wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

tuesday is a hols
chi20
#1 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 7:46:00 AM

GK Saitoti,the internal security minister has said kesho is a public holiday for the purposes of the census. my million unaswered questions are does the kenya constitution (i have never read that damn thing) allow ministers (other than president) to give decree to national (public) holidays?

if then,GKS has given a precedence and we may start hearing of national environment day - michuki,land policy day etc etc.

secondly,the blunder this intellingesia made is walevi will this evening stream to their joints before heading home for the count. forget about the pub closures directive,the urge to make an extra earning is more than following the law,as is always and only in kenya.

anway skerians,lets be responsible for this noble exercise,stand out to be counted and give all support as is necessary.

mwana wa kahii. . . .
brav
#2 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 7:49:00 AM

AAAAGRHHH!! na hakuna stima kwa nyumba,im going to work.

Usichoke kutafuta salary
#3 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 7:57:00 AM

@Chic20

I thought i saw and heard MK declare the day a Public Holiday at a press conference aired by KTN yesterday? Prof of Mathematics could just have been repeating what his boss had stated and not necessarily declaring it as Public Holiday himself... or not so?

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Noble
#4 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 8:00:00 AM

@chi20

Wacha kutuenjoy. U mean you are that behind. You didnt hear the president's speech?,you have not seen today's newspapers?

chi20
#5 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 8:07:00 AM

@ noble & wedz

GKS gave this reporting on thursday evening last week,it was aired by several tv stations at 9pm news. mk was reapeating what his minister said,or rather giving the statehouses pronouncements.

mwana wa kahii. . . .
g3n3ral
#6 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 8:21:00 AM

prof. saitoti declared on saturday!

if not,why not?
#7 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 8:25:00 AM

Does it matter who declared first?A holiday is a holiday no matter who declared first.The bottomline is that kesho am not coming to work.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

chi20
#8 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 10:23:00 AM

@ all

my question was do ministers have powers to declare public/national holidays,as per our constitution (apart from president)

mwana wa kahii. . . .
yekeyeke
#9 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 10:30:00 AM

Saitoti did not declare a holiday but announced/communicated the fact that there would be one. Pls not the difference. This was a simple communication,as the security minister,he must have discussed with the head of state and agreed and was only communicated the same. There is nothing ilegal about what he said.

'You can fool all the people some of the time,and some of the people all the time,but you cannot fool all the people all the time.'
Abraham Lincoln.
tusker8
#10 Posted: : Monday, August 24, 2009 11:06:00 AM

We have a gov't with no or misplaced priorities. This darned holiday was not necessary. They should then have just counted guys on Tueday during the day,it's better and more secure.

You know you are old when you wake up with a hangover and you didnt touch no drink the previous nite.
Kamaa
#11 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 11:15:00 AM

@ impunity

'..bottomline is that kesho am not coming to work.'

kwani you work at...

@ chi20

he also created some new divisions...

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Spend.thrift
#12 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 11:18:00 AM

After the many complaints guys made about security and the genuine security concerns,it was in order for the Minister for Internal security to set aside the day. Sometimes,lets learn to appreciate that the government can not be all bad.

You see,up to 10 pm most people (neighbours e.t.c) will still be awake and therefore the risk of insecurity is significantly reduced. Then the bulk of the enumeration will be done on Tuesday from 6 a.m to 10 p.m and after that kidogo kidogo mpaka end month.

A lot has gone into this exercise and suppose Tuesday newspaper reports by our irresposible media bore reports of security breaches,the success of the exercise in the remaining days would have been seriously compromised,because even those who would otherwise open their doors to enumeration teams would rather stay under lock and key. Remember,inspite of all the criticism and skepticism about the exercise,some valid and most baseless,it is our money and so if efforts are made to ensure maximum possible value for the Kshs. 7.4 billion,kwa nini nyef nyef nyef nyingi?

Even a professional CBA would give the holiday a Nike. and if I may ask you Tusker8,will a 1 day holiday lead to an economic loss of 7.4 billion bob? And I may wish to inform you that the 7.4 billion isn't going to the Caymans rather its circulating within Kenya; read purchase of torches,BIC pens,pencils,erasors,Eveready batteries,chalk,fuel,and allowances-which will end in Nakumatt,bars,school fees e.t.c

But once the results of the census are marred by interruptions in the enumeration,the Kshs. 7.4 billion is a good as gone down the sewer.

Simama uhesabiwe na uwache siasa nyingi. Siasa mbaya maisha mbaya!

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!