wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

SUBARU WINDOW MOTOR
Ngogoyo
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 8:56:11 PM

Fellow wazuans.

Ungiigwa igikaya ni nume..(translated)"if u hear it wailing, it has been biten". My wife's subaru impreza 04 window motor driver's side is spoilt and we had to remove the motor and hold the window manualy (aibu ndogo ndogo especially when checkin in in areas where you need to communicate with gatemen).

Anyone know where i can get one (at jan economics). been looking for one with no success.

subaru
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 5:54:07 PM

if u miss it there are some few good fundis who can repair it u only have to make sure they r experts so keep the sample safely
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 7:49:53 PM

subaru wrote:
if u miss it there are some few good fundis who can repair it u only have to make sure they r experts so keep the sample safely

Very true, I know one ...he is called Kariuki, hangs around Otiende shopping center. Fixed my jammed starter (subaru) ....lost his number though Sad . Failing that go to Subatech, but rest assured you will pay ...Subaru haijui January ama July, once a genuine part breaks your bank breaks.
XSK
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 8:12:03 PM

quicksand wrote:
subaru wrote:

Very true, I know one ...he is called Kariuki, hangs around Otiende shopping center. Fixed my jammed starter (subaru) ....lost his number though Sad . Failing that go to Subatech, but rest assured you will pay ...Subaru haijui January ama July, once a genuine part breaks your bank breaks.

kweli kabisa Subaru is bad for your pocket.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
ZILLION
#5 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 8:39:26 AM

To save some coins you can get a second hand one in shamas(sp) baricho road industrial area.
seppuku
#6 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 11:49:23 AM

quicksand wrote:
subaru wrote:

Hii SubaTech hapana iko website?
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
Ngogoyo
#7 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 9:00:17 PM

subaru wrote:

This one was a gone case. We opened it and looked like lui the pest had a field day inside it.
Ngogoyo
#8 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 9:02:34 PM

quicksand wrote:
subaru wrote:

They quoted 15k but i was not about to spoil my jalopy with that much since i knew i could get one from 'subaru imekatakatwo'smile
Ngogoyo
#9 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 9:07:27 PM

ZILLION wrote:
To save some coins you can get a second hand one in shamas(sp) baricho road industrial area.

@XSK true true. @zillion in fact i got one from a good friend based in shimo la tewa road (near Mater hosi).

cost me 4.5k inclusive labour but had to spend there from 11 to 5pm.

can you imagine that the window motors in all the other doors of my car cant work on the driver side......very convinientd'oh!

Thanx guys thou. the infor might help another impress her owner
accelriskconsult
#10 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2013 10:44:51 AM

Ngogoyo wrote:
ZILLION wrote:

@XSK true true. @zillion in fact i got one from a good friend based in shimo la tewa road (near Mater hosi).

can you imagine that the window motors in all the other doors of my car cant work on the driver side......very convinientd'oh!

Where did you get yours from?

I am in a similar predicament and I can confirm that the drivers side motor in most Subarus fails with time. I know at least 3 other gentlemen who are complaining.

And my mech tells me that the problem is water going in to motor.
Kwanini
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 6:45:12 PM

@accelriskconsult,true true water going to the motor is the main cause. mine burnt out too. on replacing we reopened the kathingy, greased/oiled it proper and sealed it with bitumen to boot! also beware of car washers spraying tha electric power win buttons with mist/water. They get toasted faster than shiku of reke marie can whisper... reo natoka mafema
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Ngogoyo
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 8:32:33 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
Ngogoyo wrote:
ZILLION wrote:

Where did you get yours from?

I am in a similar predicament and I can confirm that the drivers side motor in most Subarus fails with time. I know at least 3 other gentlemen who are complaining.

And my mech tells me that the problem is water going in to motor.

Shimo la tewa road near Mater Hospital. if you haven't got one email me on ydalrellik at yahoo dot com and i can give the mobile no. of the mechanic
vky
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2013 11:09:01 PM

someone just told me that subaru forester headlights go for over 100k per piece how true is this, what say subaru owners here?
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
accelriskconsult
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2013 10:37:52 AM

vky wrote:
someone just told me that subaru forester headlights go for over 100k per piece how true is this, what say subaru owners here?

I know someone involved in procuring parts for Foton and he swears that he paid 110k for 1 late last year - for original headlights.

However, he informs me that he has found a cheaper source - 54k. He is not sure whether these are original or fake.

If you need one, I can get you his number.

Ngogoyo please let me have the mechs number
seppuku
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2013 8:28:48 AM

Thought this might be a good resource for readers of this thread.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2013 11:33:06 PM

vky wrote:

...wa wa wa this is expensive kwani they have this www.ec.europa.eu/informa...eheadlights/index_en.htm if am not wrong this almost matches E class headlight prices or even way expensive,hii c ya 3rd party.
#17 Posted : Saturday, February 02, 2013 1:40:49 PM

Not exactly related to the topic but interesting too on Subarus. Probably why they are slightly more expensive even to maintain. You pay for the Subru power!

http://www.subaru.com/en...ing/all-wheel-drive.html