Wife has degree,husband diploma
Mali
#21 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 5:54:00 PM

What God has put together.........

Back to degree and diploma... A diploma in Pharmacy and a Bachelor degree in Arts (Education )are two different ''cities'' ( New York and Kisumu)

Diploma in IT (working for HP) and Biochem degree (working for KARI) again it all depends..

if the incompetent and the reckless compete,the result is a disaster.. MN
#22 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:35:00 PM

Ok..someone else please ask this question...i believe it has a bigger weight than what this screwd up thread is showing..it is important..really important.

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
#23 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 6:45:00 PM

Bill Gates has NO degree... LOL... but he is smarter than most Kenyans put together... at least smarter than ALL our politicians including that one who claims he went to makerere & lse.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#24 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 7:06:00 PM

@mlefu: I agree with you. The question is probably wrongly asked and leading to misunderstanding.

I think the question should be something to do with whether smartness matters in marriage or not as @vituvingisana pointed out.

You can be an educated husband but you're not smart.

But some smart dude somewhere with no degree is making his wife happy.

Women may prefer males that are higher educated than themselves to ensure financial security,but if you're smart and provide this same security,then you're set.

The end justifies the means.

It's the male ego that has issue with a woman and her better degree and income!

Mwabili
#25 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 9:19:00 AM

@kasheshi and @jaina

i havent gone quiet..and i have nothin to be ashamed of...why the hell would i be ashamed for pointing out what i have seen all around?u guys are playing Mother Teresa with your opinions...but i truly believe a marriage where a wife is more educated than a huzband would hardly last..or work for that matter...my neighbourhood is littered with such break-ups

Its the Economy..Stupid!!!!!
Kasheshi
#26 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 9:27:00 AM

@ mwabili,while you may have a point,support your brother all the same. After all he has made his choice. You never know,his marriage might work out. My advice... Despite your strong opinions,don't discourage him,give them space as a couple. You have your own marriage to worry about and i'm sure it has its own set of challenges.

R
#27 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 9:30:00 AM

Well,if they are 'threatened' by the wife's degree... too bad for them. I doubt Bill Gates (bila degree lakini more bilioni than ALL Kenyans combined) is hounded by his 'under-education'.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Mwabili
#28 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 9:36:00 AM

@kasheshi
I would never throw spannerworks into this marriage..Gosh..God knows i wish them well...but i know ladies-more so the learned ones..maybe she will stick around coz my bro has chums courtesy of the thriving oil business he does,but i'm sure when the candy runs out,she will bolt like some crazed horse.Just told my bro to love her as much as he can but at the same time study her..is that too much to tell a broda?

Its the Economy..Stupid!!!!!
Burning Spear
#29 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 9:58:00 AM

Before you crucify mwabili.....a want to tell you that these things are real and above 70%(to be precise) of learned women look down upon their academically chaallenged hubbys'.
They actually stick around coz of money and by the fact that men are few.

Two years ago,my lady workmate who has a degree in economics and sociology had a man whom they had dated for 2 years.....the hubby to be had college diploma and was in a well paying job than the graduate fiance.The guy was planning to officially take the gal via customary and church weddings and plans were on top gear.
One day...the lady told off the guy during a quarrel that She didnt know how they were to live coz he (hubby) didnt have a degree.

The incidence broke all marriage plans and the guy took off.
To date....the 74 born lady now earning abit well lives like a stressed woman.not even a man in the company can take the lady serious upon hearing the stories.

Disclaimer : This is my opinion and not a recommendation to do as I advice.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Kioko_Nesa
#30 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10:02:00 AM

Fundah!!!!

Kwani a Diploma is a cancer? He can have a degree in the next 2 yrs part time if he gets a good job

Kioko
kanyambu
#31 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10:13:00 AM

I believe that there are only two types of people,good people and bad people,when i am overlooking education,race and money. Does it also mean that all marriages that have lasted are due to the hubby having more than the wife?
One thing though that came to mind,after reading the replies....i don't seem to see a female reply...can the women changia this post? (i am a lady!)
Kasheshi
#32 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10:14:00 AM

Just out of curiosity,isn't it interesting that all the blame is being placed on the women? What if it's the men who have inferiority complexes thus blowing small disagreements out of proportion? Incidentally i know of quite a number of well educated men who complain about their uneducated wives. So maybe as mlefu said,are we asking the wrong question?

R
Sasha
#33 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10:58:00 AM

It is only on SK where someone can have such backward thoughts and still get people who will tolerate them!

@Magigi

I think yours should be the only response to this thread (hata kama everyone has an opinion).

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
reddevil
#34 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 11:29:00 AM

This is not an issue...for me it would be the other way round...

I had a chic who had no ambition to further her education,this pissed me off and I left

Can you imagine hata gazeti hawezi soma.....yikes...who wants that type,watoto watakua

aje? dwanzi? I would rather a lady who makes that effort...so my friend don't mislead

your bro...some of us would gladly take that route.

Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
Burning Spear
#35 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 11:33:00 AM

@Nyambura na Wangechi,

No one disputes that its not the level of education that matters but the commitment of an individual to the course .
Having said that.......this does not put to rest the case where some and I mean some bad rotten women who despise their hubbys' coz of their education.
There are those characters in the society who will always pick such weak points during normal quarelling in the house.

In such cases,unless you want to assume everything is alright...then you live in fools paradise.

These things are there and they are real...

Disclaimer : This is my opinion and not a recommendation to do as I advice.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X