Police & Traffic Offences
mgeman
#21 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 7:05:01 PM

Wazuans, here is a link from KTA summarising the new traffic penalties RINK
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
#22 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:34:49 AM

Am sorry but I have to go back to my earlier question ; A cop friend is telling me that the fire extinguisher and first aid box only applies to psv vehicles i.e. matatus & taxis. Problem is, he knows zilch about the section of the traffic act with the details.

I seriously need to make a decision on whether to buy these things.
#23 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:49:41 AM

Can a wazuan clarify to me whether it is mandatory to have a fire extinguisher and first aid kit in a private vehicle. Am told cops are having an early christmas courtesy of our ignorance.

...Yes. Its in subsidiary legislation to the traffic Act...nakumatts motor botique has everythn.

...yaani hauniamini??
#24 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:53:01 AM

mgeman wrote:
Wazuans, here is a link from KTA summarising the new traffic penalties RINK

All vehicles more than four years old from the recorded date of manufacture shall be subjected to
inspection by the Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit (section 16(2)).
#25 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 9:58:14 AM

So. We who drive cars that are more than 4 yrs old have to take them for inspection. Finally the Ministry has achieved all they wanted
#26 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 10:52:12 AM

Can a wazuan clarify to me whether it is mandatory to have a fire extinguisher and first aid kit in a private vehicle. Am told cops are having an early christmas courtesy of our ignorance.

...Yes. Its in subsidiary legislation to the traffic Act...nakumatts motor botique has everythn.

...yaani hauniamini??

Section 56 of the traffic act is clear.. not mandatory for Private vehicles
TiggerTiggy
#27 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 9:02:05 AM

more than 10M in fines collected so far.
BTW you should have 2 triangles, fire extinguisher and approved first aid box, so says some cop i asked yesterday. there seems to be confusion regarding extinguisher and first aid box in personal cars.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 9:05:32 AM

TiggerTiggy wrote:
BTW you should have 2 triangles, fire extinguisher and approved first aid box, so says some cop i asked yesterday. there seems to be confusion regarding extinguisher and first aid box in personal cars.

Who approves the first aid box?
What size of firex do you require?

kiash
#29 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 9:52:44 AM

Funny that they implement the laws and eve the head of the traffic police is not sure about the speed limit. I did not know that PSV speed limit is 80kph have been in a mats to upcountry doing up to 140kph.

http://www.standardmedia...enders-nabbed-by-cameras
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 8:37:00 AM

It seems police had an early christmas but thank God two kenyans have brought it out in today's watchman. I also think its againist the wazuan spirit to misinform members. Someone told us here that it is mandatory to have fire extinguishers and first aid boxes in private cars. Kumbe under the traffic act even the reflector triangles are not mandatory. You are only obliged to display them when the vehicle stalls on the road.

Lets educate each other.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 9:03:03 AM

Hio story ya triangles is easier, there is overlapping. Last Friday, when overtaking a slow moving bus (1) a cop flagged me and accused me of overlapping. Tuko naye kwa court mpka mwisho.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 9:03:09 AM

It seems police had an early christmas but thank God two kenyans have brought it out in today's watchman. I also think its againist the wazuan spirit to misinform members. Someone told us here that it is mandatory to have fire extinguishers and first aid boxes in private cars. Kumbe under the traffic act even the reflector triangles are not mandatory. You are only obliged to display them when the vehicle stalls on the road.

Lets educate each other.

part of being educated involves improving your street knowledge, some quote from experience others from the written down laws.
but you do realize that what is written down on paper and what happens on the streets can be different.

anyway, all the best convincing a cop that you only need the triangles in-case you need to display them.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 9:09:02 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
Hio story ya triangles is easier, there is overlapping. Last Friday, when overtaking a slow moving bus (1) a cop flagged me and accused me of overlapping. Tuko naye kwa court mpka mwisho.

hehehe, am loving this. hope you are well prepared with a lawyer, and in case you appear before the lady magistrate in the traffic court at milimani, make sure you don't seem to know too much - from the several times I have been there, she doesn't seem to like guys who know too much "law"
#34 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 10:03:35 AM

Rahatupu wrote:

hehehe, am loving this. hope you are well prepared with a lawyer, and in case you appear before the lady magistrate in the traffic court at milimani, make sure you don't seem to know too much - from the several times I have been there, she doesn't seem to like guys who know too much "law"

@Nakujua... its high time u change careers.. wacha kuendesha mats na ukue train driver huko hakuna shida mob...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 10:38:33 AM

Lets educate each other.

...boss pliz spare us.
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 12:00:14 PM

Lets educate each other.

...boss pliz spare us.

...The Act empowers the Minister to issue regulations. See the schedule,the act is not stand alone,just be on the safe side and avoid unnecessary stress,buy all those thngz btw at timez they would be for your own good...
#37 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 1:37:15 PM

Rahatupu wrote:

Traffic cops hate guys who stick with it to the end. They don't like returning to court for mentions and hearing, they would rather be out there "earning mullah". A pal of mine once stuck with it, hiring a lawyer and showing clear intent to go all the way - the cops pulled the case. Good luck boss.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 1:40:53 PM

TiggerTiggy wrote:

Seriously, Wazua Driver, why would someone not want to buy and carry the above? It is for your safety, the safety of others on the road and for emergencies! Even DL hamtaki kubeba. Why? smile
#39 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 1:42:49 PM

chemos wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

@Nakujua... its high time u change careers.. wacha kuendesha mats na ukue train driver huko hakuna shida mob...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#40 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 2:15:02 PM

jguru wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:

Seriously, Wazua Driver, why would someone not want to buy and carry the above? It is for your safety, the safety of others on the road and for emergencies! Even DL hamtaki kubeba. Why? smile

ditto.On Saturday while heading to Nakumatt Nyali,next to Wild waters there was this Nissan B14 that had caught fire and the lady was crying as she watched it burn.By the time I was leaving Mombasa today the shell was still by the roadside.