CB this one. No need to fight it trying to short the KES. They'll pull all the stops whichever way possible. I still do not advocate playing against the KES, stocks are a better bet.
ChessMaster
#800 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 10:47:26 AM

hisah wrote:
CBK tightens liquidity ahead of polls - http://www.businessdaily...6/-/lvk9nl/-/index.html

A desperate CB this one. No need to fight it trying to short the KES. They'll pull all the stops whichever way possible. I still do not advocate playing against the KES, stocks are a better bet.

For me if the shilling weakens foreigner appetite increases.What are your thoughts?