wazua Sat, Feb 22, 2025

Religion difference in Marriage Catho Vs Protestant
Goals
#1 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 2:36:00 PM

Love has no boundaries. In this case some people get to married having assumed the effect of Church. There are a no. of couples who end different ways on sundays. How do you deal with this? Which way should the tois follow?

Jana Radion Waumini aired a case of a lady whose spouse has not spoken to her for weeks coz of wearing a rossary. what is happening to marriage counselling???????

'Build your own dreams,or someone else will hire you to build their's!' - Author Unknown
eli
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 3:48:00 AM

In our church,where marriage counselling takes a minimum of 12 weeks,2 hours per week. You cant make a such a mistake of marrying from a different religion. Light and darkness can't mix!

I urge all marriage counselors to pull up their socks,to save marriages!

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Spendthrift
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 5:29:00 AM

@ Eli,kwani wewe ni myahudi?

Actually the mixing of light and darkness occurs at dusk and also at dawn. And the mix can either give way to further darkness (dusk) or a brighter day (dawn).

Bwana think out of the box. In fact there is no box,unless you are a fundamentalist extremist dogmatised and boxed fanatic who thrives in religious ecstacy.

Everyday!
bebeto
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 5:38:00 AM

@Eli

with all due respect,lets be sensitive. we are talking of a christian and a christian.....and for your info,i know of at least a couple of couples who have gone thru that and are living happily.

@all

it depends with the couple: sit and agree beforehand.

of course there will be two sides to a pancake,however thin

be happy!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Mr.Tea
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 6:06:00 AM

I agree with @ Spend. Any institution/individual that has pretended to hold people's freedoms has fallen belly-flat. I know of this church in town that forbids its members from marrying outside its congregation.The effects are clear,slow growth,high defection rate and compatibility issues among couples.
Notwithstanding the above,it will be worth noting that extremism is an issue in marriage.Where two people come from say Islam and Christian faiths,they would face extreme challenges both from within and without. Such challenges could prove to be insurmountable depending on the environment. In truth,marriage is about two individuals and only they can determine the direction/destiny of their union.The rest of us should lend our support.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Tutu
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 6:28:00 AM

I agree wit @ bebeto. It all depends on the couple,as this is something that should be discussed while still courting. I for instance i am a catholic and marrying a protestant. We discussed this issue when we started dating,weighed options and reached a conclusion that since we believe in the same God,we are both saved,but our worship ways ndio different,it's good i vuka ndio Mungu akitubless na watoi wasichanganyikiwe na pia we'll be able to knit the family together that way as we will be praying in unison. As they say a Family that prays together stays together.

Spiritually mature Marriage Counsellors come in handy when faced with such!

Jesus Loves me this I know,for the bible tells me so!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 7:27:00 AM

@ Eli light and darkness?? Aaaiii.
Marty
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 8:14:00 AM

surely surely,are catholics and protestants different religions? I am a protestant and have very close catholic friends whom we even have Bible study sessions together. I think @eli should have meant a union between a believer and non believer and even then if it happens Paul advises that the 2 should stick together coz the believer sanctifies the union such that the kids are clean.

..wise as a serpent,humble as a dove
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Goals
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 9:17:00 AM

Thanks for your contribution. However some couples agree on this topic before hand but with time find themselves differing in principle. I always query why ladies should join the guys church. All xtians beliefs are similar but the principles may be different.

How do you do away with the Catholic doctrine after following it religious for say 20 years? Marriage counsellors please help. Should our sister go thro Nil by mouth Coz of rossary?

'Build your own dreams,
or someone else will hire you to build their's!'

- Author Unknown

eli
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 11:19:00 AM

To avoid being stoned. To avoid confusing the children...All parents are better be of the same faith! If protestants,then all be protestants. If catholics,then all be catholics. Otherwise one needs to join the other.

@ Tutu,'since we believe in the same God,we are both saved'. I beg to differ. Believing in God is not equal to salvation! Attending to different churches on Sunday,is not equal to salvation. Being a catholic or a protestant is not equal to salvation!

Salvation is Romans 10: 9-10. That if you confess with your mouth,'Jesus is Lord', and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead,you will be saved. For its with your heart that you believe and are justified and its with your mouth that you confess and are saved.

One point to remember..............Not everybody who says Lord,Lord will inherit the kingdom of God................Please,lets all guard our salvation with fear and trembling!

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Tutu
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 12:05:00 PM

@ eli,

I am sorry for the typo error or mistyping or otever it is. What i wanted to pass across is we are both saved. I know what salvation is all about! Yesu Kristu Mwana wa Mungu ni Bwana wa maisha yake na yangu. Hope that is clear now.

Jesus Loves me this I know,for the bible tells me so!