6 Pages<12345>»
Police & Traffic Offences
#41 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 2:27:23 PM

chemos wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
Hio story ya triangles is easier, there is overlapping. Last Friday, when overtaking a slow moving bus (1) a cop flagged me and accused me of overlapping. Tuko naye kwa court mpka mwisho.

hehehe, am loving this. hope you are well prepared with a lawyer, and in case you appear before the lady magistrate in the traffic court at milimani, make sure you don't seem to know too much - from the several times I have been there, she doesn't seem to like guys who know too much "law"

@Nakujua... its high time u change careers.. wacha kuendesha mats na ukue train driver huko hakuna shida mob...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

smile , with the erratic behaviour of mat drivers, inabidi ushikilie squad every now and then - if only I can afford a train.
Ngong
#42 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 2:34:22 PM

When the kenya police are asking u for this things its not that they care for you and your car burning but how much they will get from you and they get annoyed when everybody is obeying the law.
If the matatu sector just decide to be good guys 2morrow,there will be a special ward in kenyatta for police officers with stress related illnesses!
#43 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 2:35:17 PM

quicksand wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
Hio story ya triangles is easier, there is overlapping. Last Friday, when overtaking a slow moving bus (1) a cop flagged me and accused me of overlapping. Tuko naye kwa court mpka mwisho.

hehehe, am loving this. hope you are well prepared with a lawyer, and in case you appear before the lady magistrate in the traffic court at milimani, make sure you don't seem to know too much - from the several times I have been there, she doesn't seem to like guys who know too much "law"

Traffic cops hate guys who stick with it to the end. They don't like returning to court for mentions and hearing, they would rather be out there "earning mullah". A pal of mine once stuck with it, hiring a lawyer and showing clear intent to go all the way - the cops pulled the case. Good luck boss.

don't know how that happened, I thought once the charge-sheet is filled in by the cops and taken to court only the prosecutor can pull it out.

cops don't mind appearing in court, if they want to f..k you they will appear and to make it worse they appear dressed in suits. try discrediting a traffic cop in court and you will need a very good lawyer whose cost is way more than the max fine you would have paid. Plus no decent lawyer wants to go arguing a traffic offence in court, it makes them look cheap before the magistrates.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 3:04:14 PM

jguru wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:
more than 10M in fines collected so far.
BTW you should have 2 triangles, fire extinguisher and approved first aid box, so says some cop i asked yesterday. there seems to be confusion regarding extinguisher and first aid box in personal cars.

Seriously, Wazua Driver, why would someone not want to buy and carry the above? It is for your safety, the safety of others on the road and for emergencies! Even DL hamtaki kubeba. Why? smile

ditto.On Saturday while heading to Nakumatt Nyali,next to Wild waters there was this Nissan B14 that had caught fire and the lady was crying as she watched it burn.By the time I was leaving Mombasa today the shell was still by the roadside.

...thats what am telling FRM some of ths thngz r for your own good to be on the safe side jst have them,a first aid box requires very few cheap thngz na c sabuni hazitaisha.
#45 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 3:09:56 PM

quicksand wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

Traffic cops hate guys who stick with it to the end. They don't like returning to court for mentions and hearing, they would rather be out there "earning mullah". A pal of mine once stuck with it, hiring a lawyer and showing clear intent to go all the way - the cops pulled the case. Good luck boss.

don't know how that happened, I thought once the charge-sheet is filled in by the cops and taken to court only the prosecutor can pull it out.

cops don't mind appearing in court, if they want to f..k you they will appear and to make it worse they appear dressed in suits. try discrediting a traffic cop in court and you will need a very good lawyer whose cost is way more than the max fine you would have paid. Plus no decent lawyer wants to go arguing a traffic offence in court, it makes them look cheap before the magistrates.

I will argue my case bila lawyer, just stick to the truth..... it will take a while before the hearing commences but hata kama ni 3 years, that cop will not get a dime from me.... not when there was no violation in the first place.
#46 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 3:19:18 PM

Ngong wrote:
When the kenya police are asking u for this things its not that they care for you and your car burning but how much they will get from you and they get annoyed when everybody is obeying the law.
If the matatu sector just decide to be good guys 2morrow,there will be a special ward in kenyatta for police officers with stress related illnesses!

#47 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 3:38:56 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
quicksand wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

I will argue my case bila lawyer, just stick to the truth..... it will take a while before the hearing commences but hata kama ni 3 years, that cop will not get a dime from me.... not when there was no violation in the first place.

I've been telling myself.. The day Nairobians/Kenyans will decide to follow due course of the law.. there will be a few things happening...
1. there wont be enough cops on the roads. they will all be in court as witnesses

2. Some will be fired since accused drivers will turn into plaintiffs against some of the cops.

3. courts wont be able to handle the cases,
So if a cop has almost 100 appearances in court, they will simply ignore extortion and concentrate on better pastures.. Matatus
#48 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 4:37:44 PM

Assuming that cops will appear in court, you may be giving undue credence to the idea that cops make good witnesses.

Take a trip to the law courts and you will be shocked.

Tell the fellow to give you a ticket. He will fill it up with 500 crimes expecting another bribe from you. Give him a pen to write more if he wishes.

Then you will understand why they hate people being on the right side of the law. That is from experience folks.

You will spend time, but you will have your sanity intact.
#49 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 4:50:34 PM

@nakujua ...traffic cases land in limbo at courts all the time, sometimes even by omission, sometimes by deliberate orchestration, don't know the specifics but all of a sudden a case no longer appears in the day's order of business on the next mention, eventually disappearing altogether.
The other thing is these "collections" operate in cartel-like fashion, watu wako na quotas to fill, and it keeps going up like an upside down pyramid....you start missing your quota cause you are in cases all the time prosecuting some stubborn dude who overlapped or u-turned illegally and the boss above you will not be happy. Ati suits? Worn by who, underpaid junior traffic cops?
People haven't really tested the mettle of these traffic prosecutors and traffic police; Makes them take advantage of our meek attitude and wanting to settle things quickly. Its time that changed. Cops should not arrest people without good (provable) cause, especially since the penalties are now very severe, bordering on inhumane in some cases. Go Rahatupu!! Na if down the line you decide to start a 'legal defence fund', I will send 1,000/- by Mpesa.
livie
#50 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 6:27:11 PM

"Careless driving (driving without any care and attention to other road users)"

its your word against his...
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#51 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 7:02:40 PM

all the best to the individuals who want or have already gone aganist cops in issues traffic related - in most places in the world traffic offences are just fined and life goes on- no need for lawyers or trials.

just my word of advice to those who have not been to the traffic court, just be humble and plead guilty, you will get the minimum fine and if you can't raise the cash plead with the judge to give you community service.

you will try to save 10k, be placed in remand and have your "back" destroyed - just be careful out there.

#52 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 1:56:16 PM

TiggerTiggy wrote:
more than 10M in fines collected so far.
BTW you should have 2 triangles, fire extinguisher and approved first aid box, so says some cop i asked yesterday. there seems to be confusion regarding extinguisher and first aid box in personal cars.

C&P

It is wrong for any police officer to ask a private vehicle owner for a fire extinguisher, first aid kit and a towing rope. Traffic Commandant Samuel Kimaru says only PSV's are required by law to have the items. He says you should report any officer who asks for the items to the number 020 260 381 4. - See more at: http://www.the-star.co.k...ing#sthash.GRXkUot4.dpuf
#53 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 2:18:47 PM

[quote=TiggerTiggy]more than 10M in fines collected so far.

C&P

It is wrong for any police officer to ask a private vehicle owner for a fire extinguisher, first aid kit and a towing rope. Traffic Commandant Samuel Kimaru says only PSV's are required by law to have the items. He says you should report any officer who asks for the items to the number 020 260 381 4. - See more at: http://www.the-star.co.k...ng#sthash.GRXkUot4.dpuf[/quote]

True...the only thing a private car needs to have are the 2 triangles...
bird_man
#54 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 3:02:12 PM

C&P

It is wrong for any police officer to ask a private vehicle owner for a fire extinguisher, first aid kit and a towing rope. Traffic Commandant Samuel Kimaru says only PSV's are required by law to have the items. He says you should report any officer who asks for the items to the number 020 260 381 4. - See more at: http://www.the-star.co.k...ng#sthash.GRXkUot4.dpuf[/quote]

Might be true but it would be a shame for your 1.something million car to burn because you didn't want to buy an extinguisher.Towing rope is also for your own good.Buy once & forget.Total cost of both=Beer zako leo or less.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
urstill1
#55 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 3:33:49 PM

bird_man wrote:

C&P

Might be true but it would be a shame for your 1.something million car to burn because you didn't want to buy an extinguisher.Towing rope is also for your own good.Buy once & forget.Total cost of both=Beer zako leo or less.

Really? What size of fire extinguisher do I need to put out fire from a burning car? How many cars burn daily? I still not see the logic behind fire extinguisher!! Polisi wameshindwa kazi
#56 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 3:54:34 PM

urstill1 wrote:
bird_man wrote:

C&P

Really? What size of fire extinguisher do I need to put out fire from a burning car? How many cars burn daily? I still not see the logic behind fire extinguisher!! Polisi wameshindwa kazi

By the way the cops in Tanzania are very passionate on one having those fire extinguishers. Personally I have those things in the car but I hope I will never use them.
#57 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 5:22:31 PM

C&P

And on that very note I am selling my quality FireExt and First Aid box.

Drobos fly
#58 Posted : Thursday, December 26, 2013 12:37:01 AM

And the way I have been driving around without any of those even the triangles ... wacha I drop into Nakumatt sap!

Anyone who already has them all, just keep them you never know when you direly need them, even if the cop don't mind your welfare, they'd still be useful at some point you just never know.

mgeman wrote:
Wazuans, here is a link from KTA summarising the new traffic penalties RINK

When are they abolishing 1yr license renewal? coz I just renewed mine a month ago
xyzee
#59 Posted : Thursday, December 26, 2013 8:20:08 AM

what sort of proof is required for careless/reckless driving, obstruction, talking on the phone ........ etc?

And how do you prove in court that the cop is lying?

I've been a victim, I just pleaded guilty in court to avoid wasting time.
#60 Posted : Thursday, December 26, 2013 10:12:22 AM

My attention is drawn to this provision:

All vehicles more than four years old from the recorded date of manufacture shall be subjected to inspection by the Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit (section 16(2)).

What are the implications? My friend's driver was recently accosted by cops over the same, the vehicle in question being a private car.