wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

StarTimes TV - a Review
#21 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 5:27:05 PM

sentinel prime wrote:
what mukiha means is that the sound has "no depth " ie its not even 2.0 dolby stereo(20khz-20hz)sound.....I thought it should have been 5.1 capable .terrestrial digital pictures are even worse than uhf cause of compression but sound should be mp3 128 bit quality.

I believe they have poor equipment ...hata unjiru TV sounds like that after all he uses sufurias for transmission :).

Woi! you make me feel dizzy.
Yaani u guys measure these things?? I wouldn't as long as I can hear.

#22 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 5:42:43 PM

mukiha wrote:
Mzee! You really know how to 'listen' eho? Hiyo marantz set up? Ama uko NSIS?

NSIS???????

NO!

Just a normal home hi-fi kit... but not one of those dreadful 10,000W lousy "boom-boxes". This is one is only 30W per channel...and the Missions produce 88db/W... while the Ixos cable are made from pure crystal oxygen-free copper...

Yawa @mukiha, but do you say? Your retort is straight out of the Lakeside script....

I happen to have both startimes and zuku in the house. Why do I have both? Startimes was a freebie when I gave them my useless gtv decoder, and zuku because I have triple play and Internet is the real reason. There is at least a five second time lag between the two - startimes being the slower - means my sons laugh five seconds before I do when we are both watching Tahidi High. Funny thing is my startimes has never been disconnected, despite never having paid them since the initial two month subscription.
#23 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 6:51:42 PM

mukiha wrote:
I have hooked it up to my Marantz PM4200 stereo amp and out through the Mission M71 speakers [via IXOS interconnects and speaker cables all with gold plugs]; In other words, I listen through a fairly good sound system.

For me, am just waiting to exhale in this Nairobi City.

D32
#24 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 4:36:05 PM

Strangely enough, DVB T2 has enough bandwidth, sufficient for broadcasting HD. Europe and other countries are watching HD via T2
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
D32
#25 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 4:50:58 PM

Yes, listening to sound at lower bitrates is so distasteful, especially after having being acquainted to sound encoded at higher bitrates.

Of course, to be able to enjoy high quality audio, you'd require the quality signal & a sound system that can reproduce it.
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#26 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2012 12:45:42 PM

Now now, how does startimes compare to Gotv??? Which one gives better value for money???
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2012 1:45:11 PM

Tebes wrote:

Now now, how does startimes compare to Gotv??? Which one gives better value for money???

startimes
TiggerTiggy
#28 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 9:27:54 AM

i see multichoice have a new package GOTV Plus. as usual, come december 30th, everyone will flood startimes/multichoice offices for these decorders
gangruka
#29 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 10:37:45 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
mukiha wrote:
Mzee! You really know how to 'listen' eho? Hiyo marantz set up? Ama uko NSIS?

NSIS???????

NO!

Just a normal home hi-fi kit... but not one of those dreadful 10,000W lousy "boom-boxes". This is one is only 30W per channel...and the Missions produce 88db/W... while the Ixos cable are made from pure crystal oxygen-free copper...

Yawa @mukiha, but do you say? Your retort is straight out of the Lakeside script....

I happen to have both startimes and zuku in the house. Why do I have both? Startimes was a freebie when I gave them my useless gtv decoder, and zuku because I have triple play and Internet is the real reason. There is at least a five second time lag between the two - startimes being the slower - means my sons laugh five seconds before I do when we are both watching Tahidi High. Funny thing is my startimes has never been disconnected, despite never having paid them since the initial two month subscription.

I regret why i bought this star times decoder. Giving away a mininmum of 500bob every month is too much. in one year thats is the value of the dividends we are chasing after. I would advice anyone who has not subscribed to buy the ones with complete free to air channels. Hii startimes ni bure sana. imejaza stations ya UG/TZ kwa screen.
#30 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2012 12:17:34 PM

gangruka wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
mukiha wrote:
Mzee! ?

NSIS???????

NO!

I regret why i bought this star times decoder. Giving away a mininmum of 500bob every month is too much. in one year thats is the value of the dividends we are chasing after. I would advice anyone who has not subscribed to buy the ones with complete free to air channels. Hii startimes ni bure sana. imejaza stations ya UG/TZ kwa screen.

True. ABK!!!
vin
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 10:10:42 AM

I regret why i bought this star times decoder. Giving away a mininmum of 500bob every month is too much. in one year thats is the value of the dividends we are chasing after. I would advice anyone who has not subscribed to buy the ones with complete free to air channels. Hii startimes ni bure sana. imejaza stations ya UG/TZ kwa screen.[/quote]

True. ABK!!![/quote]

I bought it and was the first to complain.Ithen went ahead and bought their prime package.Hiyo ndiyo bure kabisa kuliko basic.Honestly i will buy a free to air decoder and will live with the channels that i can at least enjoy.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 10:16:24 AM

vin wrote:
tebes wrote:
gangruka wrote:

True. ABK!!!

I bought it and was the first to complain.Ithen went ahead and bought their prime package.Hiyo ndiyo bure kabisa kuliko basic.Honestly i will buy a free to air decoder and will live with the channels that i can at least enjoy.

I thought they list the channels they have in each package, and I am guessing you have access to the internet to find out what the listed channels air. But you still go ahead and subscribe then complain.

I would understand if they did not list the channels available, but honestly
vin
#33 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2012 10:40:22 AM

vin wrote:
tebes wrote:
gangruka wrote:

True. ABK!!!

I thought they list the channels they have in each package, and I am guessing you have access to the internet to find out what the listed channels air. But you still go ahead and subscribe then complain.

I would understand if they did not list the channels available, but honestly

My friend .Do you know how wonderfully they market the shit?
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
Excetra1
#34 Posted : Sunday, December 16, 2012 9:16:06 AM

@gangruka i thought free to air channels should be viewed whether you pay the 500/= or not. is there a catch? do they force you to pay a minimum of 500/=?
#35 Posted : Sunday, December 16, 2012 9:59:39 AM

Excetra1 wrote:
@gangruka i thought free to air channels should be viewed whether you pay the 500/= or not. is there a catch? do they force you to pay a minimum of 500/=?

i had thought so initialy but later knew it was not possible

#36 Posted : Sunday, December 16, 2012 6:11:23 PM

Excetra1 wrote:

Got disconnected last week and found out that the only FTA accessible was KBC, of course with the s**t sound. Not moaning since I got it for free, but now looking for a true FTA set top box.
Excetra1
#37 Posted : Sunday, December 16, 2012 9:30:51 PM

Now i know. startimes is a no go for me. am equally looking for a true FTA set top box and stick to my dstv as a pay service.
#38 Posted : Sunday, December 16, 2012 10:12:24 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Excetra1 wrote:

Got disconnected last week and found out that the only FTA accessible was KBC, of course with the s**t sound. Not moaning since I got it for free, but now looking for a true FTA set top box.

I have also been disconnected and only KBC. Luckily my old aerial is intact. Which are true FTA set top boxes?
#39 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 8:59:05 AM

http://www.businessdaily.../-/71rn0hz/-/index.html

I agree with Dstv on this one...those BPL rights come up for bidding so highest bidder wins...there's a time they lost to GTV. If I was the owner of Multichoice I wouldn't budge on this one...

I have contemplated Zuku simply because of their internet and Star Times coz of the cost but I find myself stuck to Dstv simply because of all those things we have mentioned....clarity of sound and picture (unrivaled), content (despite the repeats and the fact that I know I won't watch the football leagues anywhere else and am serious fan)and reliability (other than that day for the Manchester derby the other day when the signal disappeared countrywide for like 20 min). I know they're a rip off but I can live with it till good quality competition comes by.
Aguytrying
#40 Posted : Tuesday, December 18, 2012 9:12:31 AM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/DStv-wont-resell-English-Premier-League-rights-to-rivals/-/539550/1646070/-/71rn0hz/-/index.html

I agree with Dstv on this one...those BPL rights come up for bidding so highest bidder wins...there's a time they lost to GTV. If I was the owner of Multichoice I wouldn't budge on this one...

I have contemplated Zuku simply because of their internet and Star Times coz of the cost but I find myself stuck to Dstv simply because of all those things we have mentioned....clarity of sound and picture (unrivaled), content (despite the repeats and the fact that I know I won't watch the football leagues anywhere else and am serious fan)and reliability (other than that day for the Manchester derby the other day when the signal disappeared countrywide for like 20 min). I know they're a rip off but I can live with it till good quality competition comes by.

My dilemma too. Im a football fan, so pay TV without EPL is not a good deal for me. however DSTV packages are too expe. I have zuku triple play with very good internet. If i could get everything with including EPL at zuku's price id be very happy. Now im adopting the taste of football other than EPL. ( scottish, german cup, copa del rey)
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself