wazua Fri, Dec 5, 2025

peter keneth voted once more
Engine
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 1:18:00 PM

Somebody give me a success story from his tenure as National chairman of KFF between 1996 and 2000 and I will vote for him

Engine
And1589
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 2:58:00 PM

@All
As i write this post i am bowed down in shame coz with all the view(600+) and replies,all of you have overlooked my simple post down there about Richard Onyonka,MP. Why? People bana dont be fixated on your 'guyz' only,i thought the issue of peter kenneth was about young and development concious people,Onyonka being one of them!! For all those who are attacking juliani and semasema i think you are unfair coz they have freedom of speech,and not that i am protecting them,i am just making an observation. I rest my case.

Becoming number one is easier than remaining number one
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 5:04:00 PM

@and,pk's achievements have been outlined repeatedly. Tell us what onyonka's record is like and if impressive i'll support him

#24 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 5:04:00 PM

@and,pk's achievements have been outlined repeatedly. Tell us what onyonka's record is like and if impressive i'll support him

wairegi
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 5:10:00 PM

All

we may hail PK for what has happened in gatanga. But he has concentrated his efforts only in gatanga division whereas he also represents kakuzi division(Lower gatanga). Kakuzi division doesnt have an inch of tarmac.

People there lack even enough to eat. I thought he should have sank some boreholes and alleviate the problems of water. You visit schools and you will see kids sitting on logs and stones for seats. The population there have to beg to use kakuzi 'private roads' even when taking sick to the hospital in thika.

In the CDF huge allocations are given to projects in already rich Gatanga Upper.

It is all crapp when you continually feed the obese kid whereas you don't take of the dying and sick.

Your Moment-by-Moment Choices Create the Big Picture
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2009 5:44:00 PM

At least we get to hear the other side of this gatanga 'paradise'

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Jaina
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 9:50:00 AM

@ Wairegi

Which specific school are you refering to. Dont generalise,rather be specific.

Which road is impassable due to neglect. There maybe no tamac,but at least the roads have marram and are paved.

The Kakuzi location has seen more development than majority of average constituencies during PK's tenure. He is always meeting Kakuzi residents every Thursday,book an appointment with him and he will address them when he comes there this thusday.

By the way,why would Kofi Annan meet privately with Peter Kenneth????.

Mali
#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 10:13:00 AM

Obama says PK all the way.... that was the message Kofi delivered to PK

if the incompetent and the reckless compete,the result is a disaster.. MN
gadj
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 10:56:00 AM

There is a difference between a country and a constituency what has he done for the rest of the country?

In God i trust.
Burning Spear
#30 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 11:06:00 AM

Hii manano ya anti-kuks should stop!!!!

We as Kikuyu's know that we are hated and thats not our problem...
We stick with strong believes like;

Mt Zion is Mt kenya
The children of Israel are the Kikuyu's

Many people will fight you and they will never win,go and spread,whatever you conqure,I give you.

Disclaimer : This is my opinion and not a recommendation.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
wairegi
#31 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 11:29:00 AM

@Jaina

The school i am reffering to is called mwania mbogo and it is not the only one. There is a road from Thika to Ithanga or Kaguku the only place not an inch of tarmac and the longest stretch is maintained by delmonte. On leaving the delmonte farms the roads are not done and the only luck is that they soils there are not bad.

During the rainy season Kaguku which is the Divisinal Headquators for Kakuzi Division is unreachable. Or it takes many hours to the short stretch. At least there is power now but i doubt if there had anything to PK.

I look at the projects he is doing with the CDF monies and more that 90% of this is in Upper gatanga. Whereas in Kakuzi Division only the DOs Office,CDF office.

His allocation is just skewed towards the Upper Gatanga.

Your Moment-by-Moment Choices Create the Big Picture
mkristo
#32 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 11:45:00 AM

I tend to disagree to some degree about the suitability of Peter Keneth for the highest office.

I have nothing against him as a leader,he is a good one. One thing though we must understand is that the dynamics of leading a country are more complex than a constituency.

One point in case here is the fact that to lead a constituency you already have the backing of the people you lead,thus achieving change is a lot more easy.

On the contraly (Kenya),leading a country can be a dounting task even with the best of performers. I know Kibaki to be a performer,there is no doubt about that. However,his performance has been stalled by divergent opinions and views held by the people he is working with and by their indifference. I do not see much difference it terms of performance between Kenneth and Kibaki. Getting Kenneth onto the seat is like recycling Kibaki.

KENYA NEEDS A BENEVOLENT DICTATOR,ATLEAST FOR NOW. Someone who knows and understands the right priorities and pursues them regardless of what other people say. I dont think Kenneth is that kind of a person.

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
Kausha
#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 12:26:00 PM

Guys i think we have lost the plot here,we were discussing suitability of PK on the national platform,someone threw Richard Onyonka but could not back their thesis with tangibles. Obviously the discussion has degenerated into kyuk and anti kyuksm.

I belong to the Mt Kenya region but i sometimes get miffed by the hypocrisy of my folk when discussion tribe and nepotism. It's a blatant fact that bax has filled key parastatals and government portfolios with his people. I dont have a big problem with him picking his own for a few security related institutions and PS OP,but i have big beef with him over populating key parastatals with Mt Kenya folk. One has to be a crude hypocrite not to see that obax is an uncompromising mkabila in his appointments.

He needed to let other tribes occupy some of those parastatals and may be send his tribesmen in the boards of these institutions if he very insecure,it just doesn't look very nice,no matter how hard he tries to bring other comparables. So what do we Mlima Kenya people expect the other guys to do? pretend there is equity and there is merit at play here! It even gets worse when we keep rushing back to hide behind antikikuyism,lets be brave I mean Kalenjins would at least admit Moi is overdoing things and nothing the wider community could do to control him,whats so hard in us admiting the mzee is goofing and in an ideal scenario we should have a healthy mix of leadership in all these seats,no one will kill you,its bax appointing not the whole community,so hiding behind anti kikuyism and not admitting there is a big mistake is ridiculous.

For those with more than one toi why don't you deliver a bar of chocolote to one kid only mfululizo for a week and try discern the under current welling up in the other kid(s) at the end of the week,and this has nothing to do with them being young! so why do we expect anything different from adults with even more developed brains and emotions.....

Brrrrrr! Na kwa hayo machache nasema tuishi pamoja and lets be honest about some of these things.....back to PK and R Onyonka leadership potential
zamali
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 12:46:00 PM

At least we have 1 honest Kenyan in the name of Kausha !

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
#35 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 12:56:00 PM

where does this leave us? We want an experienced president? someone with experience to loot from our coffers or what? There are only three people who truly know what it is to lead our country. One is RIP,two are alive - which one do we recycle?

Me and you are already giving our views on how kenya should be led,what our priorities are,and all,so why do we assume that these 'new' leaders even if they are first timers have no clue of what needs to be done? the other day someone we criticised the maasai guy - oledama - and said he has not experience,lumumba has no experience,PK has no experience,there is this fine mp in kisii land who also have no experience..... come on guys,get real!! thats why we end up recycling these looters in the name of 'experience'! No president has ever had an experience the first time he is in office..... so lets cut that crap of 'we need an experienced' president to lead us.... we only need someone with a good brain,focus and will to get things rolling. Unless you suggest we import a former president from another country. I know no MP who has ever been voted 100% by his people.... they get majority,just as the president who will be elected by people will... If you were here in 2002,you will understand that when we get a president who has the political will to do the right thing,we as a people shall support him - and more importantly,by not voting the looting class back to parliament!

Its like telling us 'no getting your own babies until you have experience in parenthood'!

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

semasema
#36 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 1:01:00 PM

Wacheni maneno mingi mingi. Mnasema tu! Our politics is about tribal mathematics. My choice of a capable leader is one who accepts this but anafanya kazi ya kuunganisha na kasawazisha wote bila ubaguzi. Unity and equity. I do not know PK enough to conclude he qualifies with that test but he looks cool calm and collected.

The easiest way to fail the test of unity and equity is to build popularity on hate for another community. The question is whether mkenya wa kawaida anaweza kumkataa kiongozi mchochezi wa ukabila kwa kutompigia kura kwa sasa kushinda alivyofanya 2007.
Mandal Singh
#37 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 1:07:00 PM

Reminds me of a presidential candidate in Kenya who said handsome face doen't maketh a leader .
mkristo
#38 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 1:14:00 PM

@ Tiro,

I think you missed a point in what I was saying.

What I mean to say is that in Kenya today a President must have the power and ressolve to not pay attention to many voices; voices such as 'our people are being nyanyaswad','hata nyinyi mlikula','pia nyinyi muliiba kura',etc. Think of how much opposition,of course without an official opposition in place,that Kibaki is faced with today. When one MP wakes up and thinks,'today I want to front this or that agenda to discredit the government',he goes ahead and makes it big news so that even our development minded President gets disillusioned by such non-sense.

Have we quickly forgotten how MPs fought against being taxed,and at at that time they staged a war against the then Finance Minister Kimunya? MPs paying taxes was a briliant idea; and now we all seem to have forgotten. If we had a right minded dictator who means business,that matter would have been settled yesterday.

Recently Uhuru Kenyatta proposed that MPs no longer use big engine cars. How much of that has been implemented?

All am saying is,having good intentions and a development track record may not be enough to lead change in Kenya. Leading change in Kenya at this point in history needs a courageous leader who will weather all storms of ethnicity,corruption,laziness,greed,unprofessionalism etc to make appropriate decisions for this country and follow them through to completion.

Martha Karua could get my vote on that one. The PM might also make a good one,though I have one problem with him,he is a little compromised. Michuki is old,but could make a good one too. The only other person I can think of is Dr. Bonny Halwale.

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
The General
#39 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 1:27:00 PM

I know i will receive ALL THE HURLin the planet for this but,'research' shows :) that:

To be under 55 and want to be President of Kenya you must either:

1) Be Uhuru Kenyatta,or

2) Get the backing of a party with significant nation wide support

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
mkristo
#40 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 1:41:00 PM

@general

I agree with you. That's the reason why am saying,just having a good development track record is not enough to ascend to presidency in Kenya,and to have a president that will bring the needed change.

I dont know about Uhuru's ability to make firm decisions without being swayed on any side. If he is that kind of a person,then he too lacks one thing,no development track record.

In short,Peter K has what Uhuru lacks,while if Uhuru is a no nonsense person like Michuki,then he has what I think PK lacks. But also PK lacks that national acceptability factor that is key for him to become president.