Culture
How do you really help people?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
When you truly care about the other person, you are free to use your judgment and act accordingly.
This is because matters are not so straight forward. Or rather, the only straight forward thing is to live in God's presence. For there lies wisdom, discernment, and judgment.
I am saying this out of my own experience and reflection. Like there was this dark night when I was sent to the shops. I was probably seven or less, and my father gave me a 'spotlight' to use. I took the 'torch' and it lit my path all the way to the shop.
But my return journey wasn't so uneventful. There was someone else ahead, and moving in the same direction as I was. That meant being with him for longer! Should I light our path? I wondered.
I decided not to, but then only for a short while. For I saw the man stumble, and neither was my walk smooth.
'Why allow the two of us to stumble, and probably fall, while I have the light?' I wondered.
'But I can also lose the 'torch'!
I switched it on. Upon seeing the light, the man turned around, and when he saw me he said, 'Wee umetoka wapi? Lete hii!' And that was the end of light for me.
And so is it that a brother can turn against the other, or a mother eats her child when the city is besieged.
And of course, all suffering is illusion!
The remedy is to seek the light, and your suffering will end; and with wisdom and judgment light the other's path.
As for giving money and gifts one should be frugal and austere, yet full of compassion.
You were not an intelligent 7 year old. Why didn't you turn and run?  You had the light, running would have been easier for you.
Mukiri wrote:You were not an intelligent 7 year old. Why didn't you turn and run?  You had the light, running would have been easier for you. Hehehe! Maybe! I rushed home to get my 'nunchaku' instead! It's not that easy to break from a man's grip. But then, for how long can one run with the light? Does it make sense to hide the light under the table?
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
tycho wrote:Mukiri wrote:You were not an intelligent 7 year old. Why didn't you turn and run?  You had the light, running would have been easier for you. Hehehe! Maybe! I rushed home to get my 'nunchaku' instead! It's not that easy to break from a man's grip. But then, for how long can one run with the light? Does it make sense to hide the light under the table? @Mukiri give us a break, do not pretend as if you do not understand what goes on in the mind of 7 year old. You can pretend to be this brave man, but we all know that kids are always kids. You say you should have run, run where? There is no way a 7 year old can outrun a fully grown man in a sprint, especially at night. Intelligent or not. Back to our discussion: - there is there is so much money around, but you know what, there are millions of people starving! - The systems we have in secular soieties are faulty. - We lack the systems of wealth that focuses on meeting the needs of the people.
True. Our systems have failed. Or maybe we've lost understanding of them.
Everything is moving so fast. Information coming in is too much!
And pleasures perhaps too overwhelming.
I think helping is something we need to rethink in Africa because we seem not to find best ways to help or atleast we are so preoccupied with our own lifes to even think about the plight of people living around us or atleast our own plight.
About three weeks ago, I was enjoying my holiday with a bunch of good friends in a popular spot at the heart of the city and I run into two drunk beautiful white girls, both age 24 yrs and after a couple of drunk people hi5s we exchange numbers and later decide to take the drinking back to my place, me being greedy I decided to ditch my friends so that I can have two girls for myself( I have always wanted a threesome).
The night did not end in a threesome but in a complete reflection of who I am and what is really important in life. These women had spend more than 6 months of their life in poorest part of Africa, including Nairobi, Rwanda and Uganda helping. They were amazed by my life and livelyhood, infact I was embarrased because there I was and I couldn't tell them a single thing I have done to help. I was even more embarrased when they ask me how much I pay for the apartment I was staying in, yes $3500 a month they both are renting an $800 apartment in their home country so that they can travel all the way to help in my country and I am paying $3500 yet my country is starving? Something is not right.
Drunkard wrote:I think helping is something we need to rethink in Africa because we seem not to find best ways to help or atleast we are so preoccupied with our own lifes to even think about the plight of people living around us or atleast our own plight.
About three weeks ago, I was enjoying my holiday with a bunch of good friends in a popular spot at the heart of the city and I run into two drunk beautiful white girls, both age 24 yrs and after a couple of drunk people hi5s we exchange numbers and later decide to take the drinking back to my place, me being greedy I decided to ditch my friends so that I can have two girls for myself( I have always wanted a threesome).
The night did not end in a threesome but in a complete reflection of who I am and what is really important in life. These women had spend more than 6 months of their life in poorest part of Africa, including Nairobi, Rwanda and Uganda helping. They were amazed by my life and livelyhood, infact I was embarrased because there I was and I couldn't tell them a single thing I have done to help. I was even more embarrased when they ask me how much I pay for the apartment I was staying in, yes $3500 a month they both are renting an $800 apartment in their home country so that they can travel all the way to help in my country and I am paying $3500 yet my country is starving? Something is not right. You pay $3500 a month or it is a typo?You must have a net of $15000 a month.Kweli I am poor.
mawinder wrote:Drunkard wrote:I think helping is something we need to rethink in Africa because we seem not to find best ways to help or atleast we are so preoccupied with our own lifes to even think about the plight of people living around us or atleast our own plight.
The night did not end in a threesome but in a complete reflection of who I am and what is really important in life. These women had spend more than 6 months of their life in poorest part of Africa, including Nairobi, Rwanda and Uganda helping. They were amazed by my life and livelyhood, infact I was embarrased because there I was and I couldn't tell them a single thing I have done to help. I was even more embarrased when they ask me how much I pay for the apartment I was staying in, yes $3500 a month they both are renting an $800 apartment in their home country so that they can travel all the way to help in my country and I am paying $3500 yet my country is starving? Something is not right. You pay $3500 a month or it is a typo?You must have a net of $15000 a month.Kweli I am poor. You are not alone @ mawinder, tuko wengi hapa.
tycho wrote:Mukiri wrote:You were not an intelligent 7 year old. Why didn't you turn and run?  You had the light, running would have been easier for you. Hehehe! Maybe! I rushed home to get my ' nunchaku' instead! It's not that easy to break from a man's grip. But then, for how long can one run with the light? Does it make sense to hide the light under the table? Na hii 'nunchaku' ni nini sasa?
josiah33 wrote:tycho wrote:Mukiri wrote:You were not an intelligent 7 year old. Why didn't you turn and run?  You had the light, running would have been easier for you. Hehehe! Maybe! I rushed home to get my ' nunchaku' instead! It's not that easy to break from a man's grip. But then, for how long can one run with the light? Does it make sense to hide the light under the table? Na hii 'nunchaku' ni nini sasa? The chained thing that Bruce Lee swings in the movies.
Culture
How do you really help people?