wazua Tue, Jan 13, 2026

Kibaki's 10yrs end!
#41 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 11:28:37 AM

He did absolutely nothing but sleep, play with his grandkids, and tour the world! All his speeches were written for him. He had a good cabinet to do most of the thinking for him including the group mentioned elswhere. That's Lalssez Faire for you. Even when another ' bloody coup' was plotted in 2007, he was just sleeping, MK had to step in because no one knew who was to act, they all knew their jobs and knew there will be NO INTERFERENCE.
I expect the opposit from TingTing, someone who 'never sleeps' like moi, i also expect the same from the others except my party.

@Much Know, I think you don't know anything. Wacheni ingorance bwana. Economy was in the dogs, it was revived in his time. Middle class has expanded. Infrastructure iko kibao, from roads, communication, fibre, etc. Education, universities have increased and more kids are going to school. Revival of industries, etc. Sasa wewe ukisema he did nothing, don't you know Kibaks is a good debater in Cabinet meetings? Just because the guy doesn't have Moi's style of talking doesn't mean he didn't do anything. Many focus on his brand of politics and refuse to see the development record, which, whether you like it or not, will be well documented. You need to say he has led us somewhere, now it's for the next person to take us further. We don't need another DT.
#42 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 11:56:27 AM

If anyone thinks one of the two horses will do a better job, you are in for a rude shock. They are both in the race for selfish individualistic reasons and not for the development of the country.

Si kwa ubaya but from the records RAO is best in fighting for right but cannot lead in development as he has demonstrated time and again. His best place is in the opposition.

As for UK, the guy was raised with a silver spoon, far away from reality in Kenya. He has no clue what majority of Kenyans go through. I doubt if he's ever set foot in Kibera or any other slam. I think he will only increase the inequality gap if elected which can lead to civil strive and eventually war/revolution. When you have an imbalanced nation where the poor are way more than the rich and middle class combined, it's a disaster as the poor have little or nothing to lose and you know what they say about a man who has nothing to lose. So for this reason I'm more afraid of a UK presidency than any other.

#43 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 11:59:53 AM

Kibaki is like the IT industry of old that focused on hardware and cared less about software.

He honestly believes that good roads are more important than say something like food security, while the truth is if he focuses on achieving universal food security in kenya, then the need to meet this target includes the construction of good distribution roads.

I can understand this from his 1960 economics, its tragic that his younger leutenants did not think of updating him on the changes to societal values.

The truth is in his time as president, Kenya did not perform any better than its EAC neighbours (using GDP as an indicator). I will however qualify this statement by saying that in my opinion, Kenya's GDP is grossly understated by upto 100%. If you don't believe me, please visit any of our neighbours and get a feel of their level of operations. We are light years ahead of them.
#44 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 12:00:56 PM

Kibaki's legacy in the last five years! The roads (Ministry of Roads), the massive resurrection of Saccos and farmers coperatives (Min of Cooperatives), the expansion of agriculture and farmers' subsidies (Agriculture), the impressive tourist numbers (Tourism), the turnaround at Moi Referral (Health), the dams in U......kambani (Water), the streamlining of ID and passport processing (Immigration), the admirable groundwork for Vision 2030 (Planning), the civil service reforms and performance contracting (Public Service), the VP's new house and the PM's ofc (Public Works), progress in abolishing barriers in the EAC trading block (EAC Community) and the difficult job of cleaning up the lands registry, modernising it and removing the cartels (Lands).

Challenges in the coalition govt: Rampant insecurity (Min of Internal Security), skewed promotions in the military (Min of Defence), tender corruption and tribalism at KAA and KPA (Min of Transport), massive tribalism and nepotism at KRA and Treasury (Min of Finance), IDPs still live in rain soaked tents (Min of Special Progs), high fuel costs (Min of Energy). Happy retirement Mwai Kibaki. Long live Raila Odinga.
#45 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 12:22:50 PM

Kibaki's legacy in the last five years! The roads (Ministry of Roads), the massive resurrection of Saccos and farmers coperatives (Min of Cooperatives), the expansion of agriculture and farmers' subsidies (Agriculture), the impressive tourist numbers (Tourism), the turnaround at Moi Referral (Health), the dams in U......kambani (Water), the streamlining of ID and passport processing (Immigration), the admirable groundwork for Vision 2030 (Planning), the civil service reforms and performance contracting (Public Service), the VP's new house and the PM's ofc (Public Works), progress in abolishing barriers in the EAC trading block (EAC Community) and the difficult job of cleaning up the lands registry, modernising it and removing the cartels (Lands).

Challenges in the coalition govt: Rampant insecurity (Min of Internal Security), skewed promotions in the military (Min of Defence), tender corruption and tribalism at KAA and KPA (Min of Transport), massive tribalism and nepotism at KRA and Treasury (Min of Finance), IDPs still live in rain soaked tents (Min of Special Progs), high fuel costs (Min of Energy). Happy retirement Mwai Kibaki. Long live Raila Odinga.

Where's Kazi kwa vijana?
#46 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 1:47:50 PM

Good economist, terrible politician.
#47 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:14:37 PM

Dude, you are so delusional. You do realize that all the above ministries are in the Kibaki government, right? Hakuna gava ya odm ama pnu. Gava ni ya MK as the prezzo. So kuwa mpole.
#48 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:18:23 PM

Dude, you are so delusional. You do realize that all the above ministries are in the Kibaki government, right? Hakuna gava ya odm ama pnu. Gava ni ya MK as the prezzo. So kuwa mpole.

I'm reffering to the coalition govt, chauma!!!
#49 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:19:29 PM

Mastermind wrote:
Good economist, terrible politician.

Above average economist, there is not a single touch of genius in his 10 year rule that would warrant the description of good. I think above average politician as well.
#50 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:22:09 PM

Dont be hard on the oldman. he has achieved what he wanted to be the president of Kenya. Let him retire in peace and wait to join his old buddies ...........
#51 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:30:50 PM

Huwezi saidika.
#52 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:34:21 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Kibaki is like the IT industry of old that focused on hardware and cared less about software.

He honestly believes that good roads are more important than say something like food security, while the truth is if he focuses on achieving universal food security in kenya, then the need to meet this target includes the construction of good distribution roads.

Err.. Without good distribution roads, food will not reach the markets. I know you've heard that one before, where foods rot in the farms due to impassable roads especially when it rains. So food security needs infrastructure in place. Good roads, good railway systems, etc.
#53 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:36:59 PM

Huwezi saidika.

Case of the pot calling the kettle black!!!
#54 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:45:11 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Err.. Without good distribution roads, food will not reach the markets. I know you've heard that one before, where foods rot in the farms due to impassable roads especially when it rains. So food security needs infrastructure in place. Good roads, good railway systems, etc.

We are saying the same thing, only that we are not in agreement on which is the primary objective and which are the secondary objectives.
#55 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 2:54:45 PM

in some public finance course i was taught that government projects should compliment each other and provide synergy to the economic activities. and that is what i think @Obi 1 Kanobi is trying drum into other people's heads. good example are the beautiful stand alone CDF projects which end up being underutilized or abandoned all together.
#56 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 3:03:32 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Is food rotting in Central Kenya?
#57 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 4:20:53 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Yes it does. Najua unataka kusema sijui thika road, sijui nini, but thika road imeenda only one part of central.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#58 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 5:50:33 PM

Where's Kazi kwa vijana?

@SufficientlyP
josiah33
#59 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 6:00:50 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Yes it does. Najua unataka kusema sijui thika road, sijui nini, but thika road imeenda only one part of central.

Am sure you've heard about food rotting somewhere in nyandarua.
richdad
#60 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 8:13:36 PM

Were it not for the complainer from Bondo, Thika road would have been extended to Garissa!! I salute president Kibaki for what he has done for the last 50 years in opposition and government.

Its disheartening to think what Kibera Mp will have to say in his last speech.
Keep it simple