wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

43 Pages«<3738394041>»
Ksh at its weakest since it floated in 1994
holycow
#761 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 1:50:53 PM

Time to revive the thread. 87/= has printed.
#762 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:15:28 PM

and CBK MPC will most definitely try to contain it by;
- raising base lending rate,
- mopping of excess money in circulation,
- release more and more dollars to the market.

#763 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:27:02 PM

Next MPC is in March, deep in election period. They shouldn't have cut CBR at the last meeting, now they're selling dollars to keep the shilling afloat...talk about left and right hand not knowing...
hisah
#764 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:28:49 PM

In an election year it was obvious CBR would be cut. Campaign funding...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#765 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:30:47 PM

holycow wrote:
Time to revive the thread. 87/= has printed.

Actually this was being discussed yesterday on the "CBK MPC meet" thread.

USDKES printed 87.45 yesterday and today the high is 87.75.

From the look of chart pattern 90/- is likely to print by March.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#766 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 2:51:36 PM

hisah wrote:

@hisah, you seem to be an expert on matters FOREX. So, what do you expect will happen after it hits 90, continue upwards, stagnate thereabout or return to 80s?
Am asking coz i've been holding some USD for too long.

#767 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 3:16:38 PM

But CBK reduced the rate last week! Could this depreciation be as a result of this?
hisah
#768 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 3:23:13 PM

hisah wrote:

@hisah, you seem to be an expert on matters FOREX. So, what do you expect will happen after it hits 90, continue upwards, stagnate thereabout or return to 80s?
Am asking coz i've been holding some USD for too long.

Expect CBK to put up a hell of a fight to prevent the rate shooting past 88/- At 90/- they'd have to intervene with a massive $ injection to flash the rate down.
They have to ensure inflation doesn't start spiking wildly again esp in an election year with a lot at stake! The current account too is not looking pretty.

hisah
#769 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 3:31:00 PM

But CBK reduced the rate last week! Could this depreciation be as a result of this?

With the previous rate cuts the rate has been gradual, but this one is showing excitement which could mean $ demand from corporates is heightened.

Ngong
#770 Posted : Sunday, January 27, 2013 5:58:52 PM

Okay sawa,me see 93/95 by feb for good
ChumsQuest
#771 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2013 6:45:42 AM

Ok so when do we ask for USD from relas in Diaspora? Do we trade them @90 in Feb or wait for March? @hisah, what say you?d'oh!
hisah
#772 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2013 10:08:58 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:
Ok so when do we ask for USD from relas in Diaspora? Do we trade them @90 in Feb or wait for March? @hisah, what say you?d'oh!
CBK is hell bent on keeping a lid on the rate. I don't expect the rate to spike quickly to those levels. Watch inflation, tbill rates for now.
Ngong
#773 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2013 7:35:15 PM

Check the rates at CBD Forex opposite Nation,they might be almost there!
#774 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2013 8:32:13 PM

Ngong wrote:
Check the rates at CBD Forex opposite Nation,they might be almost there!

what are going rates there?

new
#775 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2013 10:04:19 PM

hisah wrote:
ChumsQuest wrote:
CBK is hell bent on keeping a lid on the rate. I don't expect the rate to spike quickly to those levels. Watch inflation, tbill rates for now.

according to the CBK's weekly report, in the week ending january 24th, "2013 usable official foreign exchange reserves held by the Central Bank decreased from US Dollar 5,264 million (equivalent to 4.13 months of import cover) as at January 17, 2013 to US Dollar 5,177 million (equivalent to 4.06 months of import cover).."
globally, minimum reserves are set at 4 months of import cover...for how long can the CBK keep supporting the shillingi without needing to extend a hand to the IMF? @Hisah, are we looking at a possible 95/96 vs the green buck by April or sooner maybe? your thoughts?
Dum vivimus, vivamus.
hisah
#776 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 4:27:08 AM

new wrote:
hisah wrote:
ChumsQuest wrote:

according to the CBK's weekly report, in the week ending january 24th, "2013 usable official foreign exchange reserves held by the Central Bank decreased from US Dollar 5,264 million (equivalent to 4.13 months of import cover) as at January 17, 2013 to US Dollar 5,177 million (equivalent to 4.06 months of import cover).."
globally, minimum reserves are set at 4 months of import cover...for how long can the CBK keep supporting the shillingi without needing to extend a hand to the IMF? @Hisah, are we looking at a possible 95/96 vs the green buck by April or sooner maybe? your thoughts?

9% depreciation in 2 months! Unless it's implied by the central bank, it's highly impossible. At 95/$ the BoP (balance of payments) deficit would look ugly. They'll fight that tide with hard intervention - selling $, tighten forex controls, sell $ directly to corporates etc. Yes an ugly fight btwn CBK & Mr market will ensue.
Mainat
#777 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:37:25 AM

Imho, the election outcome will be a game-changer for the Siringi. At least in the short-term.
The growing budget deficit will need to be plugged at the sametime as we are implementing increased government size.

Logic-which can be in short supply in our economy- suggests that we might need more foreign aid/loans in the short-term.

Draw your own conclusions
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#778 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:41:47 AM

88 is here.
new
#779 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 2:20:28 PM

hisah wrote:
new wrote:
hisah wrote:
ChumsQuest wrote:

9% depreciation in 2 months! Unless it's implied by the central bank, it's highly impossible. At 95/$ the BoP (balance of payments) deficit would look ugly. They'll fight that tide with hard intervention - selling $, tighten forex controls, sell $ directly to corporates etc. Yes an ugly fight btwn CBK & Mr market will ensue.

i was looking at the CBK data, The shillingi has been going south vs $ since the beginning of 2013. In week ending jan 10th it was down a weekly average of 0.12%; week ending 17th, down 0.22% and week ending 23rd, down 0.48 % ... maybe this week down 0.70 %? and the reserves have been dwindling. The last time reserves went below 4 months import cover ( allow me to abbreviate it "I.C."), the KeS was at the 86.03/86.2 vs $, then once it hit sub 3.9 months I.C, it was free fall from there. we are slowly headed back to sub 4 months I.C(last week it was 4.06 IC).This year we have elections and politicians must "give the mwananchi something small" , fear of PEV, demand for energy et al, the most ambitious decentralization ever(demand for more silingi - that could widen the BoP), travel warnings ( like this one here travel warning to parts of kenya) .... long story short; whats the outlook in the short term ( 2-6 months)? Does the CBK have the muscle to fight? how will the KeS react? so is it Hold or not? - i am asking for a friend. smile
Dum vivimus, vivamus.
Cde Monomotapa
#780 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 2:36:11 PM

Nikugwan.....