Thanks Guys for your input.
I feel I should give you some more details.
- The house is owned by a very humble, honest and nice Mzee.
- He retired many years ago and moved to his rural home upcountry.
- The rent from the house is his only cash income, although I believe he gets a lot of his food from his shamba.
- I rented the house in March, 2011, on a two year lease for 90K pm
- At that time other similar houses in the area very going for 100K
- The Mzee liked the fact that the lease was with a big company, and the rent will be paid 3 months in advance every quarter by standing order.
- A few months ago, I spoke to him to tell him that I wanted to renew the lease for another 2 years. He came back and said the new rent would be 110K pm. The other similar houses around were now priced at 120 - 130K. So I agreed with his proposal.
- However, he spoke to me recently and said the the new rent would be 150K. This he said was due to the "new" tax on rental income, and it was not possible for him to dilute his income.
- I have looked around and found that other houses coming on the market have also factored in the tax.
- My employer, who provides me with housing, is willing to pay the new rent or give me that amount as a housing allowance.
I was therefore looking at buying a house, and using the 150K pm towards the mortgage payment.
Thanks again guys