Why I support Uhuru
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
“If a person comes to you seeking a job from you and informs you that he has a case that will require him to skip work three days a week, would you employ him?” "One alliance is made of the Prime Minister (Raila Odinga) and the Vice President (Kalonzo Musyoka) while the other one has a Deputy Prime Minister (Uhuru Kenyatta) and another has an assistant minister (Peter Kenneth). "Which other government are they talking about forming so they can rectify things?” she posed. http://www.nation.co.ke/...46/-/pwcbgg/-/index.htmlGOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Things are really heating up in here and we are all losing our heads. Can’t we all get along? Can we all agree to use our intellect rather than emotions? ……… but then again that’s easier said than done. Interesting reading below; it may help some of us step back from the madness and reflect on how we actually make political decisions. Let’s not forget that we will all be here needing each other come May 2013, whichever way this election goes. Happy reading, though I know most ears are deaf to any kind of reasoning at this moment
C&P Dishonest politicians! Never! Emotional factors influence how we vote for our politicians much more than our careful and logical appraisal of their policies, according to Drew Westen, PhD, a professor of psychiatry and psychology at Emory University in Atlanta and author of The Political Brain: The Role of Emotion in Deciding the Fate of the Nation. This may come as little surprise to you, but what about when we learn that our favored politician may be dishonest? Do we take the trouble to really find out what they are supposed to have done, and so possibly have to change our opinions (and our vote), or do we experience that nasty cognitive dissonance and so seek to keep our minds comfortable at the possible cost of truth? Addicted to self deceit Westen and colleagues conducted a study using functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) scans on the brains of staunch Democrats and staunch Republicans in the USA. The MRIs showed that the emotional areas of participants' brains lit up when they read articles suggesting their favored politician was dishonest. So far, so much what you would expect. But get this! There was a decrease in activity in the parts of the brain that deal with reasoning when they read this damning information. So part of reducing the discomfort of cognitive dissonance may be to think less. This makes sense. The flying saucer cultists, when confronted with their unfulfilled doomsday prophecy, didn't think their way out of their dilemma, they felt their way out of it, and based their decisions on emotion. The researchers in Westen's study found that all the participants appeared to find ways of ignoring any negative information relating to their favored politician, thus allowing themselves to hold on to their previous beliefs. When their emotional response eventually overcame the reasoning, it stimulated the brain's reward system - similar to what happens to drug addicts when they get their fix. Nobody said that a sincere search for truth would be comfortable!
drzhivago wrote:Things are really heating up in here and we are all losing our heads. Can’t we all get along? Can we all agree to use our intellect rather than emotions? ……… but then again that’s easier said than done. Interesting reading below; it may help some of us step back from the madness and reflect on how we actually make political decisions. Let’s not forget that we will all be here needing each other come May 2013, whichever way this election goes. Happy reading, though I know most ears are deaf to any kind of reasoning at this moment
C&P Dishonest politicians! Never! Emotional factors influence how we vote for our politicians much more than our careful and logical appraisal of their policies, according to Drew Westen, PhD, a professor of psychiatry and psychology at Emory University in Atlanta and author of The Political Brain: The Role of Emotion in Deciding the Fate of the Nation. This may come as little surprise to you, but what about when we learn that our favored politician may be dishonest? Do we take the trouble to really find out what they are supposed to have done, and so possibly have to change our opinions (and our vote), or do we experience that nasty cognitive dissonance and so seek to keep our minds comfortable at the possible cost of truth? Addicted to self deceit Westen and colleagues conducted a study using functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) scans on the brains of staunch Democrats and staunch Republicans in the USA. The MRIs showed that the emotional areas of participants' brains lit up when they read articles suggesting their favored politician was dishonest. So far, so much what you would expect. But get this! There was a decrease in activity in the parts of the brain that deal with reasoning when they read this damning information. So part of reducing the discomfort of cognitive dissonance may be to think less. This makes sense. The flying saucer cultists, when confronted with their unfulfilled doomsday prophecy, didn't think their way out of their dilemma, they felt their way out of it, and based their decisions on emotion. The researchers in Westen's study found that all the participants appeared to find ways of ignoring any negative information relating to their favored politician, thus allowing themselves to hold on to their previous beliefs. When their emotional response eventually overcame the reasoning, it stimulated the brain's reward system - similar to what happens to drug addicts when they get their fix. Nobody said that a sincere search for truth would be comfortable!
What most of us are suffering from...... TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
CORDeshians must be having a grand time watching this in-fighting. I hope tho' that President PK is not having trouble with some of his enthusiastic supporters. Its like the aftermath of a Gor game, the riotious fans make one hate the team. Whatever the outcome, we remain brothers. That is, after PK has settled in State House
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Macharia Gaitho's take on the Jubilee ICC debacle. http://www.nation.co.ke/...t/-/getlhwz/-/index.html..first asserts .. Quote:There is nothing more sacrosanct in a democracy than all citizens having the unfettered right to vote for candidates of their choice and then buries this gem further down the article .. Quote: The important thing is that it is Kenyan laws and Kenyan institutions that will determine whether Mr Kenyatta and Mr Ruto can be on the ballot paper; not the foreign bogey the duo are manufacturing in a bid to stir up dangerous xenophobia
. So which is it Mr Gaitho?
simonkabz wrote:Sure wrote:bigbossman wrote:Just a honest question-who among the list of contenders to the throne fits the bill for a President that a real intelligent and right thinking wazuan would vote for? @Bigbossman, an Alliance of Peter and Tuju backed by Martha, Kiyapi and maybe new faces on the political scene would make the most ideal choice for sanity to finally prevail on this great nation of ours. However, they do not have the masses behind them to ensure they win at the ballot. So, that remains my wishful thinking but I have to be real. Out of the two choices available, we have to contend with who is more evil than the other. That is the card reality has dealt us. That is why am for a third force that we can rally around and if they don't make it this time, they will have a better chance the next time round. I just wish this was your first post. Here you put up a very sober argument, kudos! What took u soo long? All those other excuses sound drab n cheap. My old auntie tells me she will either vote for uhuru or die, coz she {fears raira} hahahaha.......that is an acceptable excuse to me. Hiyo ingine eti economy itakuwa, sijui tutemee mzungu mate, sijui kamwana gaitu etc is just nonsense. By the way what is the genesis of this fear? Ati RAO is bitter [of what, I've never understood].
..... and the above summarizes the politics in kenya and Africa in general. Hate, malice, ignorance, genocide. Fanatical ignorant supporters ;more than candidates themselves. work to prosper