corrupt deal!!!
I wonder what bwana uhuru will tell us about his kenyan cause last time it was a computer error,clearly something is cooking! someone is getting a 'back-kick' somewhere,the usual way we do buisiness in kenya. http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/uomhb2/-/index.html
Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep. Carl Sandburg
The price that was paid is very much on the higher side considering that its a bulk purchase. See the price here, http://www.autoexpress.c...at.html?spec=VW-DPAS0138
The TSi Highline Triptronic is about £20500 (2.7M) Standard (This is the highest priced 2009 VW Passat TSi I could find on wisebuyers.co.uk).
If you add the extras it comes to about 27000£ (3.5M)
Throw in shipping at an (exorbitant) £2000
A (reasonable?) profit for CMC = £3000
Bulk Purchase Discount? = £3000
So maybe we need clarification on the exact model bought (I bet it was the cheapest one at 18000£),because depending on the options and particular variant selected,prices can vary greatly.
(used 1£ = 130)
Kenyans see corruption in everything touched or initiated by people from the mountain. Charity Ngilu was involved in outright corruption and not a word has been mentioned apart from her playing reverse psychology with people! Kajwang was another involved in corrupt and guess the mapabano song is still being sung. The maize scandal,the grain handling facility saga,etc. Talk about selective mind!!! Give us a break
Impossible is Possible
Rank: Member Joined: 1/9/2009 Posts: 169 Location: Syokimau
@Grip, This senseless outburst of yours is not helping things and just a distraction. Focus on the current topic. if you didnt raise your finger during the ngilu et al scandals,why now? you think these typing error issues from uhuru should checkmate the other corrupt guyz and die off? NO Issues ati us guyz from the mountain...bla bla bla... i thought we are beyond this,everybody abebe mzigo wake bana. Even me where i come from iko mountain but my mpig akiiba i dont know how i have ever benefitted. Point is............baba jimmy,baba fidel,uhuru,ruto and others dont know you or care so pliz let them be responsible for their s*** and if you cant raise an accusation to them,let the relevant quarters do so. my 2 ndururus.
Becoming number one is easier than remaining number one
UHuru has always been tainted with corrupt deals....... Did you forget Uhuru citihole man who was caught with a bag of bribes during councillors nomination in 2008 when Uhuru was the Minister for local Goverment.......Uhuru nominated more councillors than is provided by law...this nomination was not done by Uhuru's aide but.... UHURU himself.....It doesn't matter whether Uhuru successor(Musalia) did what was right thereafter........ since that is a story for another day..... How about the supplementary budget 10billion typo.... Skerians let's abhor impunity instead of encouraging and praising the masterminds of impunity and corruption in this forum....It doesn't matter the tribe.....Corruption is not good for this country and we should shout against it when we can......shouldnt we ? The walls of Jericho were brought down by the shouting and praise of israelites ......Thats the power of your mouth(mind and fingers in this case ) ...........Our wall to kenya becoming the promised land we dream of is Grand corruption...let's shout till it comes down...... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
if the job was tendered for,it does not matter what the tenderers rate was for the passat just as long as their tender was the most responsive and competitive...i read a lot of malice in this,just like AKs. NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
'most responsive and competitive'..................may mean the highest bribe bidder...... though malice may not be ruled out.....most ministers do not want to surrender the fuel guzzlers..... But this does not mean that we (taxpayers)should pay more than the fair market price....... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
these mpigs like taking us into circles... why for instance did the bull fighter have to wait until full delivery was made and vehicles distributed before he could act??? Halafu he tells us that parliament was in total darkness..!!! Wasnt this same mater in the media day-in day-out with affected gov officers saying how they wont surrender their SUVs?? Why did PAC have to wait this long???? They really could have stopped it in the process if they wished,but they did not...now they are acting like saints....bure bull fighter!! If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks. When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
@ fundaah you don't get the point brother....exempli gratia..if you tendered for a provision of service and your tender was accepted as the best based on the existing tendering conditions and market prices,then it would mean that the client would get a value for his money irrespective of how much bribe you,the tenderer,will pay provided you follow the stated specs and you supply or provide the service as quantified to the satisfaction of the client. NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
facts please. such as the specific model,year of manufacture,rrp,fob,cost of freight etc before the real issue of corruption is hijacked by the thriving mouth industry.
CMC HOLDINGS LIMITED AND EXTERNAL DEBT ISSUES: The current Passat controversy revolves also around the Treasury’s unusual decision to procure without any competition 120 VW Passats from one motor dealer – CMC Holdings Limited. This company features in the external debt register as having lent the Government USD 24.2 million dollars for the purchase from it of 522 Land Rovers for the Office of the President in June 2003. Treasury issued irrevocable promissory notes in this transaction to CMC and later the debt was held and collected on by Standard Bank London UK. Below are extracts from the debt register where CMC is listed as a creditor to the Kenya Government. Repayments are indicated as having taken place as follows: CMC LIMITED - SUPPLY OF 522 LAND ROVERS TO THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT Loan US$ 24.2m - Status 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 OUTSTANDING 887,838,124.00 1,456,640,620.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 REPAID 0.00 0.00 1,918,951,745.00 0.00 0.00 Even a school child can tell you something does not look right with these numbers. USD 24.2 million for 522 Land Rovers. The use of irrevocable promissory notes to CMC and later Standard Bank? All this without Parliamentary approval. These prior dealings with CMC should have made Treasury even more scrupulous in following the Public Procurement laws to the letter and with fidelity to the spirit of competition,economy and transparency. Is this Passat deal going to blow up in our faces at some time in the future in the Anglo-Leasing vein? Will a debt show up on the External Public Debt Register in the future? We insist that the External Debt register be tabled in Parliament immediately so that we know what the Grand Coalition Government has borrowed and paid on our behalf. Treasury was asked for the document in Parliament on June 3rd this year and to date has refused to table it in Parliament as a public document for scrutiny. Kenyans deserve answers from treasury. We do not trust this Treasury with our money! If we were in charge,we would sack the Minister of Finance today! Mars Group Kenya Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Rank: Member Joined: 7/28/2007 Posts: 290 Location: Nairobi
Facts:
corruption is not corruption unless it touches on a guy from Mt. Kenya region. Any other guy will get full support from his tribesmen and party men. Should a Mt. Kenya guy be cought,he is a lonely guy...and his tribesmen will actually become his worst persecutors Uhuru has more than enough for his great great great grandchildren,to start seeking for bribes.....unless he is a big fool. Check the category,region and tribes of those who are adamantly refusing to return the sleek cars....
Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
Fundaah,government procured at Kshs. 3.7m for each of the land rovers in 2002? Payments made in 2004? Did PAC in the intervening years investigate the deal? You are on to something,tell us more.
@Brewer Q:Did PAC in the intervening years investigate the deal? A:Treasury was asked for the document in Parliament on June 3rd this year and to date has refused to table it in Parliament as a public document for scrutiny....... What if this happened during the previous audits?...There are so many audit reports gathering dust in the auditor general and the PAC offices......This is the kind of impunity we should join hands together and fight.... I'm not part of Mars ....cos Im also aware that Mwalimu Mati was once accussed of corruption ........but where their objectives meet with mine .......I get interested ......Keep the tribe thing out here....its our(common 'small' tax payer) money being chewed here..... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@fundaah,
May be i am not following or may be i am lost somewhere. What are we talking about here,a loan that was given in 2003 or the passats that were purchased this year? What do the land rovers got to do with UK and the present deal? if this Mars is that concerned with our money,why didnt they raise this issue then?
Lets stick to the point,was the passat deal corrupt or not? for parliament to feign ignorance of these things happening i think is very unfortunate.... As a common mwananchi,i knew long time (and this is not from any private means) that new vehicles were being bought and that the guzzlers were to be returned..... came up every other day on news.... so what was this PAC doing all this time?
for what use is the noise if the money had already been spent? these fellas are taking us for a ride and we dont seem to get it and we continue with the same cycle - money is misappropriated,we make noise,a minister is sacked,another appointed,money is misappropriated - and the cycle goes on! who can table for us some conclusive evidence?
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
@ fundaah, what Brewer is asking is: since 2003 to date 2009 is almost 6 years and you are saying that PAC just realised the other day 3rd june 2009 that they needed the documents from treasury regarding the previous transactions with CMC..where the hell was PAC for the last 6 years??? actually this issue has never surfaced in auditor generals annual reports...at least not one that i have heard of.... NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
@kaigangio,you are right- Fundaah actually missed my drift by a mile! @ Wendz,I share your exasperation seeing how easily the 'mouth industry' can ran around and aloud with stories so bare of facts. That is impunity.
Please note that its not me I'm just quoting the Mars group...I have not taken time to access the quoted PAC reports ........which I can say with confidence that very few of us commenting here have....as I said in this thread ...I agree there could be some malice.....but we should be careful because wherever there is smoke there is ..... with the supplementary budget typo.....anything can happen here..... this thread is so similar to the in the link below.......same opposers same proponents except the assylum sk seeker ....TB http://stockskenya.com/n...?stk=1002&top=14707
Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
'this thread is so similar to the in the link below.......same opposers same proponents' Fundah,I like that!!!!........makes me just watch some threads these days other than argue the same things month in month out!!!! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
corrupt deal!!!